We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,323)
Filter reviews
2,323 results
Traveller rating
1,089
889
250
61
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,089
889
250
61
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge west end mall train station westend shopping mall hilton budapest diamond member direct access junior suite business trip river cruise castle district an excellent hotel modern hotel tourist attractions buffet breakfast main attractions public transportation
Filter
Updating list...
568 - 573 of 2,323 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We booked a junior suite with executive lounge access, as we do usual at 5 stars hotels, in order to enjoy the visit in Budapest. At the last moment my huband couldn't arrive and my daughter joined me to this trip. We expected to enjoy the stay but the incidents during our stay at this hotel, ruined everything. Starting with the luggage, overpriced cabes ordered by the bellboy, and many other incidents.
The staff is not motivated and careless about the guest needs and requests.
I would like to mention that the behavior of the bellboy is inpertinent ad insulting. Is a waist of time to complain to the front desk manager. She has no intention to act and to fix problems. There is completely not a "guest oriented" environment. After 4 days I WAS HAPPY TO LEAVE THIS HOTEL!!!
The room, the lounge, the food, the cleanliness, the location, are good, but if you want to enjoy the stay in Budapest, find a real 5 stars hotel.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 675ariem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertGezer, Operations Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear 675ariem,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit and for taking the time to share your comments with us. Feedback such as yours is very valuable and will help us to improve our service and product.

As I personally expressed myself to you I was deeply disturbed by your experience in the hotel and would like to apologize once again for the discomfort you suffered as a result. The service you have experienced does not reflect our normal level of service and the areas you have highlighted are an eye opener to particular standards which we must improve.

Dear 675ariem, despite our efforts and training to ensure service excellence to our valued guests we sometimes fail and we are sorry for this.

We hope that our gesture will somehow compensate for the discomfort you have experienced and hope that you will return to our property in the future.


Best regards
Mert Gezer
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I highly recommend this hotel
Good service
Good restaurant
Friendly personnel
Nicely located
Perfect room
Quick and friendly responses to inquires or problems from the personel
I would certainly come again and again

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank N8528SXgeorgeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertGezer, Operations Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear N8528SXgeorgeh,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Budapest City. We are so pleased to read that your visit was both enjoyable and successful.

It’s our top priority to go above and beyond for our guests and we’re happy that our team could be so helpful and attentive. We will never grow tired of reading such complimenting reviews or of providing the type of service that warrants feedback such as yours.

Hoping to welcome you soon.

Best regards
Mert Gezer
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

This hotel uses hidden contracts with group organizers that prevent early check out. While Hilton site may state there is a cancellation fee, but no fee for modification, this was not respected and a second contract signed by the meeting organizer was produced that stated no early check out. We tried to check out with 24 hrs notice for the two days after the conference, but were charged for those days, even though they were extra after the meeting. Manager refused to compromise.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertGezer, Operations Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Ian G,

Thank you for taking the time aside to write a review regarding your recent stay here at the Hilton Budapest City.

To give us the opportunity to further improve our product and services in the future we would appreciate if you would share some more details about your experience with us. I will make sure that we do our utmost to use your valuable and constructive feedback.

Looking forward to your response,

Best regards
Mert Gezer - mert.gezer@hilton.com
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

The hotel is really old and could benefit from a make over.
However the important things are good like the room, old fashioned but a good bed and clean room.

The location is good and the executive lounge is not big but big enough to have a quiet drink. And with the roof top terrace you have a great view over the city.

Room tip: Book a room with access to the executive lounge.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertGezer, Operations Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear abL501AY,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit and for taking the time to share your positive comments with us. Feedback such as yours is very valuable and will help us to improve our service and product.

We are honored for your recognition of this and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards
Mert Gezer
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Clean centrally located American chain hotel. Great breakfast, clean rooms and safe environment. Service was very poor and several times boardering rude. Backs up to large shopping mall and is a stones throw from the train station. We paid $300 a night which was overpriced.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertGezer, Operations Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Michael N,

Thank you for taking the time aside to write a review regarding your recent stay here at the Hilton Budapest City.

I am glad to hear that we in general exceeded your expectations in terms of location, cleanliness and breakfast.
Regarding the service failures you mention, these require an immediate action and I have already shared these comments with the department heads involved. I want to express my most sincere apologies for not having fulfilled your expectations.

I hope that in the near future you allow us for an opportunity to show you that we can improve and that your experience was rather an exception than the rule.

Best regards
Mert Gezer
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews