We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
12
19
11
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
19
11
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews root vegetables the great ocean road stump pub licensed victoria accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Historic Hotel in Port Fairy, called in for a meal ordered Fillet Mignon and Veal Scallopini.
What we got was an undercooked steak coated in strong pepper taste no bacon and sorry it was a poor attempt at the Veal. Small portions, hard vegetables, not a good salad and what ever lamb dish in the salad bar too greasy,Beer was fresh but this is well below average pub fare for a $80 do your self a favour try something else down the street or the Thai Restaurant up the road, one of the worst Pub meals in along time, still can taste it.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank martinG4487LF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We should have read the reviews on TripAdvisor before we came here but we wanted to have a casual dinner with the family.

Firstly, the prices were very high for pub food and it wasn’t even gastropub food. It was simply normal pub food. To give you an example, the chicken burger was $25 whereas a place like 8 bit wild charge $16 so not even close.

Secondly, food was pedestrian even by regional pub standards.

What was worse was the terrible and rude service we received from the old blonde lady who was snotty and bordering on argumentative whenever you went to order something from her.

There are a number of other places in port fairy to eat so don’t ruin your holiday by coming here.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank shoryukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

A group of over 20 of us were booked in for dinner. While appreciating that it was immediately after the annual folk festival, only two diners had meals that they were happy with. Except for the seafood platter, servings were small, there was a teaspoon of frozen veg with the roast and $28 for the nasi goreng which was smaller than entree size! Plus $5 for beer in a plastic cup? I don't think any of us will be returning to the Caledonian!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Prue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Should have read the reviews of the food before we walked over the road. Agree totally with all those who have said that the ambience is pleasant, and the staff friendly, but the food is poor. My t bone was ordered rare, and came raw in the middle (there is a difference). That I could cope with but there was also a decidely off flavour. I wondered if the grill had been cleaned properly. However the marrow at the end also tasted off so I think it was the meat. My wife had seafood with rice, and found that the rice was hard, ie not cooked properly. The salad bar was poor. Looking for a positive, the De Bortoli wines available at the bar were good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rp_aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Riding through town we stoped at the pub for a drink. Decided to say in the rooms there. Old but clean and comfortable. Close walking distance to main town for food and drinks. We didn’t eat at the pub as much. The staff very helpful and friendly and knowledgeable.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Stones66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews