We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We Loved Bedrock!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bedrock Palm Cove

Bedrock Palm Cove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedrock Palm Cove
Dining area, looking to living and out to the magnificent view The perfect kitchen!  Amazing views whilst cooking up a feast!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Bedrock Palm Cove
Dining area, looking to living and out to the magnificent view
The perfect kitchen!  Amazing views whilst cooking up a feast!
Relax in our comfortable King furniture sofa and enjoy Netflix, unless the view distracts you.
Scout Hut & Double Island views whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch & dinner.
Soak up the view from the front balcony.
Elevated pool for privacy from the street, whilst still giving views out to Double Island.
3 steps into the pool.  50cm wide &deep seat along edge to relax. Next ledge is 1m deep & 1.5m wide.
Large grounds to run around and enjoy on a completely fenced block. Pool fenced to Australian regs
Large upstairs area so even large groups have plenty of room
Large kitchen island for lots of prepping room or meals or chatting.
Master bedroom with queen bed, ensuite & WIR.
Master bedroom with water glimpses.  Privacy & blackout blinds so you can catch up on rest if need b
Twin basin ensuite with rainshower.
Bedroom 2 with King bed or twin King singles.  your choice.
Bedroom 3 with Queen bed, looking to pool.
Bedroom 3 also has ocean views.
Main bathroom with shower and bath. Hairdryer also supplied.
Downstairs apartment, still with views.  Has TV , kitchenette, sofa & ensuite.
Downstairs apartment has a double bed, & either a King bed or twin King singles.  1 step to garden
Downstairs apartment ensuite with toilet.
Back garden on same level as living/kitchen/dining & pool
Back deck protected from the wind and rain.  Relax and listen to the forest with a nice drink
Back deck also has outdoor dining for 8 guests & a Weber BBQ
upstairs floorplan
Downstairs floorplan
Palm Cove beach, perfect for walks, swimming & water sports.
Or artistic creation!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Palm Cove, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elwood115...
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We Loved Bedrock!!!”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When I first saw this house on the Internet, I decided this was the place for my family to stay. The pictures made the house and grounds looks incredible. We were not disappointed. It is actually even better than the pictures and discription can show. My daughters couldn't find the words to express how much they loved this house.

The place is spacious with a great deck, yard and a small private swimming pool. The view from the main living space is amazing. There is easily room for 9 or 10 people to sleep so our group of 6 was very comfortable. We had all the amenities we required, the beds were comfortable and we felt right at home the minute we walked in.

We are all adults and new we would be out of the house a lot to go to the reef, the Daintree and other points of interest. Sitting on the beach wasn't our end game. The beach is a decent 20 to 25 minute walk (5 minut drive) from Bedrock. A well stocked grocery store is also only 5 minutes away. Palm Cove has a lot of restaurants to chose from. We never had an issue with any of them.

The only thing that was unexpected was the geckos. We saw more than one running around the house. My daughters were little freaked out. However, these little guys are normal, part of the house, harmless and are there for a purpose. And they are really small.

Our family would highly recommend this house to any group or family looking for a first class house to stay in in the Cairns area. Alex and Alexis are great to deal with and we couldn't be happier with our decision to stay at Bedrock.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique home with great view!!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
We're delighted you all enjoyed your stay and liked the layout and space of Bedrock. It sounds like you made the most of your time in beautiful Palm Cove and Cairns.

Yes we do have some other permanent residents so we should probably put that on our house description. The geckos are very useful though and an integral part of living in Far North Queensland.

We hope you'll visit Palm Cove and Bedrock again and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Alex and Alexis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikDas
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday home at exotic location”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Travelled with group of friends over Easter holidays. The place is amazing with excellent ameneties and fabulous views at any time of the day. Alex was a good host and even though he was away, he made sure that we settled in fine. Perfect base for your holidays around Cairns, Port Douglas, Daintree, Tablelands etc. Would suit a large family or group of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and you found the house a great base from which to explore the region. We've always enjoyed the location and found it very convenient for enjoying all that Cairns and the surrounding area has to offer, so it's great to hear you made the most of it as well.

We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully this time we'll be there to welcome you personally.

All the best,

Alex and Alexis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
91beer
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!! :)”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Myself and a group of 7 friends have recently stayed at Bedrock in Palm Cove and we were all very impressed with our stay, the home provided everything that you need and more. Happy to say it was everything we expected plus more!
Located backing on to the forest in a lovely quiet street the views were amazing, from inside the home and in the pool you could get a clear view of the shoreline of Palm Cove, when waking up in the morning the sounds of birds talking was beautiful and peaceful! I highly recommend this property to anyone looking at staying in North Queensland as the location is central to major attraction areas such as Cairns and Port Douglas.
Owners are very helpful and prompt in any queries or questions you may have! We will be definitely be returning to Bedrock!
:)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Dear Sky,

Thanks so much for your kind words about your stay. We're so glad you and your group enjoyed yourselves and the house and it was a pleasure having you come and stay. We hope you'll find your way back up to Cairns soon.

Kind regards,

Alex and Alexis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh, what a holiday!”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Celebrating my 60th at Bedrock with my whole family including my 2 dogs was something I had looked forward to for many months. We arrived to find the house exactly as shown in the online photos - just perfect for a large group with everything you could have hoped for. The view was absolutely amazing and has made me long for a house with such magnificent water and island views. It was also lovely to splash around in the pool and have a few games of table tennis.
Close to everything, we started our holiday with a trip to Port Douglas Sunday markets followed by Mossman Gorge - a great day out, then off to the outer reef and white water rafting. On another day we took a trip up to Kuranda by train with a return on the sky rail.We went jungle surfing in the Daintree and looked for crocs on a river cruise.
All this paled though to our next experience Our daughter in law unexpectedly went into labour (3 weeks early) giving birth to our first grandchild, a beautiful little girl at Cairns City hospital. Amazing and somewhat stressful as we of course had nothing prepared on our holiday.
Alex and Alexis were incredible supplying us with a portacot, emailing us loads of information about baby capsule hire etc. and allowing us to extend our holiday for a few days. They made everything easy for us and I cannot express my gratitude and appreciation enough to them.
Well, the lovely bottle of sparkling which they left for me to celebrate my birthday ended up being opened up for a different celebration altogether!
If you are reading this review trying to decide whether or not to stay at Bedrock all I can say is if you do, you won't be disappointed! Children will love it, your animals will love it and you will have the time of your life in wonderful accommodation. They have thought of everything.
Thanks again Alex and Alexis and who knows, maybe sometime in the future I will be lucky enough to visit Bedrock again. Maybe for my 70th!
Baby Quinn sends you her love!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
Dear Lorraine and Malcolm,

We are so glad you had such an amazing stay and are extremely grateful for sharing this in your review. It was a pleasure having you come and stay and we do hope you will come back to Cairns and Bedrock some time. It sounds like you made the most of your time and explored many of the amazing natural attractions that are close by. We haven't even got around to doing some of the things that you got to do!!

We were happy to have been able to help with your last minute surprise and glad that we allowed you to focus on your Grand daughter's arrival.

We look forward to you all coming back and visiting again.

Many thanks,

Alex and Alexis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devraj197...
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house was exactly as it looks in the photographs. The kitchen was well equipped with the best appliances. We had plenty of supplies as far as crockery, cutlery, towels, blankets,etc are concerned. The double garage had a table tennis table. A 2 minute drive to Coles and other shops (including a fish and chips shop and an authentic Italian restaurant), 5 minutes drive to the esplanade that had all the eateries. The location was excellent with easy and quick access to Port Douglas and Cairns.The kids enjoyed spending time in the pool. The BBQ was of good quality and we enjoyed evening drinks in the patio. We have stayed in other holiday homes but this was a class apart and totally worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Thanks so much for your great review. It was a pleasure having you come and stay and we're so glad you enjoyed Bedrock, Palm Cove & Cairns. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing