We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Memories of childhood”
other travellers have booked this property
Nestled beneath our giant Norfolk pines
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nestled beneath our giant Norfolk pines
Sittingroom in the evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Nestled beneath our giant Norfolk pines
Sittingroom in the evening
Front bedroom with queen bed
Glimpses of the other bedrooms - double bed and king single with trundle
Welcoming fire in the kitchen
Cooking area of our large kitchen
Dining in the kitchen looking out to the garden
Looking back to the cottage from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Port Fairy, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
antfoxy
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Memories of childhood”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Really was an interesting and comfortable stay complete with log fires on the chilly evenings.The whole experience brought back pleasurable memories of my childhood 60 yrs ago.The house has been maintained empathetically and the attention to detail of furniture and fittings was good to see and experience.All in all we were very satisfied with our stay at No 1 William St.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifestoos...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply gorgeous ”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Thankyou Bronwen for our stay at the gorgeous 1 William Street. The photos are accurate- a divine, quaint, relaxing, warm cottage. It's true to its original beauty with art, artifacts, ornaments and old pictures and history notes to complement. The cottage has been updated with the very functional essentials- kitchen, bathroom, additional heating. In essence it is an old cottage and if your looking for 5 seat Miele appliance filled modernness then this is the wrong venue for you. Open fires, cottage garden, wrought iron beds. fresh flowers on arrival, breakfast supplies , chopped wood all added to the warmness. Definitely will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you Anna, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. You have described our cottage beautifully. We enjoy sharing places we love with others.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie N
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Restful and homely ”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Upon arrival lights and heating was on! Instantly won husband over with complimentary tot of sherry! We lit both fires and settled in for our first night! Great for dining and relaxing in front of a roaring fire with a bottle of red! Preparing to get into bed I was aware it was going to be cold crisp sheets, imagine my delight in getting into a warm bed! Electric blanket had also been put on for us! Breakfast supply's were very considerately available and the little touches makes this a rare find! I'm a little worried in leaving a glowing review as I don't want it to be too busy that we can't go back! All in all I thank Bronwyn for the love and hard work that's obviously gone into this home, it's a remarkable place to call home for the duration of your stay! Can't wait to find time to go back. Truly awesome !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cowgirlNZ
nz
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely Charming in Every Way”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a marvellous opportunity to experience a little bit of history by staying in such a wonderfully characterful old cottage. The ambience and period features had been sympathetically retained by the owner who has clearly invested many hours, days, weeks, and years hard work... and it shows. Many interesting things to look at within its walls, and it's history presented in a folder made for fascinating reading. Set in a stunning cottage garden setting and just a short walk to the town's cafes and shops made life very easy. Lots of welcoming touches just put the icing on the cake for us. A fabulous stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the home
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garn01
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Character and charm”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely cottage. It has old world charm, is well presented and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable as well, and the linen on the beds very nice. The kitchen was well equipped and spacious, just a pity that there was no microwave. The slow combustion stove in the kitchen and open fire in the lounge were terrific and well supplied with wood. It was good to have breakfast ingredients supplied and generous amounts of tea and coffee available. Dogs are also welcome by prior arrangement, which we greatly appreciated The property also has a lovely neat garden at the back which was great for our dogs as well. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The character and charm of the property
Liked least: No microwave available
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing