We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PSNorthWestUK186378
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

Great location

Review of Centra Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jun 2019
The Hotel is in a great location in Riga. All of the tourist bits are easy walking distance. From the airport it is simple to catch the 22 bus..tickets from a little store outside the arrivals terminus...less than 3 euros for 2 people to centre of town. Best to get off at the second stop over the river and 5 minutes walk from there.
Reception greeting was good..lots of local information provided and a map given. Room was very spacious and clean. Bars galore outside but no noise for us..although we were not there at the weekend.
Some small negatives..there is no hotel bar so no real community area..breakfast was in the basement; a bit dingy, limited choice, acceptable but not great quality, room although fine and large was slightly dated and towels a bit worn, lift tiny..two plus small luggage is a tight fit.
Taxi can be arranged via hotel to airport at 15 euros fixed price.
Overall though no real complaints. The place gets 4 stars for me because of its great location; otherwise maybe 3 stars.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$116
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Centra Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$139
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Centra Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$166
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Centra Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $177
0.3 km from Centra Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $293
  • Expedia.com
    $341
0.4 km from Centra Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $125
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Centra Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $249
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Centra Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $116
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Centra Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • Hotel Website
0.2 km from Centra Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $191
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Centra Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Riga
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
318
315
84
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
318
315
84
19
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2018

The hotel is easy to find, in a central location and near to the bus station. Staff were very helpful and friendly. WiFi worked excellently including for streaming. We got upgraded to a junior suite, it was very large so I feel a standard room would have been spacious. Had a bath, a deep one! And shower. Water pressure good, and hot. Minibar/fridge, a safe, complimentary tea/coffee. Big tv. Not black out curtains but it wasn’t bright when we stayed. Wasn’t noisy at all, didn’t need complimentary ear plugs. Provided soap, shower gel, lotion, conditioner, cotton pads and q-tips, nail files, etc. Bright and neutral decor. Hairdryer in room. Breakfast served 7-11 which is always a huge bonus. A wide range of hot and cold options, cheese meats yoghurt - enough for vegetarians to be full, possibly not vegans. Hot drinks machine, water cooler, sparkling wine, juices and flavoured waters. Apparently there were some gluten and dairy free options too.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2018

Clean and comfortable. Great location right in the middle of Riga old town at a very reasonable price.
Good and varied breakfast buffet but be aware that they do not serve dinner or alcohol although there is a mini-bar in your room
Helpful and friendly staff.
Would recommend that you get a room as high as possible as the centre of Riga can be quite noisy at night (until the early hours).

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank DgsSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2018

Very welcoming and easy to find, room was good size, clean and well finished but a lack of storage shelves, same in the bathroom, lovely finish, clean and functional but no shelves to put your bits and pieces, mini bar and large bed, satellite tv,

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewward1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

This is our second trip to Riga and our second time at a Rixwell Hotel and again it didn't disappoint. The Hotel is in a perfect spot for enjoying the old and new towns on foot. There is some nightlife close by, it's a city after all but it wasn't a nusience.
Our room was spotless and adequately equipped. The hotel staff were very polite and friendly (Latvian people are lovely anyway). The only thing missing was a hotel bar to relax in but there were plenty close by to choose from.
All-in-all, a thoroughly enjoyable Christmas city break.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank OliAna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2018

Just returned from a 3 night stay and I have nothing negative to report. Room was very clean and extremely spacious with huge bed, powerful shower, well maintained and serviced daily. We were surrounded by bars yet never heard a sound from the outside. Room was very warm/hot and with it touching -10 outside it was great. Safe (free) and Mini-Bar (not free!) in the room. Breakfast was the usual continental buffet breakfast with a few hot items and was adequate. All staff were pleasant. Check-in was speedy. Location is superb, in the Old Town and only 3 mins walk from St Peters. Recommended.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Coombsy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews