We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
10
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite baitpaultjsleepoceanhostswesthokitika
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Paul & TJ welcomed us at the door when we arrived and were great hosts throughout our stay. The house is right on the beach and we had a great walk before dinner. We made use of their little dingy to row across the small river - an optional but fun addition to the walk! We also had an excellent dinner from the menu cooked by TJ.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

The house is beautiful, right in front of the beach with a lovely view of the ocean!
Rooms are big enough, bed is very comfortable, very good and clean bathrooms with a good shower.
Breakfast is good, with fresh fruit, yoghurt, granola, soft boiled eggs, bread, and very good coffee made by Paul.
Paul and TJ, the hosts, are lovely people and very welcoming. They make you feel at home. They greet you with a welcoming drink and appetizers (including very fresh whitebait). They give you good advice on the region and even booked us dinner at a restaurant nearby.
It’s located between greymouth and Hokitika, so good for getting to know both places. Close enough to restaurants.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natalia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

All my troubles fell away in this beachfront "paradise found", a central, comfortable, homely base for any west coast outdoor adventures. Near to both Hokitika and Shantytown.
Paul and TJ's top class cooking skills combine with fresh local wild foods and a wild ocean outlook with pounding surf, lulling you to sleep, after an afternoon's beachcombing, or walking the forest tracks in the area. Evening meal option highly recommended. Comfortable and welcoming.
La mer vous berce a côté, on se sent libéré des soucis quotidiens, sauf ceux de la nature et des marées.

Room Tip: Get the sea view if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BenG3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Brackish Beach B & B is a beautiful place to stay. Our room was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. Being able to open the doors in our room to view the sea was breathtaking. The food was top quality and the effort from Paul and TJ making sure everything we needed was on the table was outstanding. Highly recommend and will be back.

Room Tip: Best views
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SharonF2589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Travelling towards Hokitka late last evening I spotted a new B&B sign on the side of road so I decided to check it out as was close the beach. I was met by a charming couple Paul & TJ who showed me beach front room. The best night sleep ever, listening to the waves crashing onto the beach. An excellent breakfast in the morning served with a white bait patty. Highly recommend 'I will return"

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews