We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Team Building Lunch”

Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Oneroa
Price range: $22 - $87
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cable Bay Vineyards offers the complete vineyard experience – a cellar door for tasting our award-winning wine while looking out over our winery, innovative cuisine in both our restaurants; The Dining Room and, The Verandah and expansive lawns with breath-taking sea views towards Auckland city. Our organic kitchen gardens, orchards, groves and beehives supply olive oil, honey, fresh herbs, fruit, vegetables and edible flowers to our chefs who create culinary masterpieces to match our range of expressive wines. Cable Bay is a must-see during your visit to Waiheke Island.
Reviewed 16 July 2021 via mobile

Many people in our office rave about Cable Bay restaurant and one person in the office got married at the vineyard. My team and I planned a casual lunch at 11:30 am at Cable Bay with the intention to catch the 2 pm ferry back to the city. We arrived on time for our reservation and were promptly seated. Drink orders were taken and served quickly. The restaurant is absolutely beautiful and the views are breathtaking. We stepped outside for pictures and to enjoy the views while waiting for our food. The cheese board and charcuterie plate came out quickly and were nicely presented. The cheese board had very small pieces of cheese which made it hard to share with a bigger group. You would need 2-3 boards for 6-8 people.
Now this is where the experience took a turn…
We waited 90 mins for our mains and when they finally arrived we had to rush to eat them to make our ferry which dampened the mood and was a disappointment. The wait staff only checked once if we wanted more drinks and was not very attentive.
When we paid the bill, we did receive an apology for the food wait time which was explained as issues in the kitchen. Would have been nice to have someone come out and address our group about the delay before we were rushing to leave.
The food was delicious and presented beautifully.
I would chalk this up to a bad day for them and would consider going back and trying again.
Beautiful location. Enjoy!

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank gamingtildawn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 83 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2021 via mobile

Amazing team. Beautiful views, and beautiful artwork. We did a tasting, and then stayed for a few wines and cocktails. The staff were great (especially Zoe!), fast friendly service and very knowledgeable.The wine was delicious, and the atmosphere was perfect. A very busy place on a Saturday afternoon , but for good reason. Despite how many customers there were, the service was still brilliant.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dale B, Public Relations Manager at Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2021

Hello
Thank you for visiting Cable Bay Vineyards and for the glowing review! Situated closest to the ferry we are the first stop for many visiting Waiheke Island. Appreciate you stopping by and hope you will join us in the future as we have some exciting changes here at the vineyard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2021 via mobile

Staff not 100 percent on the ball the restaurant not busy on Sunday so you would think they would look after the customers they had asked for a bottle of wine waited 30 minutes for it and then no sorry or any thing from the guy behind the bar and then after our platter had to ask for dessert not good with only about 15 people in restaurant. Please look after kiwis we do spend money

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Tamvek350ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dale B, Public Relations Manager at Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Hello
Thank you for visiting Cable Bay Vineyards. Our team strives for excellence so it always disheartening to learn about your experience.

The global pandemic has impacted the tourism and hospitality industry, as a result, there is a shortage of experienced hospitality staff based here on Waiheke Island. Cable Bay and a number of local businesses are working together to attract more talent to the island.

Please let us know when you will be on the island again, we'd love to host you again here at Cable Bay Vineyards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

Was treated to some well cooked, tasty food accompanied with good service and wonderful wine from their own cellar.
One drawback was that the menu appeared to be a bit confusing and could have been laid out better but apart from that it's well worth a visit

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank PeterB11369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dale B, Public Relations Manager at Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Hello
Thank you for visiting Cable Bay Vineyards. Delighted you enjoyed your experience, we are updating our menu and have passed on your feedback to our restaurant manager.

Please let us know when you will be on the island again, we'd love to host you again here at Cable Bay Vineyards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2021

Tasting room overlooks the winery,
Feels like cable bay wants you to be here
ALL the wine s tasted were GREAT WINES 1
Unfortunately out of my $30 budget

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank ric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dale B, Public Relations Manager at Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Hello
Thank you for visiting Cable Bay Vineyards. It is unique to have a working winery visible to patrons visiting a cellar door and feel very fortunate to share this experience.

Visit us online at cablebay.co.nz to view a selection of wines from $23-$25

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant also viewed

 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.