We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Oyster Inn

The Oyster Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Oneroa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We’re an award-winning beachside bistro with three gorgeous guest rooms. Situated on stunning Waiheke Island, The Inn’s perfectly located in the heart of Oneroa village, with gorgeous views across the bay. Whether you are settling in for a weekend lunch with friends, a night away, or simply a crisp glass of wine at the bar, we have just the spot for you. Since opening we've become a Waiheke institution, much-loved by the resident locals, our regular Auckland visitors and those visiting from further afield. Just a 35 minute ferry ride from downtown Auckland, there’s no traffic jams getting here. Book a table on our sunny verandah and happily sip away as you watch the world, and a few dolphins, go by. Open 12 noon until late...
Reviewed 24 March 2023

The place is nice but the food quality is just average and extremely overpriced.
Oysters were not tasty and the fish was over cooked , moreover the service was extremely disappointing . They should take better care of their customers
I wont come back

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank avecespeces
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2023 via mobile

While our dining experience was good, it was a little disappointing compared to our last visit.

We should have ordered the local oysters instead of the smaller, more expensive option.

The fresh snapper with mussels, seaweed butter, leek & cabbage was excellent.

However, the fish & chips was oily which detracted from the fish. The portion was large enough to share or only ordering one entree should be considered.

The staff were pleasant and efficient. The music should be at lower volume so table conversation is not competing.

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank AnonReviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2023

A quite excellent fish and chips washed down with an equally excellent Man O' War Pinot Gris. Simple indulgence at its best.
Highly Recommended

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2023 via mobile

A wonderful meal at the Oyster Inn. Fantastic food and fantastic service. We had an octopus crumpet which was amazing ..a real surprise. Pam fried market fish and fish and chips similarly fantastic

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank R482MSdebbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2023

The service was amazing, particularly Kate and the food was simply delicious. We had The Tower and highly recommend it

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarndra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Oyster Inn also viewed

 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to The Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.