We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total escapism with stunning grounds”
other travellers have booked this property
Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Rose Cottage from the Courtyard. View across patio towards the lake.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Rose Cottage from the Courtyard.
View across patio towards the lake.
Bedroom One.
Bedroom One.
Bedroom One.
Bedroom Two.
Bedroom Two.
The Kitchen/Dining/Utility Room.
The Sitting/TV Lounge.
The Sitting/TV Lounge.
The Sitting/TV Lounge.
The optional Lounge available as third bedroom for 6 occupants with additional charge.
The optional Lounge available as third bedroom for 6 occupants with additional charge.
The optional Lounge available as third bedroom for 6 occupants with additional charge.
The main bathroom with bath, shower and toilet.
The main bathroom with bath, shower and toilet.
The second toilet.
Hazelhurst Farm looking through the entrance gates.
The landscape setting of Hazelhurst Farm.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mercaston, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TRACY P
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Total escapism with stunning grounds”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from an amazing stay at Rose Cottage. The cottage is beautiful every attention to detail both inside and out. Roger and Christine are super hosts who make feel like one of the family. Thank you for our M + S goodies much appreciated.The cottage is stunning and set in beautiful grounds over looking 2 Lakes. Our boys loved the sunken trampoline and playing with all the dogs and fat cat. They also loved the snooker table. We did Carsington water and Tissington trail bike rides and had a lovely walk at Dovedale. It was so luvly to have a great day out and know we were returning to our amazing Rose Cottage and home from home comforts.Its a gem and we will be back.Thank you Roger and Christine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accomodation and setting.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ailsa91
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning cottage, magnificent surroundings, delightful owners!”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have recently returned from a weekend stay at Rose Cottage with some friends. As a party of 4, 2 couples, it was great to find a place with 2 double bedrooms. The cottage itself was immaculately clean and beautifully designed. On arrival we were greeted by Roger and Christine who welcomed us warmly and gave great advice for things to do in the area. In addition, Christine had baked us a cake, left a bottle of wine and a variety of other food items (all M&S).
Nothing was too much hassle for Roger and Christine, they booked us a meal at a local eatery and were always on hand to help.

Overall it was an amazing stay, we hope to return sometime soon .... for longer than a weekend.

Thank you Roger and Christine!
Ailsa, Elliot, Becca and Ben.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan T
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb weekend”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from a weekend away at rose cottage with our daughters and their partners. We were made very welcome by Christine and Roger they couldn't do enough .,the décor of the whole property is first class you felt you were in a 5star hotel .but without the pomp and formality .After a tiring journey to be able to sit outside and enjoy the surrounding views and a good glass of wine and a classic Victoria sponge all provided by Christine and Roger says it all .Thank you both .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds they were so comfy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice T
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Cottage, brilliant location and superb hosts”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just got back from a long weekend at Rose Cottage and had an absolutely amazing weekend!!! After reading previous reviews we were excited about coming and were not disappointed!!

Christine and Roger welcomed us warmly and made us feel right at home!! A bottle of wine, cake and other essentials were there upon our arrival which was perfect after a long drive up to Derbyshire. Christine also managed to book a table for us at the Cross Keys pub (great food!) at short notice which was lovely and only 10 minutes down the road.

The cottage is set in beautiful grounds, (the pictures do not do it justice!) a lovely lake surrounds the rest of the house and there are hidden extras which made it even more amazing!! the decor was done to a high quality and was perfect size for 6 people although could maybe do with another chair in the lounge.The location is close to Chatsworth and Alton Towers and Christine also recommended a visit to Carsington Water where you can bike around the lake and stop of at the local pub (we did this and was good fun!)

The actual cottage is for 4 people however there were 6 couples each with there own bed (really comfortable bed & lovely bedding!) 2 couples were in the cottage and the other couple were in the main house which was still close to the cottage but a reasonable distance from the hosts, Christine provided bath robes for the couple staying in the main house so they can come and join us for breakfast without feeling like they had to get dressed straight away (lovely touch!)

Overall we had a great time and will definitely be returning to Rose Cottage. Cant wait for our next visit.

Thank you Christine and Roger !!!!!!

From Sue, Dave, Alice, John, Jess and Chris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beds and decor
Liked least: stay wasnt long enough!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb weekend”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This property excelled in every way and proved to be the ideal venue for a weekend break away with old friends. Although there were 4 of us, this didn't present a problem as we had a room each Rose cottage and two rooms in the luxury B&B, which worked really well. The rooms are beautiful, with great cooking facilities, not to mention the wonderful Victoria sponge cake Christine made for us and other lovely touches. The owners Christine and Roger made us feel very welcome and the surrounding grounds and lake are amazing. The property's easy to find and conveniently situated - East Midlands airport, the M1 and the train station at Derby are all handy but not too close. The Crosskeys gastro pub nearby is very good, and great walking at Dovedale is close to hand. I would certainly recommend this property - look no further!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing