We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic traditional bakery”

Philip Island Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Cowes
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Family had pies at the bakery. No complaints, nothing special, but old school traditional. Worth a visit if you are in a hurry.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Rhys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2018

We had to wait for ages and paid upfront for a sandwich we had to remind them to make twice. I'd finished eating by the time my husbands sandwich arrived and it was wrong. Girl was more interested in chatting to the others at the coffee machine. I could see they are advertising for more staff but I'd just suggest they clean out and rehire people who want a job. Food was good when it arrived but 15 mins to make a ham sandwich was a bit longs considering there was 4 staff and 5 customers.

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank lindawilson79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Great Breakfast and value but the staff seem a little put out having to work or serve. Food was good just need better customer service skills.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelhooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Very busy bakery with friendly staff. Choices include hot foods such as pies and sausages rolls, hot dogs and pasties plus sandwiches and rolls. Coffee is good and plenty of varieties of cold drinks are on offer. Prices good for the area. Seating inside and outside.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Mitcham20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

This bakery has been around as long as I can remember, having stood the testament of time we went in. But today watching the girl have 3 attempts at making a cappuccino, each time pouring the failure down the sink. I’d recommend hiring a barista first.
The meat pies were ok, bit bland and the apple muffin was a vanilla cake with some apple sprinkled on the top, no apple at all through it.
They really need to do better with so much competition in the main street. Next time we will try another cafe.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank iwouldntlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Philip Island Bakery also viewed

Newhaven, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Philip Island Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing