We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPANISH GUITAR PLAYED BY AN EXPERT”
Review of Ronda Guitar House

Ronda Guitar House
Ranked #1 of 14 Shopping in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: RONDA GUITAR HOUSE is a unique space dedicated to Spanish music and in particular the Spanish guitar. Our resident guitarist Pacoseco performs a concert each evening presenting the Spanish guitar in both classical and flamenco styles. We exhibit and sell hand-made guitars and their accompanying accessories. We offer intensive short courses, weekly and one-off classes in both classical and flamenco guitar, practical advice on technique, posture, and discipline readily available. This makes RONDA GUITAR HOUSE a unique place in not only Ronda but all of Andalucia if not Spain! We celebrate the art of Spanish music & culture.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Spanish Guitar music can deliver a deeply emotional experience. After our Flamenco night in Grenada, we attended a short (45min) concert at the Guitar House in Ronda where the guitarist Paco Seco treated us to a combination of Classical and Flamenco-themed pieces. You begin to appreciate just how complex Spanish guitar can be. When Paco played 'O Solo Mio', a pice we all knew, our hearts were lifted by his skill and dedication. Magnificent.

Coincidentally the venue was similar in scale to the Chien Andalou in Grenada, intimate and no food, but a wine bar. Sipping on wine during the concert was very relaxing! Paco plays at least six days a week: concerts every night at 15 euros a head.

45 minutes is too brief for a performance of this quality. To save queue hassles, buy your tickets in advance at the Tourist Info centre beside the Plaza de Toros...and the venue is nearby.

Thank 1511pandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Propietario at Ronda Guitar House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Pandj,

Thank you so very much for your time in writing about your experience here with us at Ronda Guitar House!
We´re delighted you were moved by the wonderful Spanish guitar!
It is indeed emotive! and accompanied by a glass of local wine, relaxing too!
Please come back and visit us if you ever return to Ronda.

Kindest regards,
Lucy & Paco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"minute concert"
in 6 reviews
"each piece"
in 8 reviews
"he plays"
in 4 reviews
"him play"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful music"
in 7 reviews
"spanish music"
in 5 reviews
"flamenco style"
in 4 reviews
"lovely evening"
in 5 reviews
"excellent local wine"
in 2 reviews
"excellent concert"
in 2 reviews
"music shop"
in 2 reviews
"monday to saturday"
in 2 reviews
"musical styles"
in 2 reviews
"informative host"
in 2 reviews
"intimate venue"
in 3 reviews
"front row"
in 2 reviews
"spanish wine"
in 2 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

We went to see Paco play during our brief visit to Ronda in April 2018. While he is clearly an accomplished player (and has a great stage presence), the evening was completely ruined by stupid members of the audience who insisted on partially filming and photographing the whole show throughout its entire 45 minute duration. And this is not a large concert auditorium - we are talking about 6-8 rows of seats in a very intimate setting. And we were in the back row. So every time someone lifted their phone/camera to take another picture, we were treated to yet another distracting illuminated screen hovering above us. I cannot tell you how infuriating this was. The audience were told that filming and photographing was OK, as long as no flash was used, but I can tell you this is NOT OK if you are seated towards the back. It was so diverting and annoying, I almost lost my patience at one point and said something, but somehow refrained. One guy kept holding his phone up to video short segments of each piece - WHY? What are you going to do with these? Go home and show all your friends a tiny segment of each tune? For goodness sake - just freaking listen to the darn show - LISTEN AND WATCH. You don't need to see the whole thing through your tiny little lens - it is truly ridiculous. One idiot was even going back and looking at his pictures after he took them - not even concentrating on the show. It's time to stop all this - it completely ruined our experience. If you're in the front couple of rows this may be OK, but not when you're in the back and having to tolerate what looks like rows of fireflies flashing on and off for 45 minutes. Totally unacceptable, and a sad indictment on the way people have become fixated with their pathetic egos and need to overshare. Sorry Paco, but you need to tell them to take a picture at the start, then put their phones away. Enough is enough!

1  Thank JazB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Propietario at Ronda Guitar House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Jaz,

Thank you for the time and effort taken to write this commentary about your experience here with us.
We are very sorry that the concert was ruined for you and your husband by overzealous photographers in the audience.
Afterwards, Paco mentioned to your husband that we generally don´t mind people taking photographs or videos but that is because
it has never happened before that we have had so many excited photographers under the roof at any one time before!
Unfortunately for you both, it happened the day you were here and sat at the back. We are sorry for the bad experience you had with us. To ensure that future visitors to Ronda Guitar House will not suffer the same experience, we will respond to your advice and
offer the opportunity to take photographs only for the last piece played of the programme.
Please if you ever come back to Ronda, we´d be delighted to invite you to a repeat concert with delicious wine and front row seats!
Again, thank you for your time and we have learnt from your unfortunate frustrating experience.

Kind regards,
Lucy & Paco





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

One of the highlights of my 6 nights in Ronda - so sorry we did not find the venue earlier in the week or we would have returned for another delightful evening. Since dinner in Ronda does not usually start until 8, the 7 PM performance with a glass of wine is a perfect start to your dining experience.

1  Thank ellen418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Propietario at Ronda Guitar House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Ellen,

Thank you so very much for your time in writing a commentary on TripAdvisor for us.
We are thrilled that your visit with us was one of the highlights of your stay in Ronda!
plus that you enjoyed the music with a glass of local Ronda wine.
It´s a very agreeable combination!!
We´ve found it creates a lovely glow on peoples faces and you
can see it as they leave!

Please come back and visit us if you ever return to Ronda!
Kind regards,
Lucy & Paco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

We visit ronda guitarhouse in april 2018 and enjoyed the amazing play with the hand
of Paco Seco with his personale style and carma. If you are visiting Ronda it is a must
to visit the concert with Paco Seco - and congratulate him with his new guitar produced in France White - super Sound.

Jørgen og Bente - Denmark

Thank Jørgen lund P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Propietario at Ronda Guitar House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Jorgen & Bente,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a commentary about us!
We´re delighted you felt relaxed and enjoyed the Romantic guitar in particular!
It´s true! She does have a beautiful sound and Paco knows how to make her sing!!!
We hope you had a wonderful trip here in Andalucía.

Kindest regards,
Lucy & Paco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed an evening concert of Spanish guitar music at the Ronda Guitar House. The 7 pm event featured Paco Seco, who performed several classic selections as well as a few of his own compositions. This was a perfect addition to our trip to Spain, and is highly recommended.

Thank Gyrfalcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Propietario at Ronda Guitar House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you so very much for your valuable time in writing an opinion on your experience here with us at Ronda Guitar House.
We´re delighted you enjoyed a cultural and very Spanish touch to your trip to Spain!!
May you return again soon!

Kindest regards,
Lucy & Paco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ronda Guitar House also viewed

 

Been to Ronda Guitar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing