We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful little gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa do Brasao

Plunge pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plunge pool
Side View Side View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Plunge pool
Side View
Side View
View
View
Side View
Pool
Pool
Plunge pool
Stone table
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living room
Living room
Living room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Mezzanine bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Barretos, Portalegre District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Le-Cabano...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful little gem ”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had about 10 days in June and we had a lovely time. The village is beautiful and full of character. The house has been made with good taste. Great kitchen and great bathroom. The outside is lovely. We were only the two of us but we felt that we couldn't come back with friends really as there is no doors to the rooms(just a thick curtains) and only two lounge chairs by the pool. So I don't know what we would have done if we were more adults. But it would fit very well with a family. We had beautiful walks just on the door step and we saw birds that we never saw before. It's just full of life and it's so nice to see! Villages around are stunning and the people are very friendly. It's a beautiful part of Portugal. If you are looking for a peaceful and romantic get away, this is the place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesfran...
Korora, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
“Perfect location for exploring the Alentejo”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a fabulous week at Casa do Brasao. The home is well equiped, comfortable and stylishly decorated. It is located in a small village halfway between Marvaó and Castelo de Vide which are both beautiful towns to visit and explore. Both towns are just a short 10 minute drive.
It was also a comfortable drive to Évora (approximately 100 minutes) for a day trip. The village of Berretos (where the home is located) is very quiet and peaceful. We could have easily stayed at Casa do Brasao for two weeks. The cafes and restaurants in Marvaó and Castelo de Vide are excellent. We highly recommend the chocolate shop, Dom Pedro V and Confraria. All here are located in Castelo de Vide.
We did not get to meet Luis (as we were out each time he visited) but he was in constant contact and left clear instructions for our arrival. Casa do Brasao was excellent value and we would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the Alentejo
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very satisfied with your opinion about our Casa do Brasão.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaBorri...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent customer service and communication”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The owners communicated well with us regarding changes in our arrangements and were genuine and acted with great integrity to accommodate our circumstances. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boggerdon
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Character house in a peaceful village.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Near the fabulous hill top village of Marvao, near the Spanish border, this house is on the outskirts of the quaint village of Barretos.
The house is full of character and and quirky items of furniture with a Moorish theme.
I get the impression that the love and care originally put into the renovation of the casa has diminished over time. We felt we were staying in a nice house but without the attention to detail we have become used to.
There is a very steep stairs leading up to the mezzanine bedroom which would be unsuitable for many people.
The kitchen was stylish if slightly tired . The bathroom, likewise.
The lack of air conditioning was badly felt when temperatures soared in the last few days.
The garden is small and mostly of solid rock with a nice stone table overlooking olive groves.
The small plunge pool was in need of maintenance and so not very inviting. A broken recliner lay on the ground.
Overall, a little TLC and the addition of a dishwasher would make this a great holiday let.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, your opinion is an opportunity to improve and understand the needs of our guests in order to provide them a memorable stay.
We assure you that the love and care put into the renovation of the house has not decreased and every day we focus our efforts so that Casa do Brasão not only keeps its charm, but that charm is transmitted to our guests through small details.
The stairs are as they are, because it's the only way to not cover the door of the room and the door of the bathroom, but they have a handrail that allows a safe use.
Regarding the garden, the granitic rocks and the cork tree are here purposely to keep the typical characteristics of our region.
We have a maintenance technician responsible for the pool and it is the first negative review that we received about that, we will find out immediately what happened.
Again, we sincerely appreciate your feedback and we will work to improve all aspects.

Kind Regards,
Mónica Luz
Casa do Brasão - Marvão
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhr5
ithaca new york
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely, quiet gem”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A beautiful, quiet gem of a cottage. Comfortable and well-equipped. We spent lovely mornings out on the stone table enjoying breakfast overlooking an olive grove, hearing the sheep bells and enjoying the lovely views. Located in a small, sleepy village with very good day trips in every direction. We will definitely return!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing