We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely outlook - good coffee”
Review of Reef Bar Grill

Reef Bar Grill
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Forster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: European, Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Nestled opposite the sparkling Wallis Lake, the Reef not only offers the most idyllic location in town, it delivers exquisite gourmet cuisine inspired by modern Australian and European influences. We have created a haven for good food, good drinks and good times that will see you sipping ronnies or craft beers at our indoor/outdoor bar and relaxing with friends as you watch the stunning sunsets. Our menus reflect the change in seasons as we work with local suppliers to ensure the finest quality produce all year round. Inspired by modern Australian and European influences, our menu offers something for all tastes and ages, from delicately prepared meals to delicious gourmet pizzas. We believe in drinking responsibly but drinking better. We serve a wide range of boutique beers, wines and scrummy cocktails. We are open seven days for Lunch and Dinner from 11:30am to Late. We are also open for Happy Hour on Monday – Sunday from 4pm – 6pm.
Reviewed 15 November 2018

We only had coffee here and sat and enjoyed the view of the lakes. Service was good and the coffee also good. Next time we're in Forster, I think we'll eat here!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank paulaxadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

We had dinner on Friday night and the service was spectacular and the food delicious. We had oysters and prawns for entrees, both delicious. The fish mains were very tasty. Beautifully cooked and so well accompanied with delicious vegetables. Definitely worth visiting.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank moreholidays99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaA2718, Manager at Reef Bar Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our restaurant aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

This is clearly the best quality food in Forster, expensive but well presented, modern, fresh and exciting. The decor of the place has too many hard surfaces so patron noise bounces around making it very noisy. The waitstaff told me in early 2012 they are installing sound absorbing material to combat this. Also place gets stuffy so if it is windy and cool outside don't sit near the sliding front doors as they open them during the night to circulate air and cool the place down. Staff were good and asked our permission and came back to check it was not affecting us too much. If money wasn't an issue I would eat here more often.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Handysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Had lunch sitting outside with a nice view of the crystal waters of Wallis Lake just near the Forster-Tuncurry bridge.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MaffraCalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaA2718, Manager at Reef Bar Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Hi MaffraCalla, Nice! Alfresco is the besto! Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your time with us! Hope to see you again here at Reef anytime soon!


Kind regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Reef bar grill provided us with an excellent dinner for two as we traveled up the east coast. It has a great location overlooking Lake Wallis and although we hadn't booked the waiter found us a table so we could watch the sun go down.
The food was excellent. We shared a bowl of gnocchi as a starter, delicious . My husband raved about the Chicken Maryland Ballotine he had for his main and I had the grilled fish of the day which was Barramundi, I'd recommend both. Portion sizes were good . My husband also loved the craft beer he drank from the local Coastal Brewing Company.
We had a really pleasant evening, great, food, service and a wonderful view.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaA2718, Manager at Reef Bar Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Hi Liz, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating. We are so happy you and your husband found the food, view and the service to be excellent and I can't thank you enough for that wonderful feedback! Chicken Maryland Ballotine and grilled fish of the day are one of the dishes to die for here at The Reef. Thanks again for dining with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards,
Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reef Bar Grill also viewed

Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 

Been to Reef Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing