We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful long weekend in Mudgee”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunrise at the luxury cottage amongst the vines
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise at the luxury cottage amongst the vines
Large family room including dining area and kitchen with adjacent fully equipped laundry Ultra modern kitchen including coffee machine, dishwasher, microwave and fridge freezer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Sunrise at the luxury cottage amongst the vines
Large family room including dining area and kitchen with adjacent fully equipped laundry
Ultra modern kitchen including coffee machine, dishwasher, microwave and fridge freezer
Large luxurious bathroom with roll top bath with walk in rain shower
Fine imported double sink vanities
Main bedroom with king size bed also en-suite and dressing room with access to patio
Comfortable snug with gas fire and access to the verandah
Bedroom with Queen size bed with antique fireplace surround and mirror
View of vineyards from Bedroom 2
The Old Post Office and Cottage
Early morning view across the vines to the cottage
Bedroom 3 with Queen bed & ornamental fireplace
Front verandah with polished wooden floors
Old stone walled building used as a meathouse
Front verandah with polished wooden floors
View over our vineyards from the front verandah
Kurrajong Tree in the front garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mudgee, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian H
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful long weekend in Mudgee”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wonderful, brilliantly presented historical home with all the extras that you could wish for, including breakfast pack and wine, which is surrounded by vineyards. A great experience for all of us (two couples).

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lotus00
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“"As fine as a vintage wine"”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Such a pretty cottage, with all the essentials and more. It was spotlessly clean and all the extra touches were such a treat. Fresh eggs, bacon and bread, cheeses, fruit, wines, lovely bath products amongst others....we felt quite spolit! It was also very well catered for entertaining. Being a lover of homewares I admired and enjoyed using all your different wine, beer and liquor glasses and made the celebration of my mums 88th birthday dinner that more special!!
The property was surrounded by vineyards and whilst it felt like you were a world away sitting on the porch with a glass of wine, admiring the scenery you also felt part of an experience watching happy people riding their bikes absorbing the Mudgee magic. The property is central to all the vineyards and town and for us close to Lue riding track for our trail bikers which made it very convenient.

Most importantly, Jim was such a lovely and friendly gentleman and host whom could not have been anymore accommodating. We really do hope to go back soon. What a lovely memory!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
Thank you for the kind words and it was a pleasure to have you stay at our place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika S
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is one of most favourite places to relax and holiday. I spent time growing up in Mudgee and I miss our old farm, but this ticks all the boxes, but goes then ten times better. It is a perfect location, out in the vineyards but 5 minutes to town. The setting is idyllic, trees and birds and cows to chat to nearby. The vista from the verandah just takes all my cares away, nothing better than sitting here with a good book, your feet up and a chilled glass of something lovely whilst you listen to bees hum and birds twitter. The house has been spectacularly renovated and includes all mod cons but has the historic charm kept intact. It is all sympathetic and cosy and comfortable and everything has been thought of. All the amenities in a kitchen including welcome back of breakfast goodies and cheese and crackers, plus fresh herbs in the garden for cooking or making tea and I did every day. Comfortable beds, a great bath and massive rain showers make for a luxurious stay. Just so peaceful. I'd live here if could. Been twice now and looking to book my third trip. Jim is great, fresh cherries was our welcome gift with a bottle of his own wine last visit. Can wait for the next one.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2016
Thank you Monika. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iansue201...
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow! Beautiful Cottage and Great Location”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a perfect house in a perfect location for exploring the vineyards and wineries of Mudgee. The kangaroos in the vineyard were a welcome photo opportunity on arrival.
This cottage is amazing. Three beautifully appointed bedrooms, beautiful linen, an over the top luxurious main bathroom (not to mention great size ensuite). The kitchen has everything you could possibly need and more. I could have moved right in and not needed a thing. Sipping bubbles on the large verandah overlooking the vineyards was so relaxing.
Jim made us feel so welcome (as did his lovely dog Zeus - what a charming boy he is). The welcome breakfast and wine, cheese and crackers made it easy to start the weekend off and not go shopping for anything. The location was just perfect. Out of Mudgee just far enough, and not too far (about 5kms). A number of wineries were in very close proximity so the location was perfect for visiting these wineries. It was agreed, that this was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable weekends we have had...we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage exceeded our expectations in luxury and location.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time in our cottage, thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleen F
Mudgee, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Post Office Cottage is luxurious with very modern amenities & a fabulous view over the vineyards. It is very close to Restuarants & wineries & a very short drive to the Mudgee CBD. It is a very lovely cottage nestled in the hills & some very special little touches of a bottle of wine on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location & luxurios appointments
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you Kayleen for your comments. The cottage is done to the standard that we expected in places that we have stayed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing