We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Smartblonde605
Coquitlam, Canada

Perfect Place To Stay

Review of Hotel Justus
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 May 2024
Lovely little hotel, located centrally, in Old Town Riga. Front Desk is 24 hours and is extremely helpful. Their hotel breakfast has a few Gluten Free items, and worth doing if you are celiac or have a gluten allergy. Rooms are absolutely lovely, clean and quiet. Hotel is very walkable to attractions and tours, and felt very safe for a solo traveller.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$252
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $288
  • Vio.com
    $229
  • Hotels.com
    $259
0.0 km from Hotel Justus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$158
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $185
  • Agoda.com
    $118
  • Hotels.com
    $149
0.3 km from Hotel Justus
Free Wifi
$131
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Vio.com
    $120
  • Hotel Website
    $130
0.4 km from Hotel Justus
Free Wifi
Pool
$357
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $359
  • Vio.com
    $301
  • Hotels.com
    $319
0.2 km from Hotel Justus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$221
  • Expedia.com
    $321
  • Vio.com
    $206
  • Hotels.com
    $264
0.7 km from Hotel Justus
Free Wifi
Pool
$111
  • Expedia.com
    $132
  • Vio.com
    $108
  • Hotels.com
    $117
0.5 km from Hotel Justus
Free Wifi
Pool
$151
  • Expedia.com
    $210
  • Vio.com
    $137
  • Hotels.com
    $170
0.6 km from Hotel Justus
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$139
  • Expedia.com
    $154
  • Vio.com
    $125
  • Hotels.com
    $137
0.6 km from Hotel Justus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$171
  • Expedia.com
    $172
  • travelup.com
    $166
  • Hotels.com
    $171
0.4 km from Hotel Justus
Free Wifi
Pool
$179
  • Expedia.com
    $198
  • Vio.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
    $198
1.2 km from Hotel Justus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Riga
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveller rating
487
388
100
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
487
388
100
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location old town quirky hotel reception staff room was large quiet street within easy walking distance cold meats pancakes visiting riga three nights breakfast room yogurt bars and restaurants heart centre cathedral
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2024 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Riga, we could not fault the hotel or the service we were given. The breakfast was lovely, the rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. If ever in Riga again I would stay there. So much character for a boutique hotel. Loved it.

Room tip: Try and go to Riga during their busier periods as a lot of things felt like they were closed maybe as we were out of season.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank emilyAS95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Justus Riga, General Manager at Hotel Justus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your glowing review of Hotel Justus! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Riga, found our breakfast lovely, rooms clean, and staff friendly.

It is wonderful to know that you appreciated the character of our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Riga!

Best regards,
Hotel Justus Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2024 via mobile

The hotel has value for money in the old town area of Riga. Check in was smooth and we were able to get into our room quickly to drop off our bags and get to Arena Riga for an ice hockey game with limited time to get there. The location is very central to the sites of Riga's old town and there are some very good restaurants nearby. There are quite a few convenience stores and souvenir shops nearby but they close fairly early. The hotel has a very interesting feeling to it with exposed brick walls and original/restored wood beams and stairs. We appreciated that it also had an elevator to get to the top floor we stayed on.

We booked the twin room and had a pleasant stay and the room was quiet enough to get a good night's rest despite the bars nearby. The beds were comfy but the pillows were a little thin. The room had a fully stocked mini bar with decent prices which would help if we got desperate for drinks. There was a large wardrobe and a small work desk in the room too. There were also plugs conveniently placed around the room so we could get all our devices charged. The bathroom was quite large and we appreciated the hot shower and towel warmer. They provide handsoap and a body/hair gel for the shower. The rooms have air conditioning and the windows open to help with the stuffiness. The twin rooms have a slanted ceiling so my short wife had the bed on the slanted side and had no issues.

The breakfast was very good and we enjoyed the variety of food brought out both mornings. They had hot items which changed a bit each day and included an egg omelette, bacon, potatoes, a Latvian pancake and sausages. There was a good spread of cold items too and we are sure a vegetarian would be satisfied with the offerings of vegetables, cheeses, devilled eggs and fruit. The coffee machine made a very good hot chocolate and they also provided juice and water with breakfast. There is a bar behind the check in counter that is open to hotel guests and a nice seating area in the lobby too if you're looking for something more later.

There is a sauna at the hotel but we weren't sure if it was open during our stay or what time it did open because there were no hours posted and we didn't get a chance to ask the staff. There is very limited free parking near the hotel and it seemed like the same local parked in front of the hotel each day. We would recommend taking the bus from the airport if you have the time but if you're in a hurry Bolt is pretty affordable in Riga to get around. There are car rentals north of the hotel and Bolt works in old town to book electric scooters and cars which was pretty convenient during our visit in Riga.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank deanosaur89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Justus Riga, General Manager at Hotel Justus, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed and positive review of Hotel Justus! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, from our convenient location in The Old Town to our unique and cozy rooms with exposed brick walls and original wood beams.

It is wonderful that you found our breakfast offerings satisfying and that you appreciated the variety of hot and cold items available. We are also glad to hear that you found our beds comfortable, the room amenities convenient, and our staff helpful.

We apologize for any confusion regarding the sauna hours and the limited parking situation. We will ensure that this information is communicated clearly to our guests in the future. But in general sauna is available, you just have to inform us at least one hour before you would like to use it. About the parking, as we are located in the old town, there are two good options for parking, one is Europark which is located on the other side of the old town, 5-7 minutes walking distance to Hotel Justus, and other option is public paid parking on 11 Novembra Krastmala, 3-5 minutes walking distance to Hotel Justus.

We appreciate your recommendation and your kind words about Hotel Justus and for the excellent feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you back for another pleasant stay when you are in Riga.

Best regards,
Einars Klukovics
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024 via mobile

Great location and really lovely hotel. Quirky and unusual but still warm and welcoming. Family room was perfect for 3 of us. Nice little mini bar that’s not too expensive. Able to store luggage on the day we check outs staff were helpful. Breakfast was a good mix. Not sure about the coffee but might just be personal taste. Overall a lovely stay.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Innermoppet_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Justus Riga, General Manager at Hotel Justus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Hotel Justus. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our great location and found the hotel to be lovely, quirky, and unusual while maintaining a warm and welcoming atmosphere. It is fantastic that the family room suited your needs perfectly, and you appreciated the convenience of the mini-bar.

We are pleased to hear that our staff was helpful, and the ability to store luggage on the day of check-out was convenient for you. Your feedback on the breakfast variety is appreciated, and we will certainly take it into consideration.

We hope to welcome you back for another lovely stay in the future.

Best regards,
Einars Klukovics
Front Office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2023 via mobile

Location for Christmas market is really good, within minutes.
Rooms a good size, warm and clean.
Has a/c for summer months
Breakfast is a bit chaotic, only one coffee machine that’s near water machine and door to kitchen and there are always queues.

Sometimes waiting for tables.
Rooms generally quiet , sometimes a little noise when bars close

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sueseq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Justus Riga, General Manager at Hotel Justus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2023

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Justus for your accommodation in Riga.
We appreciate your thoughtful feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Justus. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location for the Christmas market and found the rooms to be a good size, warm, and clean.

We apologize for the challenges you encountered during breakfast, and we appreciate your understanding regarding the queues and waiting for tables. Your comments are valuable, and we'll certainly explore ways to enhance the breakfast experience for our guests.

We're glad to know that, overall, the rooms were generally quiet, and we appreciate your patience regarding occasional noise. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and provide an even more enjoyable stay.

Best regards,
Einars Klukovics
Front Office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2023 via mobile

Hotel Justus is in a fantastic location to experience the Old Town with everything you want to explore and visit within a few minutes walk. Moreover, there are bars, restaurants and cafes on the doorstep. Rest assured, this does not cause any noise disruption - the hotel was silent. The staff were an absolute asset to the hotel - all were very friendly, polite, attentive and considerate. If ever there were issues, the staff would deal with them quickly. They truly made you feel welcome, and there was always someone on the reception happy to answer your questions, as well as provide a map that showed key tourist attractions and information - this was particularly useful to navigate tourist attractions. Around the reception area downstairs, there were plenty of comfy sits to read or people watch. The temperature inside the hotel was always warm despite the autumnal nip and rustic brick work design. The interior design of the hotel was both rustic and elegant, and details a history of what preceded the current site with interesting items to be found in the corridors. This made it feel special. Breakfast was overall nice, however the coffee was very bitter and there could’ve been more choice. It was also a shame that there was no kettle or tea and coffee within the room. Nevertheless, the soaps provided were nice amenities. The rooms themselves were clean, but the beds did feel cheap and were not particularly comfortable. Despite this, cleaners were regular in the mornings and kept the room tidy and would replace towels. The view from the room that overlooked the street is worth a mention since it presented a beautiful art nouvelle style building opposite. Honestly, for the price this hotel and locality was excellent. If not for the bed, room amenities, breakfast and coffee, it would’ve been a 5 star review!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank A2558QOtomw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Justus Riga, General Manager at Hotel Justus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review of your stay at Hotel Justus. We're delighted to hear that you found our central location and the quiet atmosphere within the hotel convenient for exploring the Old Town.

Your kind words about our staff are truly appreciated. We're thrilled to know that they provided attentive and warm service, and that you found the historical design and rustic ambiance appealing.

We value your feedback on the breakfast offerings and amenities in the room. Your comments about the beds have been noted, and we'll certainly explore ways to enhance these aspects for a better experience for our guests. About the lack of a kettle or tea/coffee, you can always get a kettle upon request at the reception and we will provide one. Also there is a possibility to buy tea, coffee and other drinks at the lobby bar, which is also available 24/7.

We hope to welcome you back and offer an even more satisfying experience during your next visit.

Warm regards,
Einars Klukovics
Front Office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews