We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveller rating
375
345
110
43
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
345
110
43
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location painted ceiling modern bathroom jazz bar old town mala strana early hours noisy at night breakfast room high ceilings noise from the street lovely hotel third floor city break a stones throw mini bar beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 929 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2015

The charles hotel is situated in lesser town just over charles bridge,
super location for seeing all the sights, small reception area, but everywhere including rooms are nicely decorated and spotless, staff are friendly, breakfast ok but as others have commented a bit clostrophobic, if you are a light sleeper you are best asking for a rear room

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCharlesHotel, Manažer komunikace s hosty at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear guest

Thank you for your time to share your experience with your stay at The Charles Hotel.

We are delightful to know that you had a nice stay with us and appreciate all your nice words regarding our decoration, cleaniness and our friendly staff. It is great that these have been your highlighs when staying with us.

Many thanks again and be sure to check us out next time you are traveling to Prague, we would be pleased to have you back.

Yours faithfully

Jolana Hrotkova
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We've just had a 3 night stay in Prague and the Charles is a fantastic base for seeing the wonderful sights of the city. For me the most important thing about a city break hotel is the location and this hotel is just a couple of minutes from Charles Bridge. From there it's a gentle stroll to the old town square and it's fantastic sights, restaurants etc. The hotel is well situated for catching trams to sights that are further away. They're cheap, frequent and seem to run all day. We took the 22 to Stirhov Monastery and then walked to the cathedral, palaces etc. that make up the Prague Castle area.
The Charles is small (31 rooms) and charming with friendly helpful staff on reception. Our room was a good size, had a big and very comfortable bed, plenty of storage and tea/coffee making facilities. There was free WiFi too. The shower in the bathroom took a bit of getting used to but there were complimentary toiletries etc.
Breakfast was good. The usual cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheese, bread, croissants etc. were available with a small range of hot items as well.
The main things though are the excellent location and the helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cheeryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCharlesHotel, Manažer komunikace s hosty at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

Dear guest

Thank you for taking your time to review your 3-night stay at The Charles Hotel.

We are thrilled to know that you had a memorable stay and we feel proud to be a part of your lovely vacation. We are glad that you appreciated the location and walked pretty much everywhere or found it easy to take the tram to another interesting area. Public transportation is very well maintaned and is a joy to use. Also we are glad that you were happy with our friendly staff. It is a pleasure to hear that you liked your large room with a comfortable bed and free toiletries as well as the free wi-fi. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the free breakfast too.

It would be a delight to have a chance of welcoming you again in near future.

Yours faithfully

Jolana Hrotkova
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Stayed for 3 nights. Booked with Jet 2 so surprised to be allocated a small suite with a separate sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. very grand ceilings and old traditional hotel. On a corner so a little chilly in the bedroom and noisy but very centrally placed so only to be expected. clean and well presented with a really nice bathroom. let down by a mediocre breakfast in a garish basement. Helpful day time receptionist. Well positioned for Charles Bridge, castle and Jewish quarter.

Room Tip: Corner rooms bigger. rooms at the front noisier
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCharlesHotel, Manažer komunikace s hosty at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your 3-night stay at The Charles Hotel.

We are glad that you were happy with your suite and the hotel's old and charming decoration. It is also good that you liked the modern bathroom and were satisfied with the cleaniness. It is great that you took advantage of the central location however you though the room was a little bit noisy. As you mentioned, it can happen while reside in such a central position. It is very nice of you to praise our helpful staff.
However we are really sorry that you did not appreciate the breakfast and that you found the room rather chilly.

We will sure do our best to improve until your next visit, it would be a real pleasure to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully

Jolana Hrotkova
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

100 meters from Charles Bridge this hotel is one of the best value picks. Try to book a superior room with a working area - a real treat with the carved wood ceiling and the authentic deckwood flooring. An OK music pub next door.
Parking is tricky in the area - although the hotel offers a parking permit (quite pricey) but it usually happens that there are no free parking spots in the area. Make sure you understand where you can and cannot stop.

Room Tip: Get a room with a working area - really nice woodwork.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCharlesHotel, Manažer komunikace s hosty at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear guest

Thank you for your stay at The Charles Hotel and thank you for your time to review our property.

We are very glad to know that you had a nice stay with us also thanks to our central location and the superior room that you felt comfortable staying in. It is really nice of you to appreciate the decor and the working area in the room.

Also we would like to thank you for the comments about parking that could help the other travelers. It is very tricky to find a spot in the centre, there are very little options and all are for a charge. Especially it is necessary to pay attention to the zones. Blue zone is for residents only, however we do have a couple of them rented for hotel guests to use.

We are delightful that you were happy with your booking and we would sincerely like to welcome you back in the future.

Yours faithfully

Jolana Hrotkova
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Have read a lot of reviews,how people booked in Charles hotel and ended in sister hotel Elite instead. Me and my friend actually booked Elite,but ended in Charles. My friend read,how many hotels in Prague often overbook and constantly move their guests to sister hotels,so we were kinda prepared.Went to Elite,were informed,that due lightning strike a couple days before hotel is having issues with plumbing. Got complimentary drink from Elite bar,taxi was paid by them as well and we were smoothly transferred to Charles.
As mentioned by others,regarding this hotel,location simply wonderful. In heart of Mala Strana, one street from Charles bridge,nearby many souvenir shops, Macdonald and attention worthy churches. Amazing..
We were on a budget,so simple standard rooms with very good free wifi,comfortable beds ir decent bathroom. My friend catches cold ,so using aircon was out of question (it was good though),so we slept with windows open.I sleep like a log,but my friend complained huge noise,caused by falling bricks somewhere nearby,during the first night of our stay.
Reception was polite and friendly enough,eager to help,when necessary. Roms were cleaned daily and efficiently.
About the food,the cafeteria is based in basement,but what does it matter. Do you really need windows,when eating.Food choice is plentiful and various. We had healthy breakfast all 3 morning of our stay.
So would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone ,looking for budget stay,for the first or even following stays in Prague.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Agne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCharlesHotel, Manažer komunikace s hosty at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Dear guest

Thank you for your outstanding review that you left us summaring your pleasant stay.

We are very glad to know that you felt comfortable with us and enjoyed your stay in Prague despite you did not plan so at the first place. It was such a pleasure having you here and we are very pleased by all your nice words.

It is great that you were happy with our central location right by The Charles Bridge and that you appreciated your comfortable room altogether with free wi-fi and breakfast. It is so nice of you to praise our helpful staff too.

We are really sorry that your friend got gold which made you open the windows instead of using the air condition. We totally understand there might be some noise bothering during the night - it is very lively area the city centre. We sincerely hope that wasnt too much on the remaining days.

It is amazing that you would stay with us again and we are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Yours faithfully

Jolana Hrotkova
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews