We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Passport09349508125

Great resort!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Aug 2023
Nice clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds and pillows. Great food on the meal plan - more than we could eat! There are daily food and drink specials also. The dive operation was very efficient and attentive. Drop off your gear at the beginning of your trip, and it's set up for you every day. On your last day, the crew does their best to get your gear cleaned, dried and ready for you to pack. There are sandwich lunches available on the 3-dive days, which are brought on the boat for you. Very friendly and dedicated staff.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Volivoli, Marketing at Volivoli Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Passport09349508125 your lovely feedback is a delight to read, and our entire team are excited that their hard work, dedication and organization is appreciated. Thank you so much for staying and diving the Bligh Water with us, we hope to see you back again when the time is right. Vinaka vakalevu and have a sensational day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $309
  • Booking.com
3.1 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $212
  • Priceline
4.2 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Luxury Ocean Front Pool
$733
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.0 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Poolside
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $145
  • Booking.com
5.8 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
80.2 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
79.0 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Free parking
Where we stayed on Bobo's Farm
Contact accommodation for availability.
78.9 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.7 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Volivoli
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
459
155
56
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
459
155
56
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darling family ra divers voli voli dive shop fish washing machine premium ocean view dive crew great diving dive sites spent a week marine life paddle boarding bligh waters days diving soft corals non divers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2023

After a week of SCUBA in Carins in the Coral Sea, an overnight flight to Fji from Brisbane, we were ready for a week of sunshine, SCUBA in paradise. VoliVoli did not fail to deliver. To say the staff is friendly and helpful is a gross underrepresentation. The staff went out of their way to learn our names, a little about us and understand and help us with our dietary needs. I would say they were exceptional, and certainly in the top of all the resorts we have stayed at in 28 years of SCUBA diving.

Yes, it’s a drive from the airport to VoliVoli. We arrived in the early morning and had a great transfer talking with our guide and enjoying the sunshine and learning about Fiji. The resort is intimate (small), on the side of a hill facing the water. Yes, there are some steep paths, but they are well lit at night and with plenty of rails. The rooms are huge, with a small kitchen and plenty of space inside and out. Our villa had the perfect sunset view. The bathroom was spacious and accommodating. Our bed was firm and comfortable, and we had plenty of comfy pillows. We didn’t use the air-conditioning, but rather opted for the louvered windows open and fans on for comfortable evening sleeping. Our ‘wake-up’ alarms usually every morning were a cacophony of birdsong just after sunrise.
We missed the weekly Fiji night and introduction to Kava, so they made some especially for us and allowed us to partake our last evening there. Thank you to the entire staff that helped make that a special evening for us.
SCUBA diving was great, but the weather wasn’t. Worst weather heading East to the Marine Reserve in the last ten years, but the diving to the west was more than wonderful. The staff and the SCUBA diving was safe in the water and on the resort for shore diving. They take safety very seriously and strive to make each dive a premiere experience. All dives were guided in small groups from 2 to 6 with an experienced Dive Master. We found and photographed several fish and nudibranchs endemic only to Fiji including the Canary Fangblenny, Fiji Anthias and the very shy Blue Velvet Angelfish. We found Fiji Anemonefish at least every day. We had three different DMs of guides. Simon, Layla and Solo. Kudos to all three for helping to point out fish, nudibranchs, including the Blue Dragon Nudibranch, which I was seeing on just about every dive before we left. Simon, the Sales & Marketing Manager took time to dive with us while training his staff and sit and just talk to us, answering our questions and taking the time to get to know us better. He helped make us feel welcome and ‘at home’ in their paradise resort. But, Layla did a great job pointing things out on each dive and helping us spot and photograph the local flora and fauna.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Giant_Stride_SCUBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Volivoli, Marketing at Volivoli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2023

Bula Giant_Stride_SCUBA - to say we are overwhelmed by your amazing feedback is an understatement. Our entire team, throughout all departments strive hard to 'make dreams come true' and when we read feedback like this it certainly brings great big smiles to everyone's faces.

Thank you again, and simply having Fiji's best diving on our doorstep doesn't mean we stop doing all the little extras and paying attention to each and every details is just one of the things that makes us stand out from the rest.

We hope to see you back again when the time is right, moce mada and take care, your entire Fijian Family sends their best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2023 via mobile

I was staying in one of the small villas for a week of diving.

Diving is excellent, with soft coral and colourful small fish - top notch. Dive centre is well run, good service, very friendly staff. They are the only dive operator up there - uncrowded diving. House reef is unremarkable with often low visibility. Several dive briefings had inaccurate drawings/descriptions, but all dives were guided and easy so it did not matter that much.

Accomodation is very clean and in good shape, except aircon which works but was older and noisy. Not a big problem in July, but a bit annoying when it’s warmer. My villa had a full fridge and kitchenette, but you’d have to get a taxi into the nearby village to buy your own food. If that’s your thing, stop by a supermarket during your transfer to the resort.

Food was tasty but expensive. I had full board which is a lot of food, but good if you are diving. Fresh fruit juices would be a good addition at breakfast, given it is a premium resort.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Not much to do there, most guests come for the diving, I think.

Room tip: Go for the diving. Be sure to check your food budget.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank billabong859
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Volivoli, Marketing at Volivoli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

billabong859 thank you so very much for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay, it is greatly appreciated and we always appreciate hearing from out guests. As you experienced we are extremely fortunate to have such vibrant and healthy reef systems right on our doors step and of course the 100's of incredible macro critters like seahorses, pipefish, nudibranch, anemones and frogfish etc right in front of the resort on our 3 x muck diving house reefs, which are available completely free of charge 24x7x365.

Thanks for the heads-up on the noisy air-conditioner unit in your Premium Ocean View villa - this has now been replaced.

In regards to 'other things to do' apart from diving, and yes you are correct, that is the # 1 reason people do come to us, since we have Fiji's finest diving and are home to the 'soft coral capital of the world' right on our doorstep, we do offer a good range of both land and water tours such as Nabalasere village & waterfall tour (Fiji's biggest waterfall), local village and market tours, the Tomb of Ratu Udre Udre (the world's most prolific cannable), Church of the Black Christ, Snake Cave, Dolphin Encounter, Snorkel Safari trips, Island discovery tours, Sunset Cruises, a range of Fishing trips, free use of Stand-Up Paddle boards and kayaks - as well of course our 2 onsite restaurants and 3 bars. Finally our free traditional Fijian night complete with meke and lovo (usually Thursday nights) and our beach BBQ and party night (usually on Sunday night), as well as live music every evening.

We hope to see you back when the time is right.

Vinaka from our entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2023

The views were amazing and the beach was great, with picturesque views of sunrise and sunset. Snorkelling was great too.

Limited activities at the beach. Coffee machine had broken down and no fresh juices served - a big let down for a tropical place.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mumtaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Volivoli, Marketing at Volivoli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2023

Bula mumtazs75 - firstly thank you very much for spending time with us it was greatly appreciated. We do apologize for the coffee machine breaking down, apparently, it was only offline for a few hours and I can confirm it is thankfully back up and running again. We also understand it's not the same however we do have FOC drip coffee available all the time, which is at least a compromise. In regards to juice, we have three (3) local bottled juices available each day, and whilst we typically do not have fresh fruit blended on hand our F&B team can certainly pop some local fruit into the blender, again apologies if we weren't forthcoming with that, assuming that you had requested it. We will add this topic to next week's F&B staff meeting.

Lastly, beach activities we offer FOC are stand-up paddle boarding, snorkeling, and kayaking, we also do have boat-based water activities, which do come at an additional cost such as dolphin excursions, a range of fishing options, outer reef snorkeling, island discovery, and sunset cruises - and of course scuba diving.

Thank you once again, and please be assured we have taken your feedback onboard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2023

A beautiful small resort that was immaculately well kept. I loved the hospitality with all the staff who were friendly Fijians from Rakiraki. There was a personal touch where everyone knew your name and looked after you.
Food excellent, accommodation excellent and cultural opportunities available. A wonderful place for a relaxing holiday . I would go back again tomorrow.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Di T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Volivoli, Marketing at Volivoli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2023

DiT your kind words are greatly appreciated by all of our team, we loved hosting you, and of course, you are most welcome back to your Fijian home anytime. safe travels and moce mada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2023 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful resort capping off 2 weeks in Fiji around Viti Levu. Yes this is a dive resort but for non divers like us there are many other options available like kayaking paddle boarding or just chilling by the pool or your patio with the view of the ocean. But the best thing about this resort are the staff. From Va. Tina. Tito. Rita. Ima. Mere. Moira just a mention a few Everyone was warm and welcoming. Food was delicious. We especially enjoyed Lovo night as we both grew up in Fiji and this brought back great memories. Oh and the best sunsets. Thank you for a great stay

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank fay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Volivoli, Marketing at Volivoli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2023

Fay thank you so very much for your wonderful words and kind review. We sincerely loved hosting Rudra and yourself, great attitudes, great spirit, and full of fun - we would be more than delighted to host you at any time in the future. Safe travels, and enjoy life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews