We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
billabong859
Sydney, Australia

Great diving, resort has boutique feel.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jul 2023via mobile
I was staying in one of the small villas for a week of diving.

Diving is excellent, with soft coral and colourful small fish - top notch. Dive centre is well run, good service, very friendly staff. They are the only dive operator up there - uncrowded diving. House reef is unremarkable with often low visibility. Several dive briefings had inaccurate drawings/descriptions, but all dives were guided and easy so it did not matter that much.

Accomodation is very clean and in good shape, except aircon which works but was older and noisy. Not a big problem in July, but a bit annoying when it’s warmer. My villa had a full fridge and kitchenette, but you’d have to get a taxi into the nearby village to buy your own food. If that’s your thing, stop by a supermarket during your transfer to the resort.

Food was tasty but expensive. I had full board which is a lot of food, but good if you are diving. Fresh fruit juices would be a good addition at breakfast, given it is a premium resort.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Not much to do there, most guests come for the diving, I think.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Go for the diving. Be sure to check your food budget.
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Volivoli, Marketing at Volivoli Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 30 Jul 2023
billabong859 thank you so very much for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay, it is greatly appreciated and we always appreciate hearing from out guests. As you experienced we are extremely fortunate to have such vibrant and healthy reef systems right on our doors step and of course the 100's of incredible macro critters like seahorses, pipefish, nudibranch, anemones and frogfish etc right in front of the resort on our 3 x muck diving house reefs, which are available completely free of charge 24x7x365.

Thanks for the heads-up on the noisy air-conditioner unit in your Premium Ocean View villa - this has now been replaced.

In regards to 'other things to do' apart from diving, and yes you are correct, that is the # 1 reason people do come to us, since we have Fiji's finest diving and are home to the 'soft coral capital of the world' right on our doorstep, we do offer a good range of both land and water tours such as Nabalasere village & waterfall tour (Fiji's biggest waterfall), local village and market tours, the Tomb of Ratu Udre Udre (the world's most prolific cannable), Church of the Black Christ, Snake Cave, Dolphin Encounter, Snorkel Safari trips, Island discovery tours, Sunset Cruises, a range of Fishing trips, free use of Stand-Up Paddle boards and kayaks - as well of course our 2 onsite restaurants and 3 bars. Finally our free traditional Fijian night complete with meke and lovo (usually Thursday nights) and our beach BBQ and party night (usually on Sunday night), as well as live music every evening.

We hope to see you back when the time is right.

Vinaka from our entire team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$202
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
    $198
  • Expedia.com
    $198
3.1 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
$192
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $202
  • Expedia.com
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $232
4.2 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Luxury Ocean Front Pool
$633
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $700
  • Agoda.com
    $565
  • Hotels.com
    $733
0.0 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Poolside
$242
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Agoda.com
    $141
  • Hotels.com
    $162
5.8 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
$67
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $67
  • Agoda.com
    $67
67.1 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$205
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $205
  • Agoda.com
    $205
81.0 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
80.2 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
79.0 km from Volivoli Beach Resort
Free parking
View more hotels in Volivoli
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
459
155
56
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
459
155
56
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darling family ra divers voli voli dive shop fish washing machine premium ocean view dive crew great diving dive sites spent a week marine life paddle boarding bligh waters days diving soft corals non divers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2023

The views were amazing and the beach was great, with picturesque views of sunrise and sunset. Snorkelling was great too.

Limited activities at the beach. Coffee machine had broken down and no fresh juices served - a big let down for a tropical place.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mumtaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Volivoli, Marketing at Volivoli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2023

Bula mumtazs75 - firstly thank you very much for spending time with us it was greatly appreciated. We do apologize for the coffee machine breaking down, apparently, it was only offline for a few hours and I can confirm it is thankfully back up and running again. We also understand it's not the same however we do have FOC drip coffee available all the time, which is at least a compromise. In regards to juice, we have three (3) local bottled juices available each day, and whilst we typically do not have fresh fruit blended on hand our F&B team can certainly pop some local fruit into the blender, again apologies if we weren't forthcoming with that, assuming that you had requested it. We will add this topic to next week's F&B staff meeting.

Lastly, beach activities we offer FOC are stand-up paddle boarding, snorkeling, and kayaking, we also do have boat-based water activities, which do come at an additional cost such as dolphin excursions, a range of fishing options, outer reef snorkeling, island discovery, and sunset cruises - and of course scuba diving.

Thank you once again, and please be assured we have taken your feedback onboard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2023

A beautiful small resort that was immaculately well kept. I loved the hospitality with all the staff who were friendly Fijians from Rakiraki. There was a personal touch where everyone knew your name and looked after you.
Food excellent, accommodation excellent and cultural opportunities available. A wonderful place for a relaxing holiday . I would go back again tomorrow.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Di T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Volivoli, Marketing at Volivoli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2023

DiT your kind words are greatly appreciated by all of our team, we loved hosting you, and of course, you are most welcome back to your Fijian home anytime. safe travels and moce mada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2023 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful resort capping off 2 weeks in Fiji around Viti Levu. Yes this is a dive resort but for non divers like us there are many other options available like kayaking paddle boarding or just chilling by the pool or your patio with the view of the ocean. But the best thing about this resort are the staff. From Va. Tina. Tito. Rita. Ima. Mere. Moira just a mention a few Everyone was warm and welcoming. Food was delicious. We especially enjoyed Lovo night as we both grew up in Fiji and this brought back great memories. Oh and the best sunsets. Thank you for a great stay

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank fay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Volivoli, Marketing at Volivoli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2023

Fay thank you so very much for your wonderful words and kind review. We sincerely loved hosting Rudra and yourself, great attitudes, great spirit, and full of fun - we would be more than delighted to host you at any time in the future. Safe travels, and enjoy life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2023

The staff was AMAZING! From the minute you check in with Ema & Keleleni you know you are in the right place. This is NOT the commercial/touristy part of the island you will find on the south side...this resort is on the northern tip of the main island. You will have the opportunity to drink in the amazing culture, landscape, food and ocean. The Darling Family owns and runs this resort and Steve Darling (Jr) was very visible the entire time making sure our group was having a great time and we loved hearing about the property and sharing a drink (or two) with him. Our group was there to dive as Volivoli has one of the absolute best dive operations on the entire island...we were not diving so we took time to do all the other things offered. Water fall hikes, deep sea fishing, cultural experiences, pool time and more were all part of our stay. Kepe the Executive Chef and his team prepared great meals 3 times a day and the service staff/bar tenders were always on point! Our room had a fantastic porch to watch the sunrise and set from and was very spacious and inviting. The pool area is relaxing and a great way to unwind after a long day of...relaxing. We went fishing and the kitchen prepared our catch for our dinner, so much fun. The boat captain knew right where to take us to hook up on several different kinds of fish. The staff went so far above and beyond to make sure everyone had a wonderful trip. Kinny, Lavenia, Tua, Tito, Eliki, Viri, Mosese and the interns Josh and Solo set the bar high for service levels and making us feel like family, Vinaka!! To those staff members I forgot to mention I apologize. The views (see attached photos) were stunning and breath taking all at the same time.

Date of stay: July 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bvargajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Volivoli, Marketing at Volivoli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2023

WOW bvargajr that review and detailed feedback are bringing great big 'bula smiles' to all of our faces. We are so delighted that your stay with us was so enjoyable and we delivered on your expectations, it seems we actually over-delivered, which is always our aim. Thank you again, we appreciated your visit and we hope to host you again sometime in the future. Have an amazing day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2023

A gem of a hotel combining the best of Fijian friendliness and hospitality with a well run operation. Joe behind the bar and Mary (sp?) in the restaurant, made our stay particularly memorable. In almost 50 years of living in and visiting Fiji, it doesn't get better than this, but you do pay for what you get, its not cheap.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traveler443398
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Volivoli, Marketing at Volivoli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2023

Traveler443398 thank you so much for this beautiful review, our team works and trains hard to be the very best they can be and constantly strive to deliver Fiji's finest experience. We appreciate your support and hope to be able to welcome you back again when convenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews