We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sunny”
other travellers have booked this property
The castle stands there for more than 150 years.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The castle stands there for more than 150 years.
dive in the crystal clear water of Mani
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The castle stands there for more than 150 years.
dive in the crystal clear water of Mani
Gerolimenas beach-gulf. 15 minutes by car.
Gerolimenas village.
Relax and gaze the sunset while sitting in the terrace. Great view
The kitchen is spacious and fully eqquipped
The main entrance
The flowers in the field before the castle full of bloom
The environment around the castle is full of olive grooves ready to be explored...
Marmari beach
The old cellar transformed into a special bedroom.
main bathroom with a shower
The stairs leading to the 'Cellar' bedroom
'cellar' bedroom Wc
The entrance to the interrior.
The stairs heading to the upper floor
The hall
2 + 1 beds are available on the upper floor for comfortable sleep
Enter a caption for your photo
this little church next to the castle stands there for a century
Gerolimenas port. Beautiful colours..
The olive trees in full of bloom
The famous Dyros caves
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Pagkia, Laconia Region, Peloponnese

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Erwandeca...
Calais, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunny”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Second time for us in the Petrongonas family castle, we are never bored of this place. Nice place kind people. As Georges Clooney says wath eslse? We enjoy again our hollidays in the castle and the children too (teenagers), So if teenagers like it every one must like it! The godfather of my son come with us for a week (he lives in a big castle in France so he likes good places) and he was really please by the place and he also wishes to come again. Everything will please you if you like sun (In three years I spent 8 weeks in Greece and I spent 8 weeks under the sun with summer clothes. No rain in summer in Mani! The crystal water of Mani is the best of mediteranean sea (I have been living five years in the south of France and I have spent 15 years of hollidays in Corsica) So I can say that is the best place of the Mediteranean sea! You have small beaches, few people so if you like to have a rest, all greek Taverna are good and cheap (if you like cheeseburger Mani is not for you I'm sorry!). I stop my review because there are so much things to discover here and local people to meet, only one more thing for you dear tourist the key here in Pagkia is to take your time... There is not internet and no swimming pool but I just want to tell you what for? you have the biggest swimming pool few minutes away from the castle and no internet during hollidays!

Erwan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
not a lot to say about you my dear friend. You know you are always welcome in our house. We appreciate the fact you take so much good care of our property and we enjoy the fact you love Mani even more as you visit us every time. Till next time, Marios
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubiac
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a truly amazing place to stay in an isolated part of the Mani”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely castle (or tower really) in a part of the Mani which is less touristy than many parts of Greece. The tower stands in its own olive and almond grove although the grounds are not that well kept which is not a problem at all as you have a large terrace where you can eat without being overlooked and enjoy the setting sun with a glass of the wine. The kitchen is well equipped and if cold there is a large open fire with lots of wood around. We slept in the fisrt floor bedroom because it was full of light . There is a bedroom in the basement area but we found this a bit claustrophbic, there is no window but that will prbably not bother everyone. The family were so generous with their hospitality and although we did not they told us to use whatever was in the cupboards and even left us a vfridge full of beer and water along with a bottle of their own olive oil and ouzo!! because it is difficult to find and quite isolated we tended to eat out at lunch time and then enjoy the evenings using the fantastic kitchen and just relaxing on the terrace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area where the tower is situated and the quietness
Liked least: the fact that you had a bit of a trek from the 1st floor bedroom to the WC at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sijo33
Utrecht
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique experience in the Mani”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

As from the first contact by mail everything went very smooth and professional. At the same time the Petrongonas family has a very personalized approach to the way they rent their castle. 'Feel as if it is your own home' is what they said when they left. Their personal touch and family history are positively present in the castle, which makes it a unique experience in this very special part of Greece.

If you are prepared to use your car you can go to the special beaches in the Mani, which range from small and calm to a bit bigger and slightly more touristic. Our children enjoyed playing basketball with the Greek kids and adults in the evenings. Snorkeling, cycling and ofcourse visiting the local cultural heritage made this week into a superb experience

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The castle, its location and the friendliness of the Petrongonas family
Liked least: Dependance of a car
Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omer, Israel
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall experience
Liked least: Elusive mobile greengrocer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ericdieme...
Courbevoie, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best way to discover Mani”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Petrongonas Castle is an old very pleasant house to discover the region close to Gerolimenas and Aeropolis. House moreover very well equipped. The owners are charming and welcoming. The room situated at the lower level is a real happiness for those who prefer to sleep with fresh air. The most beautiful beaches are approximately 15 km, but a creek is reachable in 5 km. The village of Stavri, close by, has a taverna which makes very good souvlakis. The supermarket is not far (3 km).
Mani is wonderful and Petrongonas Castle is the best way to discover it!
I suggere just to the owners, to return the perfect house, to invest(surround) in 2 deckchairs for the terrace. And a toaster would be welcome too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the situation
Liked least: difficult to say! maybe to have no deckchair
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$739
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing