We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hara S
London, England, United Kingdom

Lack of professionalism. The worst experience ever.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Nov 2013
[11:35:47 AM] Hara: Luck of professionalism. We've booked 4 triple rooms, 2 weeks before our arrival and when we arrive with my group, they told us that they have problems with the electricity in our rooms and they booked us in another hostel with lower benefits. After that we've asked them to find us another hotel and after a long conversation with lies we've asked to see our rooms without the electricity and a woman told us finally that they gave them to other people and this is why they told us about electricity. We've called the police as well and they couldn't do anything because they couldn't find any information about the owner. This is the first time that something like that happen to me and It was really a bad experience.
Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Travelled on business
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$312
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $312
0.7 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$227
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $227
1.4 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$183
  • Tripadvisor
    $183
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $191
  • Expedia.com
    $199
0.3 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $150
  • Expedia.com
    $153
0.3 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $277
  • Expedia.com
    $288
0.7 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $129
  • Expedia.com
    $141
0.0 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $184
  • Expedia.com
    $189
0.2 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $143
  • Expedia.com
    $155
0.1 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $189
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Riga
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
8
9
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
8
9
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The main advantage of that place is its location: old city, quiet street, near railway and bus station. Something between hotel and hostel, with a common kitchen and toilets for 3 double rooms at every floor. Quite clean. Small room with comfortable bed. Good wi-fi. The reception is open 24/7 because the first floor is actually a nice café open 24/7. The girl there looks good. The guy was very helpful when I needed. Always someone in the area to help. The price is good: i paid 43 lats for 3 nights during Easter 2013. Breakfast is not included. I tried it once for some lats. Good choice but not very good kitchen. You can find better and cheaper not far from it. But the café is comfortable. Perhaps because of the period, the hotel was almost empty, which is good because it seemed very noisy as soon as someone speaks in a neighbour room. You can hear all the conversations through the thin walls. I would probably rate it lower if I was there at a peak period. Special attention to the decoration: it's done such a way that it's nice and original though it probably didn't cost much for the owners.

Room tip: Higher floors are good to avoid the noise of the café but there is no elevator and the building if high.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benoitm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Good place to stay, but not very social like most hostels. The rooms are neat and clean. The showers does require a clean tho.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjda_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Discovered this wonderful hostel whilst on a recent trip to Riga and it was a delight. Great bar, fab and funky decor and the friendliest staff..particularly Karlus. Also a great singer, Alexis who had an amazing voice and wide repetoire of songs in many languages. There's also a quaint courtyard in the back which was a sun trap...perfect spot to relax in ! Unfortunately I didn't get to stay in the hostel...I just visited every evening for some good company, great music and a relaxed atmosphere.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KILKENNYKATIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I suspect you need to wear earplugs to sleep if you're going to bed anytime before 7am in Riga, so I won't deduct points for noisiness outside the hostel.

Our room was clean, and the staff was friendly. My only complaints are that the bathroom wasn't cleaned at all while we were there (2 nights), and it started to look gnarly. Also, the doorbell wasn't working during one night of our stay without any note indicating a problem, which caused a good deal of drunken distress/confusion upon return early in the morning. My friend had to bang on the glass for us to be admitted in.

The free Wifi didn't reach our room a few floors up. (Be prepared to walk up many flights if you are above the second floor.)

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mram28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Great and helpfull stuff, nice rooms, quite clean but with strange smell in the shower room. There's also a pub/club/disco downstairs so it's very loud at night.
But you will get ear-plugs (!!!) to sleep softly in a quiet reality ;-)
No brekafast included is a great minus compensated by localisation of a hostel.

Good place to stay for a acceptable price.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews