We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Vince

Hidden Gem on the Westcoast

Review of Mahitahi Studio
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jul 2021
This is the place to go for that wonderful get away holiday, amazing location and excellent accommodation , but the real bonus here is your hosts Wendy and Duncan, they are warm, welcoming, friendly and so knowledgeable about the areas history and activities. Thanks for a memorable stay. Vince , Kris and Phoebe.
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $120
36.3 km from Mahitahi Studio
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$110
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
36.7 km from Mahitahi Studio
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $100
  • Expedia.com
    $119
37.2 km from Mahitahi Studio
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$74
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
37.3 km from Mahitahi Studio
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$210
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $210
37.6 km from Mahitahi Studio
Free Wifi
Free parking
reception area
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $83
  • Priceline
37.7 km from Mahitahi Studio
Free Wifi
Free parking
Motel Frontage
Tripadvisor
$102
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
37.8 km from Mahitahi Studio
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Priceline
37.9 km from Mahitahi Studio
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $113
  • Expedia.com
    $115
37.9 km from Mahitahi Studio
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$110
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
38.0 km from Mahitahi Studio
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mahitahi
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
126
16
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
126
16
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2020 via mobile

Having missed the turn into the lodge after driving past Bruce Bay we realised the error of our ways and made a U-Turn back to the lodge where we received a very warm welcome on what was a windy and rainy day.

The lodge is very spacious and having booked the standard suite we had a big part of the ground floor to ourselves. The room itself was spacious and had a separate shower room next to the bedroom. On from that was a spacious kitchen area equipped with everything you’d need to have a meal in, as well as tea and coffee. This led out to a lovely garden area but we weren’t able to utilise this due to the weather. The room would be perfect for a family with children or just someone looking for some extra space.

Our hosts, Jacqui and John, were fantastic. Extremely friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and sociable! We thoroughly enjoyed a tour of the grounds by John leading to a stream with eels - well worth seeing. Due to the remoteness of the lodge, we opted for an evening meal at the lodge. This was a social affair with the other guests staying at the lodge, starting off with canapés by a lit fire. The food was delicious as was breakfast.

All in all this was a great one night stop en route to Queenstown. Despite the remoteness you could certainly spend at least a couple of days and enjoy the wild natural beauty of the area and the lodge itself. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank PhillipP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Mahitahi for 2 nights with amazing hosts John and Jacqui. As well as supremely comfortable surroundings and top notch food and wine, both of our hosts went beyond the extra mile in being informative about local history and Maori tradition as well as making great recommendations about sights and things to do. As a result, the 48 hours we spent in this beautiful part of the world was filled to the brim with awesome adventures.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HowardN130
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2020 via mobile

Can’t praise Jacqui and Mahitahi Lodge enough. Friendly hospitality from the moment we arrived, lovely clean and warm room, great dinner and breakfast, great company, great scenery. Sorry we missed John but Alan was great company too. Enjoy this if you can.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank L7510TErichardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacqui Low, Owner at Mahitahi Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2020

Thank you both for the wonderful review. It was lovely having you stay with us and you were great company. John was so disappointed to have not met you but unfortunately he had prior committments. I hope the rest of your trip went well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2020

We arrive at Mahitahi Lodge on a cool, wet autumn day after a lovely drive on the spectacular Haast Highway. We were warmly welcomed by Jacqui and John. We were given a tour of their beautiful home built by John and invited for appetizers and drinks in their great room with a lovely roaring fire. In the morning, we were delighted to be served with a delicious breakfast which included an omelet, bacon, oatmeal and various fruits. Jacqui went out of her way to accommodate my gluten free dietary requirements.

After breakfast John took us on a tour of Bruce Bay. During the tour John spoke about the history of the area including that of the indigenous people and pointed out some of the ancient Kauri trees.

Jacqui and John were wonderful hosts and made our stay with them very memorable.

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kennisis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacqui Low, Owner at Mahitahi Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2020

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us once everyone were allowed to travel. We hope you were able to get back to Canada as planned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020

Everything about the lodge was perfect. It is a beautiful home in a beautiful setting. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well decorated. The food is amazing. We felt so welcome and at home. John and Jacque were warm and interesting hosts.

Date of stay: February 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jillrenee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacqui Low, Owner at Mahitahi Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2020

Hello Jill

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We enjoyed having you all here that night and it was lovely to host you all. It is so pleasing to hear that you found our special place to be so welcoming to you all and that you enjoyed the food we prepared for you. We hope the rest of your travels went well

Warmest regards from Jacqui and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews