We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and good views”
Review of Aperitivo Wine Bar

Aperitivo Wine Bar
Ranked #9 of 11 Restaurants in Oneroa
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Description: Relaxed and contemporary Wine Bar in Central Oneroa, Waiheke Island with the best views available over the Bay and out to sea. The Focus is on Old World and New World Wines, with a selection of Waiheke's finest. Osteria-style dining includes an array of seasonal rustic italian style tapas and sharing plates, flatbreads, fresh salads & decadent desserts. Live music often, but jazzy relaxed vibes is always at the order of the day. Buona Salute!
Restaurant details
Description: Relaxed and contemporary Wine Bar in Central Oneroa, Waiheke Island with the best views available over the Bay and out to sea. The Focus is on Old World and New World Wines, with a selection of Waiheke's finest. Osteria-style dining includes an array of seasonal rustic italian style tapas and sharing plates, flatbreads, fresh salads & decadent desserts. Live music often, but jazzy relaxed vibes is always at the order of the day. Buona Salute!
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Small venue. Lovely views. Good pizza. Limited (expensive) wine menu. We popped in for a quick lunch. It was pricey for what it was (simple pizzas with good ingredients). Nice ambience though. Good place to hang out for a few drinks - seem to have live music at times.

Thank Kinuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 April 2017

Hi Thanks for taking the time to write.
We're no more expensive than the Oyster Inn or Fenice (across the road), but arguably, we have better views...We try and have live music whenever we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Good food. Good service. We had a wine in the sunshine with the cheese platter.
The jazz entertainment arrived. Great atmosphere.

Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 April 2017

Thanks for your review. We do try and the view helps :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

While on holiday, my wife and I decided to pop in to this venue for a glass of wine and to relax in the very pleasant view over the water. We purchased a bottle of wine and some sparkling water. The female server (mid-fifties with fair hair) took my wife's credit card and completed a transaction. She then stated that she had to cancel this, and went through the procedure once more, providing us with a receipt. On returning home from holiday, we discovered two transactions had occurred. Was this an error or something more sinister? Be careful!

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank PaulEmpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 April 2017

Hi Paul
I'm sorry to hear this happened - we have a new wireless POS system and had dropouts occur in the initial stages and not all staff were trained in resolving these, so if this did occur as you say, it would make more sense to contact us (website or Facebook) wouldn't it, rather than to attack our integrity in this forum?
If you can provide me with details of the transaction (you say that you have a receipt) AND a copy of your bank statement showing the doubled up transaction, I will reimburse you immediately. Our email address is info@aperitivo.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely spot to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. The lovely barman had an excellent knowledge of wines and the view out over the bay is one of the best in Oneroa. My girlfriend and I would definitely return here, but only for the wine. Unfortunately we had a couple of problems with the cheese board. Firstly there was hardly any cheese on it! It was more of breadboard and for the price we were paying it seemed pretty meagre. Secondly we discovered some hair on the board which wasn't pleasant. We decided we had to send it back and our reasonable complaint seemed to further irritate the lady in charge. Loved the island though!

Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 April 2017

Andrew thanks for taking the time to write. I recall you coming in to the bar with your partner. And I recall your complaint about the cheeseboard. We check and double check The food that goes out and there was no such hair in it, but there was when you made the complaint. We think you just decided you didnt want it and used that old chestnut of placing a hair in it and sending it back. As the owner, I back my team in the kitchen to the max. Your complaint here is an insult to their professionalism. I wonder whether you may in fact be a seriel complainer and a bit of a wag. What you've failed to mention here, is that we didn't charge you for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We popped over to waiheke for a visit for an afternoon. Many of the wineries were busy with private functions, so we tried our luck at the bars that adorn Oneroa.
Aperitivo has a lovely view of the beach and out towards the coromandel the bar man was very friendly and knowledgeable on the local wines. We enjoyed a Chardonnay from Man o'war and a rosé from Passage rock, accompanied by the cheese platter. Very enjoyable.
We were entertained by trying to guess the ingredients in the complimentary water... if we told you, it'd spoil the surprise

Thank surfsup99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 April 2017

A lovely review. My staff are great and they'll appreciate your comments very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aperitivo Wine Bar also viewed

Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Aperitivo Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing