We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mram28
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Pretty good hostel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Jun 2011
I suspect you need to wear earplugs to sleep if you're going to bed anytime before 7am in Riga, so I won't deduct points for noisiness outside the hostel.

Our room was clean, and the staff was friendly. My only complaints are that the bathroom wasn't cleaned at all while we were there (2 nights), and it started to look gnarly. Also, the doorbell wasn't working during one night of our stay without any note indicating a problem, which caused a good deal of drunken distress/confusion upon return early in the morning. My friend had to bang on the glass for us to be admitted in.

The free Wifi didn't reach our room a few floors up. (Be prepared to walk up many flights if you are above the second floor.)
Date of stay: June 2011
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$186
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Expedia.com
    $176
0.3 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
$341
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $341
  • Hotels.com
    $265
  • Priceline
    $341
0.4 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$131
  • Priceline
    $148
  • Agoda.com
    $107
  • Expedia.com
    $131
0.3 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
$128
  • Priceline
    $137
  • Agoda.com
    $102
  • Expedia.com
    $115
0.0 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
$152
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • Vio.com
    $133
  • Hotels.com
    $157
0.2 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$223
  • Expedia.com
    $310
  • Priceline
    $261
  • Hotels.com
    $244
0.7 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
$122
  • Expedia.com
    $118
  • Agoda.com
    $100
  • Hotels.com
    $112
0.1 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$165
  • Priceline
    $162
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $165
0.3 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$191
  • Priceline
    $187
  • Expedia.com
    $191
  • Hotels.com
    $191
0.7 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
$166
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $166
  • Priceline
    $162
  • Expedia.com
    $166
1.0 km from Ala Hotel & Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Riga
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
8
9
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
8
9
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Great and helpfull stuff, nice rooms, quite clean but with strange smell in the shower room. There's also a pub/club/disco downstairs so it's very loud at night.
But you will get ear-plugs (!!!) to sleep softly in a quiet reality ;-)
No brekafast included is a great minus compensated by localisation of a hostel.

Good place to stay for a acceptable price.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2011

very good reception --> receptionists are very nice and accommodating and friendly :)
gives good recommendations on where to go and what to see and where to eat :)
room is colorful, but there was no room service and daily housekeeping.
in the center of old riga.
the reception service is the best!!! :D
they didn't clean the room... toilet and shower room were not so clean as well, but not really dirty, though.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AC_Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Rooms are clean, roomy and well furnished. It felt more like a hotel than a hostel. Everything was in very good working condition, the shower room was excellent. Very central location, within easy walking distance of the train station. Highly recommended. The staff went beyond the call of duty to help.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh_and_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This hostel is located just in the old town - walking distance to all main attractions (and train station/airport bus stop). We took a room for 3 people. It was small but clean and nicely arranged. The price was fair. The only disadvantage was noise from outside and from neighboring room (two little rooms were sharing toilets and eating space). No meals in the hostel were served but it was not a problem given that there are lots of places to eat and drink nearby. I recommend this place.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Alla hostel has a warm freindly relaxed atmosphere. The staff are curtious, helpfull and on the whole speak very good english. The hostel is clean and serves traditional tasty food - although no breakfast is served before 11.30. However, this is not a problem as the hostel is centrally located and an earlier breakfast can be found in easywalking distance.
The bar in Alla hostel is open until the last customers leave. Staff at the bar are easy to like, they take time to talk to customers and ensure that they are happy with service.
Rooms were clean and comfortable and showering facilities are very good. Noise from the bar could disturb sleep but this would not be enough to put us off from returning as the staff were amongst the most freindly to be found in our trip to Riga.

Date of stay: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeanoGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews