We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, luxurious, close to ferry”
Review of Matiatia Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Matiatia Bay
Ranked #5 of 6 Oneroa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Great location, close to ferry and vineyards. Warm, cosy with a hot tub bath, complimentary snacks, drinks and continental breakfast. Lovely view of the ocean and city skyline. Free use of two cars. Definitely visit again!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Camilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Just a 35 minute ferry ride ($36 return) from downtown Auckland will see you pulling into the Wharf in this beautiful bay, from here you can do costal walks "Te Ara Hura", jump onto the Hop on Hop off bus ($25) to see the island and the wineries or get a daily bus pass ($10) and explore your way.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GaryandLesleyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We stayed for 5 nights in one of two studio suites . The homestead has the main house on the hill and two studio suites located on the lower driveway which offers total privacy for both guests and owner . The view sets the whole ambience to this place and the studio suite which we occupied " the pohutukawa" is large and comfortable with laid back decor .
There's a tiny kitchenette which includes a set of basic cutlery,crockery , toaster & kettle and a small sink . The fridge and pantry was well stocked which is ample for a light continental breakfast all the mornings we were there which works well for us . However should a hot breakfast is needed then you would need to walk a good 20 minutes to oneroa village . Be forewarned that if you're walking the track up and down , the hill is pretty steep and on gravelled ground .
Having the use of the car was a huge plus during our stay and thank you Gary for the very kind offer it made a huge difference !
Service was unobtrusive we had our rooms clean when we needed and our laundry was done with no extra charges that too was an added bonus.
Overall it was the perfect stay for both of us and after 5 nights we can truly say we felt totally at home .

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lizzie399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Waiheke Island is paradise a short ferry ride from Auckland and the Kowhai Suite at Matiatia offered us the perfect escape balancing convenience to the ferry and town with stunning views and privacy nestled in a Garden of Eden minus the serpent. Think Martha's Vineyard meets Napa Valley with beautiful beaches, wineries, a vibrant art scene and some excellent restaurants. Vacations can be stressful in their own way and the suite was a welcome respite from busy hotels where we could relax. The a/c king bedroom was spacious with tropical furnishings and comfortable sitting areas inside and out. The bathroom had both a bathtub and separate stall rain shower. I was grateful for the chilled bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived and the most spectacular view of the bay from the bathtub. Total bliss! The wine was so good that we tracked down the winery the next day and spent a lovely afternoon. We had a relaxed start to our mornings with continental breakfast "fixings" stocked in our refrigerator and a list of restaurants guided us to one of our favorite dinners in New Zealand. The only blip was quickly resolved after we realized we left behind a critical item (trust me you can't be in New Zealand without a hat) and property manager Gary graciously handled it so when we came back through Auckland two days later, the hat was waiting at our hotel. Waiheke was a grand escape and the Kowhai Suite was a big part of that and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmi325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My husband and I decided to stay at Matiatia Bay on Waiheke for our 40th wedding anniversary. We could not have imagined such a place existed on Waiheke. The suite was gorgeous, private and well appointed. We are still in awe of the view across the bay to Auckland city in the background.

It was nice that after we arrived early in the morning, we were able to relax in the main residence lounge and garden. Similarly, when we left we had a late afternoon flight and enjoyed the main residence private garden with complimentary beverages.

The staff were inconspicuous but immediately available when we needed help with a dinner booking. The location was fantastic, just above the ferry terminal and just a short walk to the Oneroa village.

We wanted a quiet, private get way with a touch of luxury and we certainly found that. Could not ask for more. We will be back again for our next anniversary.

Room Tip: We walked from the ferry which is 400m, but if you have bags there are taxies that will take you the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria_Dunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneroa
6.4 km away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waiheke Island
105 reviews
5.1 km away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#4 of 5 in Waiheke Island
93 reviews
4.2 km away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 29 in Waiheke Island
234 reviews
12.1 km away
Kahu I Rangi
Kahu I Rangi
#3 of 29 in Waiheke Island
44 reviews
2.6 km away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#8 of 29 in Waiheke Island
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matiatia Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matiatia Bay

Address: 7 Ocean View Road, Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island > Oneroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oneroa
Price Range: $462 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Matiatia Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing