We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandiose Building”
Review of Parliament

Parliament
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.26*
and up
1-hour Budapest Parliament Tour with Hotel Pick-up
Ranked #1 of 462 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The domed neo-Gothic structre was inspired by the British House of Parliament and serves as both a vibrant government center and a proud city landmark on the banks of the Danube.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Grandiose Building”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Very impressive building but you have to find a place where from is the good view on it from right bank of Danube.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Colour-Tour-Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24,560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,086
    5,916
    1,217
    218
    123
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the most magnificent buildings in the world!”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

It may seem irrational, but I simply love the look of Hungary's Parliament building. I didn't have an opportunity to take a tour of the interior and see St. Stephan's crown and such, but the exterior design of the building is enough to make me fall in love with it. I'm far from an expert in architecture, but I can't help but be mesmorized by the Orszaghaz. When evening arrives and the building is illuminated, one can witness it in all of its glory. I highly recommend viewing the building from the Buda Hill or a river boat, if possible, at dusk for the best lighting effects. If you love architectural masterpieces or photographing unique structures, then the Orszaghaz must be on your list of places to visit!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank History_Teacher6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

EU passport holders get in free so take your passport. We asked our hotel in advance (Bohem Art Hotel) to book us onto the 12pm tour in English so we bypassed the huge queues and went straight to Gate X (10) and showed our piece of paper from the hotel and collected our tickets.We still had to queue to do that. We then went to Gate 12 (XII) to join our tour. The people in the queues must have been left waiting for hours. Inside you get to see St. Stephen's crown guarded by 4 guards as well as several rooms and staircases, gilded and ornately decorated and the Chamber of the Parliament. I would not bother queueing for hours to see the interior when you can see the beautiful view of the exterior from the Fisherman's Bastion over on the Buda side of the city.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Susie7761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“go early”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We waited till our last day in Budapest to visit the Parliament building. Got there at 12 o'clock and there were no tickets left! Make sure you get there early if you want to visit the building ( which is beautiful from the outside) and be prepared to line up.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“See beautiful architecture and Hungarian Crown Jewels in one tour”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Remarkably large and opulent parliament building for a country of 10 million population. The building borders the river Danube and we visited the nearby Shoes on the Danube memorial afterwards.

We booked the tour through the hotel and had no problems.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank QuoVadisGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parliament also viewed

 

Been to Parliament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing