We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful evening at Ronda Guitar House”
Review of Ronda Guitar House

Ronda Guitar House
Ranked #1 of 14 Shopping in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: RONDA GUITAR HOUSE is a unique space dedicated to Spanish music and in particular the Spanish guitar. Our resident guitarist Pacoseco performs a concert each evening presenting the Spanish guitar in both classical and flamenco styles. We exhibit and sell hand-made guitars and their accompanying accessories. We offer intensive short courses, weekly and one-off classes in both classical and flamenco guitar, practical advice on technique, posture, and discipline readily available. This makes RONDA GUITAR HOUSE a unique place in not only Ronda but all of Andalucia if not Spain! We celebrate the art of Spanish music & culture.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed 16 May 2018

A trip to Ronda would not be complete for us without going to the Ronda Guitar House to hear Paco Seco play. I have lost count of how many times we have visited in all but we shall keep returning as Paco is such a talented musician and composer and we always enjoy his concerts.

Thank epr959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Gerente at Ronda Guitar House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Our house is your house!
Thank you for your lovely words! It´s always a great pleasure for us both to welcome you back!
Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Un gran beso!
Lucy & Paco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"minute concert"
in 6 reviews
"each piece"
in 8 reviews
"he plays"
in 4 reviews
"him play"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful music"
in 7 reviews
"spanish music"
in 5 reviews
"flamenco style"
in 4 reviews
"lovely evening"
in 5 reviews
"excellent local wine"
in 2 reviews
"excellent concert"
in 2 reviews
"music shop"
in 2 reviews
"monday to saturday"
in 2 reviews
"musical styles"
in 2 reviews
"informative host"
in 2 reviews
"intimate venue"
in 3 reviews
"front row"
in 2 reviews
"spanish wine"
in 2 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

This wonderful small guitar shop has opened our world! I was able to visit a short time while in Ronda & only had time to meet Paco Seco and buy some CDs. We also ordered some CDs they mailed to us after our visit. Paco Seco is an inspired master! His music is by far our favorite. The “Travels” and Jerez concert are the two CDs we have. We also enjoy the Murat Usanmaz cd. Music is healing in this stressful time! Greetings from Virginia City, Nevada. Suellen

Thank Suellen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Propietario at Ronda Guitar House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Suellen,

Thank you for your time in writing a commentary for us!
Very much looking forward to seeing you again when you and your husband return!!
We are currently changing our website and we will have all the music in our shop available
online. We know that you enjoyed the local artists, so keep tuned!

Kind regards,
Lucy & Paco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We had the chance to attend Luis Balaguer's concert last April and it really was a beautiful experience. The place itself is small but well adapted for this kind of venue (sole guitarist). The evening was really pleasant (cosy atmosphere, red wine and beautiful music). The artist was professional and spoke with the audience before each piece. We had the possibility to chat with him afterwards when having a cup of wine. What really amazed us is the fact that we booked two seats by internet the day before from Switzerland and on Friday when we arrived at the Guitar House, two seats were reserved with our names on the second row. Lucy, the co-founder, was really sympathetic when receiving us. Most of the spectators were music / flamenco lovers and the mood was excellent and respectful towards Luis Balaguer. RONDA Guitar House is really a place where you need to go when staying in Ronda (amazing experience).

Thank Philippe L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Propietario at Ronda Guitar House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Philippe,

Thank you very much for your time taken in writing an opinion of your visit here.
You´ve summed up the concerts we host here perfectly!
What a treat it was for us all to have Luis Balaguer in the house!
We hope you enjoyed your brief visit here in Ronda.

Kindest regards,
Lucy & Paco


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Spanish Guitar music can deliver a deeply emotional experience. After our Flamenco night in Grenada, we attended a short (45min) concert at the Guitar House in Ronda where the guitarist Paco Seco treated us to a combination of Classical and Flamenco-themed pieces. You begin to appreciate just how complex Spanish guitar can be. When Paco played 'O Solo Mio', a pice we all knew, our hearts were lifted by his skill and dedication. Magnificent.

Coincidentally the venue was similar in scale to the Chien Andalou in Grenada, intimate and no food, but a wine bar. Sipping on wine during the concert was very relaxing! Paco plays at least six days a week: concerts every night at 15 euros a head.

45 minutes is too brief for a performance of this quality. To save queue hassles, buy your tickets in advance at the Tourist Info centre beside the Plaza de Toros...and the venue is nearby.

Thank 1511pandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Propietario at Ronda Guitar House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Pandj,

Thank you so very much for your time in writing about your experience here with us at Ronda Guitar House!
We´re delighted you were moved by the wonderful Spanish guitar!
It is indeed emotive! and accompanied by a glass of local wine, relaxing too!
Please come back and visit us if you ever return to Ronda.

Kindest regards,
Lucy & Paco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We went to see Paco play during our brief visit to Ronda in April 2018. While he is clearly an accomplished player (and has a great stage presence), the evening was completely ruined by stupid members of the audience who insisted on partially filming and photographing the whole show throughout its entire 45 minute duration. And this is not a large concert auditorium - we are talking about 6-8 rows of seats in a very intimate setting. And we were in the back row. So every time someone lifted their phone/camera to take another picture, we were treated to yet another distracting illuminated screen hovering above us. I cannot tell you how infuriating this was. The audience were told that filming and photographing was OK, as long as no flash was used, but I can tell you this is NOT OK if you are seated towards the back. It was so diverting and annoying, I almost lost my patience at one point and said something, but somehow refrained. One guy kept holding his phone up to video short segments of each piece - WHY? What are you going to do with these? Go home and show all your friends a tiny segment of each tune? For goodness sake - just freaking listen to the darn show - LISTEN AND WATCH. You don't need to see the whole thing through your tiny little lens - it is truly ridiculous. One idiot was even going back and looking at his pictures after he took them - not even concentrating on the show. It's time to stop all this - it completely ruined our experience. If you're in the front couple of rows this may be OK, but not when you're in the back and having to tolerate what looks like rows of fireflies flashing on and off for 45 minutes. Totally unacceptable, and a sad indictment on the way people have become fixated with their pathetic egos and need to overshare. Sorry Paco, but you need to tell them to take a picture at the start, then put their phones away. Enough is enough!

1  Thank JazB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Propietario at Ronda Guitar House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Jaz,

Thank you for the time and effort taken to write this commentary about your experience here with us.
We are very sorry that the concert was ruined for you and your husband by overzealous photographers in the audience.
Afterwards, Paco mentioned to your husband that we generally don´t mind people taking photographs or videos but that is because
it has never happened before that we have had so many excited photographers under the roof at any one time before!
Unfortunately for you both, it happened the day you were here and sat at the back. We are sorry for the bad experience you had with us. To ensure that future visitors to Ronda Guitar House will not suffer the same experience, we will respond to your advice and
offer the opportunity to take photographs only for the last piece played of the programme.
Please if you ever come back to Ronda, we´d be delighted to invite you to a repeat concert with delicious wine and front row seats!
Again, thank you for your time and we have learnt from your unfortunate frustrating experience.

Kind regards,
Lucy & Paco





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ronda Guitar House also viewed

 

Been to Ronda Guitar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing