We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Review Highlights
Great display and walk

I have done this other years and was happy this was running again this year. Fantastic display of... read more

Reviewed 28 April 2022
larissakal
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Special place to visit

Such an awesome setting for so many great works of art. So lucky this could go ahead in Covid... read more

Reviewed 8 March 2022
Gay G
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 75 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Waiheke Island
from $202.38
More Info
from $90.70
More Info
from $139.00
More Info
from $271.75
More Info
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
27
31
10
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
27
31
10
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great walk sculptures auckland ferry waiheke
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2022

Such an awesome setting for so many great works of art. So lucky this could go ahead in Covid environment. Well organised. Great helpful volunteers.

Date of experience: March 2022
Thank Gay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2019

Never miss this wonderful world-class event and 2019 did not disappoint. Terrific site- specific works, especially by master sculptors at the top of their game producing consistently thoughtful, brilliantly executed works.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2019

We thought the selection of sculptures was greatly improved this year with a return to sculptures that look like sculptures, It's a glorious walk at any time anyway. The organisers had added an additional area in the courtyard by the library in Oneroa which we thought was a bit of a waste of time as there was no facility to make the $10 "donation" and get the armband there and little information about the sculptures displayed, Other than that, a big improvement in quality. Highly recommended for the active - there are quite a lot of steps.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank SandLexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2019

I have visited this art trail few times previously and it was always a great experience, amazing artwork on display, some with captivating interacting features or playing with the surrounding light and land in very clever and amazing ways. Sadly in 2019 it looks like the new standard is rubbish bags on a string high up in the wind.

Glass, stainless, rusted steel pieces or encrusted woodworking with extensive hours of labour behind them appear to be long gone. Vast majority of the pieces this year appear to be put together over a weekend (at the most). Very few pieces would be accepted as art which most people would agree to display on the front lawn.

Maybe the organizers should have a board appointed to select the art to be displayed, rather than just opening the field to whoever arrives there first to claim their plot, which appears to be the case for the 2019 edition. If they have a board appointed for this purpose, then those people did not do their job.

Instead of larger number of small shuttles which I recall to be used the previous years now there is one large bus only, we have waited approx 30 min for the bus to come back. Not sure everybody in the cue got on the bus...

Hopefully the 2019 edition will not set a trend or become a new norm. Definitely planning to get there next time but I will be reading the reviews with interest, before getting on the ferry... I gave it two stars and not one, as the island has so much more to offer apart from the art trail.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank AKL-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2019

Previous experiences were fabulous but sadly not this time. So many pieces didnt even appear to be sculptures at all. More like bits of existing things put together rather than an artistic creation of form. The majority we looked at and thought 'why' ? ie why did somebody choose this for this exhibition and often... why is it deemed a sculpture? Quite a number were more like installations than sculptures ( & not great ones) which was not what we expected or wanted to see.
The Liberace piece is a standout and we generally agreed about 6 - 7 pieces were very good. We'd heard last year's exhibition had been disappointing but surely it cant have been worse than this years? Art is of course subjective but I have to ask 'When is a Sculpture not a Sculpture?' Answer: Check out Gibbs Farm Sculpture Park to see what real SCULPTURES are ! On the positive, the walk is fabulous with great views.
Please next year can we have sculptures??

Date of experience: March 2019
3  Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews