We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lovetojourney
Melbourne, Australia

Excellent leadership

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
This is a much overdue review concerning our one night stay at this opulent, well located hotel. We had originally booked for several nights but unfortunately we both did not sleep at all on our first (and only) night in the beautiful opera facing room due to insufficient air conditioning. It was hot and humid both outside and especially within the room itself.

We called for assistance in making the huge room more comfortable and were told there was nothing they could do? Desperate, we resorted to sleeping tablets which also didn’t help!

The breakfast we paid for was delicious. Even after all this time I recall the superb Hollandaise sauce with perfect poached eggs.

As the issue of air conditioning could not be resolved, we decided to cancel remainder of our reservation. A cool, comfortable room and decent sleep is mandatory in all hotels - especially a 5 star one. Hopefully our bad experience was an aberration.

We still give the hotel a very good rating for the lavish decor, huge bedroom, great location, views and superb breakfast. The understanding of the manager was much appreciated when we explained our dismay at our most uncomfortable night and reason for leaving. She graciously refunded the cost of the sleepless night.

There is excellent leadership at this special hotel. However we do recommend enquiring about the effectiveness of the air conditioning in advance of warm weather, to ensure that the problem we endured has been long since resolved.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: If you stay in summer make sure that can guarantee air conditioning actually works!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sabine Laicane, Other at Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Lovetojourney,

Thank you for your review. Please once again accept our apologies about your room experience. We are pleased to read that overall you have enjoyed our Hotel services and facilities. We do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion.

Kind Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$145
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga
Free Wifi
$249
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$150
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$166
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $166
0.7 km from Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $357
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $119
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $119
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $128
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $124
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $176
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Riga
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
268
35
5
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
268
35
5
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opposite the opera house national opera old town top floor deluxe room spa pool spacious rooms breakfast was delicious wonderful hotel sparkling wine concierge valet loungers heart slippers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I have stayed in all classes of hotels throughout Europe, and I have to rank the Grand Hotel Kampinski near the very top of hotels we’ve visited. The rooms are well appointed, the beds comfortable, the pool and spa area a bonus, and it’s perfectly located to explore Riga. Highly recommended than though there are many fine hotels in Riga, I have to think this is the best of them all.!

Room tip: The rooms on the Opera House side can get loud at night, especially on the weekends. The view is incredible, but the noise can be loud.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvvvv2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sabine Laicane, Other at Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tvvvv2016,

It is our pleasure to read you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel. We have shared your feedback with our team.

We hope we can welcome you back in the nearest future.

Kind Regards,
Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2024 via mobile

The hotel was excellent. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was particularly nice with partitions around the toilet and shower.
The staff was professional and courteous. The concierge helped us with dinner reservations.
The breakfast had an impressive buffet as well as cooked choices.
It is well located in the old town.

Room tip: Go to the opera just across the street
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lclaskow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sabine Laicane, Other at Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

Dear Iclaskow,

We are delighted to read your positive review and are thrilled to know you had enjoyed our teams service, facilities and culinary experience.

We hope we can host you at our Hotel in the nearest future.

Kind Regards,
Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2024 via mobile

450€ for 1 night and the level of the hotel is not comparable to Hiltons etc. We had high expectations this being oir first stay in a Kempinski, but were very disappointed.

First the positives. The location is great, right in the centre. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very very good, especially the ladies working there were the friendliest and nicest people!!

Then the negatives.

The reception lady who signed us in was ok friendly, but as I later came to her to ask about the restaurant on property, I saw that everyone else checking in were provided with welcome drinks. We even had a junior suite reserved so could not be due to our cheap room.

We had dinner at the rooftop restaurants, there were 2 people addition to us eating, but still had to wait for 50 minutes to have our main course (we did no even order starters).

There were only 2 small bottles of water at our night tables so I called the reception to have a few more to wash teeth and have a drink. Never have I before had an experience where a so called 5 star hotel charges for still water. It cost us something like 7€ per bottle (21€ altogether). Quite an expensive teeth brushing. I emailed them afterwards but they kept to their standards stating that only 2 bottles are free per night. SO WATCH OUT!

The room was a bit outdated, it was clean but needs new furniture quite soon.

All in all there are much better options in Riga money wice to choose. Spend your luxury hotel budget somewhere else where you get real value for the money.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank PatrikL245
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sabine Laicane, Other at Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2024

Dear Mr. PatrikL245,

We appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with us. We regret to read it was not satisfactory. We would much appreciate if you could contact us directly at lir.riga@kempinski.com to discuss the matter. We value your feedback and strive to ensure every guest has a remarkable experience with us. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards,
Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024

Lovely room with very comfortable bed, well situated for attending the opera and ballet and exploring the old town, excellent breakfast particularly the individually cooked items like eggs Benedict & Scotch porridge,and above all the incredibly welcoming and helpful staff who sorted out this elderly lady with mobility problems who had left her credit cards behind in the UK.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine408
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sabine Laicane, Other at Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Dear Katherine408,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review. We are thrilled to read you had a memorable experience with us. We have shared your praise with our team.

We hope we can welcome you back in the nearest future.

Kind Regards,
Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2024

We recently had a short trip here and it was so romantic.
We stayed in a Opera Deluxe Room. Which has a gorgeous bath tub and an amazing Opera house view.
Service at the restaurant and also at the hotel in general is top notch.
Great location in the heart of old town Riga so its perfect if you want to explore the city.
We also experienced Hotel's Luxury Spa which is a beautiful spot. We definitely recommend going there and experience the amenities like pool, sauna and cold plunge.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sabine Laicane, Other at Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2024

Dear Dandicouple,

We are thrilled to read about your experience during your recent visit. Thank you for sharing your positive review. We are looking forward to your next visit in the nearest future.

Kind Regards,
Grand Hotel Kempinski Riga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews