We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
124
10
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
10
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast hamper maxi bar local produce open fire original house fresh eggs modern extension sleeping area walls and ceiling linen sheets yo yo two nights the ground floor pre arrival the perfect spot comfortable bed granola
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

I cannot begin to describe how much I loved Drift House. From the second Colleen checked us in to suite 4 we were in heaven. The spectacularly unique room, with personal touches, demonstrated Colleen & John’s passion and talent for what they do. We cannot wait to return.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JacindaLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Drift House is a place I love to visit. This delightful luxury boutique accommodation in the heart of Port Fairy has everything I need to have a break from the world.

We arrive and are greeted by our lovely host Colleen and John and given the keys to our peaceful apartment. I chose number one this time. It is on the ground floor and has a beautiful sunny balcony which I spend the afternoon reading while managing to eat all the complimentary famous yo yo biscuits.

All apartments have free Wi-Fi and minibars, plus flat-screen TVs; and are a 5 min bike ride to the beach where we have a refreshing morning swim followed by a delicious breakfast made from our hamper delivered with fresh eggs and a paper each morning.
Colleen and John are the perfect hosts ensuring we have all we need to have the perfect stay. A weekend away at Drift House is heavenly and I cannot wait to the next visit. Thank you for your hospitality. We shall return.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank MelissaT333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Such an amazing place to stay. Being surrounded by the unique architecture, tranquillity and hospitality was exactly what I need to have some time out for me. Suite 4 had beautiful natural light and would definitely stay there and recommend. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 409carollb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen G, Owner at Drift House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you! It was so nice to have you stay with us! Suite 4 is definitely our pick for some quiet rest and relaxation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed for 3 nights, on weekend trip from Melbourne.
We loved Drift House great location easy to walk to town for restaurants and the beach.
Well designed and thought out suite, we were in suite 4, the reality exceeded my expectations from looking at images on the website, there was a greater feeling of space.
Loved the breakfast hamper, refreshed daily if required.
And all the goodies in the ‘Maxibar’

We would definitely stay again

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank QueenGucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

There are hundreds of great cottages to rent in the beautiful old river mouth town of Port Fairy, once judged among the most livable towns in the world. Drifthouse provides its patrons with the opportunity to stay in one of four luxury units, renovated by award winning architects Mutiplicity, only metres from the Moyne River and the Southern Ocean. One of the units has a wide, verandah with cast iron ornamentation, and from this your vista includes the River and the ocean, with an ancient Norfolk Island pine avenue nearby. Drifthouse has two units (one up and one down) in the old stone cottage, and two cutting edge modern units attached behind them. Unit two, the upper floor verandah unit at the front, is just great for lazing or dining on the verandah. Breakfast and a newspaper are provided daily outside your door, with a basket of fresh bread and local produce including local butter, yoghurt and preserved fruit. Drift house is located close to the old port and close to the excellent shopping centre of Port Fairy. The Vline bus stop is about 100 metres away, providing coaches connecting with several daily trains between Warrnambool and Melbourne. Rooms are not serviced daily, and children not welcome. A great luxury break in a superb setting.

Room Tip: Unit two offers the front upstairs verandah with river and sea views
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank poppybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen G, Owner at Drift House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to do a 5 star review. We really appreciate it! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and consider us great luxury and a superb setting. I feel I need to clarify how we do our room servicing - we do service suites - you just need to let us know you would like your suite serviced. It is as simple as that. We ask that guests text us to let us know and this way we are not knocking on doors bothering anyone. We find most of our guests just like to enjoy their suite and not bother with servicing. The only exception to this is our Winter Escape Package which does not include daily housekeeping. We hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews