We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still gets a 5”
Review of Nu Nu Restaurant

Nu Nu Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 65 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$68
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 7 November 2018

As with many reviews, we found the service to be very hot and cold. At a venue with this reputation, price and outlook, you would expect the service to be spot on, every time. It is not.
Generally overall though, it is not too bad, just not consistently 5 star.
Service from Karen is very good, some of the other staff may need a little refining, but I am sure they will get there.
However...... we dined at Nu Nu 3 times on our Palm Cove break, and the food is AMAZING....the house cured barramundi is possibly the most exquisite dish I have ever had the pleasure of sampling - silky smooth layers of taste of extraordinary depth. Likewise the smoked reef fish and roe croquettes - very, very good. The salads and side dishes are all treats in themselves - suggest the heart of palm salad.
The pork and curry mains also top notch.
Desserts are absolutely decadent - enjoy !
We also had the set breakfast as part of our package and it was tropical heaven. Great value for $25
The venue is just as stunning in the morning as the evening, and the early fare spectacular. The freshest fruits, and great choices to go with it. I upgraded 1 morning for the crab omelette with pepper broth and it was superb. As expected, coffee was excellent.
If you can see past the odd minor details that may crop up at times from some individual front of house staff, you will enjoy a wondrous dining experience in an amazing setting.
Whilst admittedly on the expensive side, relax and let the food itself be the highlight that it promises to be, and you will not be disappointed.
First class cuisine.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GD3904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here on the 11th October & loved it. The food was beautiful, the service was fantastic, the view was amazing looking out to the beach, the ambience was good. The XO buns were delicious & the pork ribs went down well. Would highly recommend the roast Nicola potato & smoked ham hock salad it was amazing, the bbq winter greens were yummy also. We had red emperor, the wagu & the lamb which were all good. The brownie was one of the best lve had!! Will definately come back here next time as no.1 restaurant.
( If your planning on bringing children please teach them table etiquette& be respectful of other diners who are wanting a romantic evening, otherwise there is plenty of other restaurants for children in palm cove)

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Had breakfast here which was very good, but dinner was delicious. and service excellent. The wine menu is quite good as well.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Hi-there-all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

As you walk in - it's cool, tropical and open
I asked for a table for 1 - (English backpacker) was pleasant. When he checked with he head waitress - pure surly resting b-face with matching attitude - not so pleasant or welcoming - I'd be firing her.
Not one to take attitude lightly - I mirrored her b- attitude - oddly and sadly it worked - she brought her "pleasant side' out.
Food - ribs, I didn't rate so highly, fab idea, other tables loved but they needed to be oven cooked slower and longer before adding the salt and pepper coat that was v nice.
Mozzarella and tomato salad - volumes of tomatoes and a miserly bit of mozza - I commented to the American backpacker (pleasant but rather vacant) she giggled and left.
So did I , immediately, upped and paid my overpriced bill for average food and s**t service.
I will never return NoNo NoNo No No No and I will share this fact with Everyone.
That b- resting face head waitress should truly be fired immediately - what a shocking and regretful ambassador to have as front of house

Date of visit: October 2018
4  Thank TravellingRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryceM286, General Manager at Nu Nu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Hello TravellingRainbow,

Thank you for your review of Nu Nu.

We appreciate your comments on the food and will be looking into ways of improving even further.

Thank you for your comments on the employment options for our staff. We prefer to train and work with the employee's of Nu Nu rather than add them to the unemployment line. We will discuss all of your review with the team to ensure that the positive view of Nu Nu is continued from its clientele.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your review at bryce@nunu.com.au

Bryce Madgwick
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

It pains me to leave such a bad review, because on the whole our experience as wedding guests was mostly pleasant.

Long story short, a certain cocktail was planned for the wedding party on arrival - but when the mother of the bride (M.O.T.B) asked the barman (french, male) for this particular cocktail - he snapped at her saying it was for the bridal party only.
She explained she was legitimately the MOTB, in fact, to which he replied: “I’ve had 5 people say that they’re the MOTB to me already...and walked away from her”
The mother of the bride broke down crying, frustrated and humiliated and left the bar area.
I happened to see what happened, and proceeded to tell the supervisor on duty to which I was told “he’s just french, ignore him..” ?!

At WHAT point is it ok to humiliate the MOTB at a wedding (that she and her husband are paying top-dollar for!!) - and then not make any effort to amend the situation?
Even if this were a simple matter of miscommunication, (or lost in translation, which it was not because he speaks and understands English perfectly) - you should at least keep a certain level of civility about you - and avoid reducing a client to tears ?!
This man should be fired, and that family should be offered (at the very least) a formal apology.

Unfortunately for Nunu’s, this wasn’t the only mishap.
I was told that another guest had their chair soaked in a drink that a waitress had spilt, on which she left a serviette and walked away.
The man sat down on the damp serviette and wet his pants right up the back.
When he asked for an extra chair, they said they didn’t have any to offer (?!) so that particular guest had to stand for the rest of the evening and didn’t even get a chance to eat the food served to the tables!

Disgusting.. it’s a shame that management were so negligent in handling situations like these that could’ve been fixed in a matter of minutes..

Brides, maybe look elsewhere for your wedding venue !!!

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Lionsong1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryceM286, General Manager at Nu Nu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Hello Lionsong1968,

Thank you for sending through your review of Jess and Matt's wedding.

We have been in contact with Jess regarding her evening.

We appreciate your feedback and will be working through training with the staff.

Bryce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nu Nu Restaurant also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Nu Nu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing