We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,717)
Filter reviews
1,717 results
Traveller rating
549
600
345
124
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
549
600
345
124
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre nice hotel margaret island public transport thermal pools thai massage great spa the river sziget festival spa facilities executive room train station buda side buffet breakfast kehli jacuzzi bathrobes
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 1,717 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in November 2015. The things I'm going to complain about are by no means the end of anyone's world BUT they make a massive difference when you have plenty of hotels to pick from in Budapest.

Firstly, we emailed the hotel a week or so before our booking to ask if they could book us a table at a restaurant in town. To which we received no reply or reservation!

When checking into our room we were given a twin room by the receptionist, mistakes happen, I know, but it would have been nice for the bell boys to offer to take our bags up.

The rooms are nice, clean and fairly spacious with the beds being comfortable. The Danube view? Not worth it. What then don't mention is that it's not just a Danube view it's also a dual-carriageway view.

The breakfast is absolutely disastrous. You're not shown to your seat you just get let into the restaurant to try and find a clean table. It's nigh on impossible to get a cup of coffee, having asked the waiter three times we gave up. Perhaps we are used to French breakfast but the food is of a very poor standard. Sausages grizzly, eggs stone cold and all 'fresh juice' comes out of a concentrated machine...

Last and by no means least. The location. They can't do anything about it, I know. But, at no point during our check in or stay did anyone tell us there was a free car into the city. Finding out by over hearing another guest on our final day. We spent 8,000 HUF on train tickets for three days. To give you an idea it took around 30-40 minutes on the tube and tram to get back from the centre. So once you're out for the day there's really little chance to go back and change for dinner. I have seen some reviews that said there were some restaurants around the hotel but we could not find anything! When I asked the receptionist she directed me into town via the metro....

We both felt very, very overlooked at this hotel, not once did any member of staff ask if we were enjoying ourselves or if the room was okay. It's definitely not a 5 or 4 star hotel and I think if you want a genuine Budapest stay you're better off staying in town.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 478catherineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Dear Madam,

First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel.
I regret to read that you had many problem during your stay and you did not enjoy your stay. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience. I tried to investigate the situation about your e-mail which has sent about the table reservation, but unfortunately we did not know your reservation details (name, room nubmer, period of stay), so we could not find any e-mail which might received from your side. Regarding the breakfast, please accept our deepest apology for the seating. Regarding the shuttle service, please accept our apology for the inconvenience. We have a car with 4 seats, and 3 available times for the transport every day. However, we always try to arrange more times to reach our guests' satisfaction and make their stay more comfortable that they do not have to use the public transportation during 15 minutes while they reach the city centre. Please accept our deepest apology that nobody in the reception offer their help and ask your satisfaction, please be assured that I have followed-up with the people in charge to avoid same incident in the future.
I really sorry for the inconveniences.
Please send your e-mail again (info@aquincumhotel.com) about the table reservation that we can investigate this case.

I hope hearing from you soon.

Best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Modern hotel with a very good thermal spa. Although we had a deluxe room overlooking the Danube the view wasn't that great and the room decor was a little tired. We were disappointed with the location as it was a ten minute taxi ride into the centre. Although the hotel offers a shuttle service it is for a limited number so is not always available. A more central location would have been preferable.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Dear Madam or Sir,

Thank you very much for being the guest of the Aquincum Hotel Budapest and for taking the time to provide us a valuable customer's feedback. It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs.

We regret that our hotel location and services didn't meet your expectations. On the other hand we appreciate your nice comment about our SPA.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

This is a nice hotel in Budapest. I would rate it a 3+, if it were in the USA. However, it was very nice, with a nice bar and restaurant. If your a budget traveler, the restaurant is a bit upscale based on price. In the bar one evening, my wife had a greek salad & one glass of house wine, while I had a sandwich and one beer. The cost was nearly $30 US, which isn't too bad.
There is multi pools in the basement of the hotel and managed very well. They have a people staffing the entry and food area, but also one person keeps an eye on the pool area's. There is a hot tub, a large lap pool and a couple warm and warmer pools, that are very relaxing (the warmer one is approximately 98 degree's...based on my own spa). They have showers available for you to take prior to getting into the pools/spa. There are also massages available at a cost. I might tell you that you have to pay extra for your room to have the pool area available to you. I think the cost was around $20 extra for our room. That might have included the view(which we requested).
We had asked for a king room with a view. We got the first floor (one above the main entry) and saw the parking lot and nothing of the river. Our friends got on the third floor and had a better view but nothing outstanding. I would suggest one without a view and save your money. The rooms were clean and the beds were somewhat soft but comfortable. I like hard pillows and housekeeping brought me two right away. The rooms are large enough, with an adequate bathroom. The rooms were clean. The doors are very heavy, and when someone closes one of these, you hear it at night. We tried to NOT let the the door slam, but some people don't care of course.
The Hotel is a bit North on the Buda side of the river.
We left at 3:15 AM to catch our flight and the cost was approximately 12,000 Forints. That cost would likely be the minimum, based on the time you leave (just so you know).

Room tip: This is a nice hotel, with a restaurant A bit of distance from the action on the Pest side Staff were very helpful
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ronaldf244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2015

Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing the Aquincum Hotel Budapest and sharing your experience with our future guests.

We were glad to read that you were pleased with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comment in regard to our bar and restaurant. Thank you for mentioning our spa facilities and highlighting the room size and cleanliness as well as the bed comfort. We regret that we couldn't meet your expectations in terms of the view. Please also accept our apology for disturbance you experienced during the night.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Four of us stayed for 3 days. All ok, room a bit tired, early hours noise from we assumed
Workmen. Food good, but waited an hour for starters!. Courtesy car into city seemed to be first come first served, not helpful. Pool facilities excellent .although not so towels .

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We regret to read that the room and the car service were not to your satisfaction and you had a bad experience in the restaurant waiting for the food. Please kindly accept our sincerely apologize for this as well as for inconvenience caused by the noisy works.

We appreciate your kind comment about our SPA and will take your note about the towels into consideration. The towels are always provided at the SPA reception free of charge.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

All the staff were very friendly and reception greeted you by your name each time you approached them. We booked on a great deal that upgraded us to a deluxe room overlooking the Danube.
The spa facilities were great, especially after a day of sight seeing.
The breakfast choice was one of the best we have encountered in a hotel.

The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. If you are eating in the restaurant in the evening you can buy a bottle of wine at half price in the happy hour to take in with you..The food was delicious and good value for money.
We split our break staying 3 days here to visit the Buda /Castle side (Only 4 HGV stops) .and then 3 days in the Pest side .This worked very well for us and cut out a lot of travelling .
There are some good restaurants (About £10 per head including wine) within 10/15 mins walk. Out of the Hotel and turn right, then turn right between the flats then left at the police station

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for staying at the Aquincum Hotel Budapest and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in one of our deluxe room overlooking the Danube river. Thank you for mentioning our SPA facilities and breakfast. It is our great pleasure that you found our restaurant food and service to your satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

With best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews