We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and best”
Review of Awatuna Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Awatuna Homestead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Awatuna
Reviewed 26 August 2017

This is the first time i have stayed in a homestay and was much hesitant, My travel agent Mr Nats from take me 2 the world had arranged this stay.

I could say the way Lynley and paul took care of us, we felt it to be our extended family.

Right from hospitality , food , linens , spending time and also gave values to our children.

They also arranged to view india vs pak cricket.

The first and the best host and god bless their family

Manish thakkar

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017

We loved staying at the West Coast Homestead in Awatuna. The original homestead apparently burned down and this lovely new, rustic and cozy home recreated with some adaptation for today’s expectations. My husband and I were travelling with our two grandsons and enjoyed our own rooms with big shared bathroom upstairs. It was chilly outside, but our rooms were comfy with extra blankets and tea and cookies at hand, and possibly the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in. Linley and Paul were welcoming hosts and gave us valuable tips for our continued travel down the west coast. Breakfast was a huge spread of choices including freshly baked goods. We recommend the Homestead highly.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana-Immo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwatunaHomestead, Owner at Awatuna Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of the South Island as much and would love to know whether you all went on the Luge at Queenstown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We arrived on a rainy afternoon and Paul and Linley welcomed us to their beautiful place which is about 2 hours from Franz Josef Glacier. The great room was beautiful and it was a great place for the four of us to relax, have some refreshments and snacks.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 256anthonys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the self contained apartment on the second floor and were more than happy. The apartment is neatly furnished and equipped with a kitchen. We especially enjoyed the terrace which is attached. We were arriving a bit late for dinner but hadn't eaten and decided to call before we reached, Linley was very helpful in advising us where we could dine and making us a reservation. Overall a good stay and would recommend staying here (for Hokitika) especially if you're coming from quite a distance like we were.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kovit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Piper's Flat Apartment at Awatuna Homestead.
We loved it from the first second, as we were really welcomed by the whole family, when we arrived. What a lovely family, house and surrounding. The garden is absolutely amazing!
The apartment was like being at home, it was very clean, comfortable and you had everything you need.
And last but not least let's talk about the breakfast...it was amazing and even as it was just the two of us, Linley really made us different breads, pies etc. We really appreciated all these things and we hope we will come back one day. Thank you!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathrin_Sven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awatuna
12.5 km away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
565 reviews
12.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
21.8 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
12.4 km away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
12.2 km away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awatuna Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatuna Homestead

Address: Awatuna, RD 2, Hokitika 9 Stafford Road RD 2, Awatuna, Hokitika 7882, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika > Awatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Awatuna
Price Range: $246 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Awatuna Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful colonial-style family homestead since 1874 (rebuilt 1998 after fire destroyed original homestead), situated between Hokitika & Greymouth, by the sea. Elegant, boutique lodging, set in park-like gardens. Superior ensuite rooms & 1 self-contained Apartment. Separate guest lounge, Wi-Fi. Eco-conscious professional hosts. Organic produce grown for Homestead table. Guided beach walks. Two friendly dogs, vintage cars. Dinner by prior arrangement. 10 mins to Hokitika and lakes, shops and craftspeople. Glaciers/Punakaiki Rocks within 2 hours from the Homestead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Awatuna Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awatuna Homestead Hokitika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing