We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Oyster Inn(Oneroa)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cable Bay Views(Oneroa)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Aquasands Studio Apartments(Oneroa)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel(Oneroa)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Enclosure Bay(Oneroa)(Great Value!)
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorings(Oneroa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
18
3
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
3
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskowhai suiteauckland citythe main housecontinental breakfastyogurtstayed for nightsoneroa villagestunning viewswaiheke islandnew zealandgarybackgroundblissdrivewayloungefurnishingsbed
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Just a 35 minute ferry ride ($36 return) from downtown Auckland will see you pulling into the Wharf in this beautiful bay, from here you can do costal walks "Te Ara Hura", jump onto the Hop on Hop off bus ($25) to see the island and the wineries or get a daily bus pass ($10) and explore your way.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GaryandLesleyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We stayed for 5 nights in one of two studio suites . The homestead has the main house on the hill and two studio suites located on the lower driveway which offers total privacy for both guests and owner . The view sets the whole ambience to this place and the studio suite which we occupied " the pohutukawa" is large and comfortable with laid back decor .
There's a tiny kitchenette which includes a set of basic cutlery,crockery , toaster & kettle and a small sink . The fridge and pantry was well stocked which is ample for a light continental breakfast all the mornings we were there which works well for us . However should a hot breakfast is needed then you would need to walk a good 20 minutes to oneroa village . Be forewarned that if you're walking the track up and down , the hill is pretty steep and on gravelled ground .
Having the use of the car was a huge plus during our stay and thank you Gary for the very kind offer it made a huge difference !
Service was unobtrusive we had our rooms clean when we needed and our laundry was done with no extra charges that too was an added bonus.
Overall it was the perfect stay for both of us and after 5 nights we can truly say we felt totally at home .

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lizzie399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Waiheke Island is paradise a short ferry ride from Auckland and the Kowhai Suite at Matiatia offered us the perfect escape balancing convenience to the ferry and town with stunning views and privacy nestled in a Garden of Eden minus the serpent. Think Martha's Vineyard meets Napa Valley with beautiful beaches, wineries, a vibrant art scene and some excellent restaurants. Vacations can be stressful in their own way and the suite was a welcome respite from busy hotels where we could relax. The a/c king bedroom was spacious with tropical furnishings and comfortable sitting areas inside and out. The bathroom had both a bathtub and separate stall rain shower. I was grateful for the chilled bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived and the most spectacular view of the bay from the bathtub. Total bliss! The wine was so good that we tracked down the winery the next day and spent a lovely afternoon. We had a relaxed start to our mornings with continental breakfast "fixings" stocked in our refrigerator and a list of restaurants guided us to one of our favorite dinners in New Zealand. The only blip was quickly resolved after we realized we left behind a critical item (trust me you can't be in New Zealand without a hat) and property manager Gary graciously handled it so when we came back through Auckland two days later, the hat was waiting at our hotel. Waiheke was a grand escape and the Kowhai Suite was a big part of that and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmi325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My husband and I decided to stay at Matiatia Bay on Waiheke for our 40th wedding anniversary. We could not have imagined such a place existed on Waiheke. The suite was gorgeous, private and well appointed. We are still in awe of the view across the bay to Auckland city in the background.

It was nice that after we arrived early in the morning, we were able to relax in the main residence lounge and garden. Similarly, when we left we had a late afternoon flight and enjoyed the main residence private garden with complimentary beverages.

The staff were inconspicuous but immediately available when we needed help with a dinner booking. The location was fantastic, just above the ferry terminal and just a short walk to the Oneroa village.

We wanted a quiet, private get way with a touch of luxury and we certainly found that. Could not ask for more. We will be back again for our next anniversary.

Room Tip: We walked from the ferry which is 400m, but if you have bags there are taxies that will take you the short distance.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria_Dunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

The view alone is probably worth about $200 per night. The room and furnishings are average to good, but well below the standard expected for the price. There was no sign of human habitation on site. The main house seemed to be abandoned. We were so disappointed that we did not even stay for the prepaid second night, and returned home to Auckland to our more comfortable bed and a decent breakfast. For nearly NZD 500 per night we expected a very high standard, including the breakfast. Instead we got the worst breafast we have ever had in our lives - no fresh juice, no fruit, no yoghurt, no proper coffee and not even any bread to put in the toaster! Unbelievable. Waiheke island is rapidly gaining a reputation as the rip-off capital of New Zealand and this place has just made a significant contribution to that. As a final comment - we suspect that at least some of the favourable reviews are not genuine - beware.

Room Tip: Do not expect any human interaction - there isn't any.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank letgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews