We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jemajumi
Laukaa, Finland

Basic hotel with good location

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Jun 2023via mobile
Quite nice hotell. Friendly and helpfull staff. Near bus stop line 22, so easy to come from airport, ill prefer Bolt taxi service, cheaper and faster.
We had room 43, Windows to 2 direction. Not much traffic noise. Good location.
Breakfast quite simple and breakfast room very very small.

Date of stay: June 2023
Room Tip: Use Bolt application If coming from or to airport. Ask extra pillows.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$173
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Vio.com
    $122
  • Hotels.com
    $147
0.4 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
$280
  • Expedia.com
    $289
  • Vio.com
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $268
0.5 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$146
  • Expedia.com
    $134
  • Vio.com
    $118
  • Hotel Website
    $128
0.4 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
$227
  • Expedia.com
    $238
  • Agoda.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
    $260
0.8 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
$115
  • Expedia.com
    $130
  • Vio.com
    $99
  • Hotels.com
    $119
0.1 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
$151
  • Expedia.com
    $212
  • Agoda.com
    $129
  • Hotels.com
    $174
0.1 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$146
  • Expedia.com
    $134
  • Vio.com
    $118
  • Hotels.com
    $133
0.0 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$169
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $169
  • Vio.com
    $166
  • Expedia.com
    $170
0.8 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$167
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Vio.com
    $134
  • Hotels.com
    $178
1.4 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$178
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Hotels.com
    $178
0.8 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Riga
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
175
268
125
64
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
175
268
125
64
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus old town pancakes breakfast room recommend this hotel shopping mall yogurt min walk hotel restaurant nice breakfast receptionist suitcases
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2023

Great location in Riga Old Town. Everything is walking distance from Monte Kristo Hotel. It looks dark on the website and it is a bit dark but good for sleeping. Don't let that put you off as the Arthur the owner is extremely helpful. You feel totally at home.

Room tip: It's 3 minutes walk from Bus Stop 22 for the Airport Bus. Costing 2eu it takes 25-40 minutes depending on traffic.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2023

There are a few receptionists and all of them were really friendly and a pleasure to deal with. There were spare pillows in the wardrobe which was a bonus because the original pillows on the bed were the size of the cute cushions. The view was out over the street to the side of the hotel and it's possible to open the windows for fresh air. Very dark room which was good for sleep quality. The hotel was very easy to find, plus it was well located to explore the old town and just a 2 min walk from the bus stop to the airport. We thought the decor was hilarious - sort of a mix of ship interior, gothic and car boot sale finds.

Disliked · Breakfast could be better, no soft rolls or nice pastry, fried eggs were overcooked. The breakfast room was cute, but very small. I can imagine in the high season will be quite a fight for the table.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2023

Good bits: The male receptionist that greeted us on arrival was really friendly and happy and a pleasure to deal with. We were in room 233 and the bed was massive! It was comfortable and the room was an ok size, although not much space to move about as the bed was so big. There were spare pillows in the wardrobe if you needed them. The ensuite was down a couple of steps, which was odd, but the shower was hot and powerful, with shampoo satchets and soap provided. The view was out over the street to the side of the hotel and it's possible to open the windows for fresh air. Very dark room which was good for sleep quality. The hotel was very easy to find, plus it was well located to explore old town. We thought the decor was hilarious - sort of a mix of ship interior and gothic revival haha! We picked the hotel initially because it looked so bonkers inside. The 24 hour reception was very convenient. Wifi signal was good and strong throughout the hotel.
Breakfast was good with a fair amount on offer, and the coffee was good too. There are salads, omelettes, pancakes, fruit, cereals, muesli, breads, juice, cake, honey, jams, eggs and sausages on offer. I enjoyed the salads which changed most days.
For the price and the location, you really can't go wrong with this hotel.

Bad bits: Cleanliness was a little off - we found several items in our room left behind by the previous occupants (under the bed and desk area), and the furniture seemed quite tired. The room could have benefited from a full-length mirror and les chunky chairs which made the space difficult to move around. The walls seem quite thin and you could hear most of what your neighbours were doing. Some of the staff were very gloomy and stern.
I have to say that there wasn't much to eat at breakfast if you are plant-based. We are not vegan, but we don't eat dairy and can't eat pork so our options were limited as there was no oat milk. If you are full vegan, you had the option of maybe an apple, dry muesli, and some bread but that's it. This is a shame in todays world when we should all be consuming a little less animal products.

Room tip: Bring your own milk if you can't have dairy.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KookyRedHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2023

To begin with; Location is good. It's in the old city, close to a shopping mall, cafes, restaurants etc.

Unfortunately the rest is not up to standard. I booked a junior suite. TV was probably 26", only one channel with English language worked (chinese international news...). Layout of the room was insane, and had nothing to do with a regular junior suite. Slight smell of sewage in the batroom, probably coming from the unclean bublebath... Fridge not plugged in when arriving, and in general poor service. They do have an free ironing service - which is that they bring you an iron + board ;P Breakfast was really limited, however clean. I seriously recommend to use the brand hotels when visiting Riga, instead of going here. Both the Wellton chain, and Radisson chain, deliver much better quality for your money.

Room tip: Choose another hotel.
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 118espenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2023

This a terrific, characterful place. I arrived very late and got great service from the night staff.

It is in the historic old town and my room felt very old Europe, with solid furnishings and lots of space.

The breakfast was solid too. With plenty of sauerkraut and local treats as well as usual hot eggs and sausage and cereal choices.

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Loskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews