We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place to stay in Las Terrenas!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge area by the pool: bar, pool table, jacuzzi, sofas, lounge chairs Open space living room, sofas and dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Lounge area by the pool: bar, pool table, jacuzzi, sofas, lounge chairs
Open space living room, sofas and dining table
Open space living room
Open space living room. No windows: closes with storm shutters.
Open space living room
Bar area: counter, fridge, stools and pool table
Heated jacuzzi by night
Back garden and shallow pool for children
Custom made metal fire place
Master bedroom: king size bedroom
Master bedroom: king size bedroom. Opens on a terrace outlooking the ocean
Master bedroom's bathroom
Master bedroom's bathroom
Guests bedroom: 2 twin size beds setting. Can also be setup with a king size bed.
Guests bedroom: 2 king size bed setting. Can also be setup with 2 twin beds
View from the guests bedroom
View from the terrace of the bedrooms
Children bedroom: king size bed
Children bedroom: 3 bunk beds
Children bedroom bathroom
2nd Master bedroom: queen size bed
2nd Master bedroom: bathroom
2nd Master bedroom: bathroom
Aerial view of the swimming pool in balinese stones
View from the Master bedroom
Sunset by the pool
Sunset by the pool
Our team awaits you at Casa Phil!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

WeberClan...
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Las Terrenas!”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Phil sits high on a point between playa Ballenas and playas Perdida /Bonita. To us this is the best location in the area, because it is close and easy to walk along the beach or road to the main town of Las Terrenas and its many restaurants (and easy to get a taxi back). But it is also very private and quiet if you want to feel you have gotten away from it all. The more pristine beach of Playa Bonita is a 15 minute walk through a jungle trail (Victor showed us the way).
The house is modern, sleek and luxurious and the pictures on tripadvisor do not do justice to the view. There are large porches and open areas on 3 levels and gorgeous views from all. We kept the house open all day, but it always stayed cool from the ocean breeze. And we never had a problem with mosquitos!
It is easy to book the excursions from here with Flora Tours (nice trip to the national park!) because they will pick you up from the house.
One of the very best things about the house is the staff! Victor did all of the grocery shopping and even bought fresh fish on the beach and cleaned the fish for our dinner. Andrea is amazing! She made us fabulous breakfasts every day (omelletes, pancakes, bacon) that we ate in the al fresco dining room with the best view in town. Sometimes we ate lunch in and dinner out, and sometimes we chose to eat lunch out and dinner in (for a small fee), which was wonderful after a long day at the beach. And at the perfect time in the afternoon she would ask, "piña coladas?" She would make up a batch in the blender with fresh pineapples. Overall everything was perfect and Philippe always available to help with anything. We wouldn't stay any where else!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and staff
Liked least: Beaches of las terrenas need to be kept cleaner
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Hello Delane. It was our pleasure to host you in our home. It sounds like it was a great time, and that's what we want to hear from all our guests. Las Terrenas is a special place, and if we can make your trip memorable and unforgettable then we know we have done our job. So thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you soon. Warmest Regards
Philippe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazydogla...
Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
1 review
“Perfection in Paradise”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

First off, I would like to mention how breathtaking this home is. The view, the design, the pool, the landscape, all of it. Absolutely perfect. Then you add a really amazing owner to the mix and staff and you have a pretty perfect vacation.

The house itself has more than enough room to accommodate your group, it has a beautiful Balinese style pool with a beautiful view, a jacuzzi to soak in later in the evening with a glass of wine, pool table and my favourite part a hidden garden on the main level. Open the garage doors and you find yourself looking at a zen garden!

Every aspect of my vacation was perfect, from the moment I arrived to the moment I left. Phil greeted me when I arrived with a coconut and Andrea made sure I had the best coffee, lemonade and meals throughout my stay. The rooms are beautiful, just open the door and you have a view of the ocean from your bed. Nothing left unnoticed here, I really like how they keep a caraffe of water in each bathroom for brushing your teeth or grabbing a quick sip before bed. Facemasks, Shampoos and Body washes all provided to you in case you forgot to bring your own. Again, nothing left unnoticed here.

The house is on top of a hill overlooking the ocean, and only a few steps to Las Ballenas, in my eyes one of the best beaches in Las Terrenas. We spent numerous days there lazing in the sun. Coming home to Casa Phil after a day at the beach was such a dream.

Thank you to Phil and his lovely staff for such a beautiful vacation. I will be sure to spread the good word. You have done an impeccable job!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The million dollar view!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
hank you so much Rebecca for your wonderful review. It's always so nice to hear that our home made your stay so enjoyable. We're happy to hear that you all loved it so much as we try very hard to please our guests by making sure we have everything they need. Hope to see you all again soon. Philippe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeloSappe...
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Simply put from start to finish one of the best rentals we have ever had.

We traveled Jan 30 - 8th 2016 with a group of 7 and could not have had a better trip. Philippe was extremely attentive and responsive throughout the booking process and went above and beyond in answering all our questions and arranging our transportation from/to Santo Domingo to the house.

We were greeted right outside customs by our driver (Louis) who was very helpful and even provided wifi in the van during the drive to the house and was happy to stop at a grocery store near the house so we could stock up on a few provisions.

Upon arriving at the house we were met by Philippe (owner), Andrea (cook and house master) and, Victor (general helper) who had welcoming glass of wine ready for us. It was a nice way to start. We had also arranged with Philippe to have Andrea prepare dinner for us that evening and after a tour of the house we had a fantastic meal.

I think Philippe does not highlight enough the cooking skills of Andrea in his listing as its the real hidden gem in choosing this house. Andrea is an great cook, nothing overly fancy, more simple dominican style, but delicious food nonetheless. From banana pancakes, and fresh squeezed juice in the morning, to tacos for lunch, and fresh fish, pork, or chicken for dinner, she handed it all, including accommodating two of us with Gluten allergy. All you need to do is purchase the food, which given a list Victor is happy to do for you, and Andrea takes it from there. We ended up eating almost all our meals at the house because it was so easy and delicious.

The photos are a very accurate representation of the house and in fact the house is even more comfortable than it looks in the photo, we really felt right at home. Lots of great places to curl up with a book.

Pool & hot tub were cleaned daily, Andrea made all the beds and cleaned all the rooms daily as well. Honestly, while it was a VRBO it was more like staying a 5 star resort where all we had to do was ask and it was taken care of. Victor was happy to run into town for beer, wine, food, cigars, whatever, whenever we asked.

Local area was nice with the beach, and a beach bar, just a short 5 minute walk down the hill. We rented 2 four wheelers for the week to explore the area and other beaches (all fantastic in their own right) and had no problem getting around.

We wholeheartedly recommend this house and look forward to returning ourselves.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of the house for just lounging and relaxing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Andrew, we cannot thank you enough for the wonderful review you gave us. I'll defenitely share it with the staff. There is so much to making a home comfortable and enjoyable for family and friends gathering, so we really try hard to make it feel like home and supply you with all you need so you don't even need to leave the house if you don't want too !! So happy that you enjoyed it so much. We wanted it to be special for you. Thank you so much for your kind words. Philippe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom T
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home, Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 6 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We just came back from a week at Casa Phil and highly recommend this home for your stay in the Dominican Republic. Phil greeted us upon arrival and provided a warm welcome and helpful information about the home and the area. The home was in excellent condition and as you can tell from the pictures, the design, furnishings, and views are amazing.

A true highlight of the trip was Andrea, the housekeeper and cook. She is a delightful and fun person and the food she prepared was fantastic. Most days we didn't go out for dinner as the breakfast and lunch were more than enough, and Andrea is a better cook than some of the local restaurants we tried.

The walk to the beach is 3-4 minutes and once there you have a beach bar for drinks and chairs. At that same beach there's also a sailing club with many options for sailing. We had a great time on one of their Hobie Cat boats!

Other highlights of the trip include a hike to Salto El Limon waterfall, Playa Bonita which is a very quiet and beautiful beach, and snorkeling with the people at Samana Diving.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful home, great cook.
Liked least: A little tricky to find the first time...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It's always so nice to hear that our home made your stay so enjoyable. We're happy to hear that you all loved it so much as we try very hard to please our guests by making sure we have everything they need. Hope to see you all again soon. Philippe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmlmls
New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relaxation, Comfort, Sunshine, Perfection!”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My husband and I stayed with six other friends at Casa Phil and we couldn't recommend it more highly! It's a beautiful, modern oasis with a great staff who took care of everything we needed. Being there with six other people, we were able to come together as a group for "family" dinners and fun by the pool table, but could also have quiet time in the office or the top floor hammocks.
We arrived in Santo Domingo late at night. Casa Phil arranged for a driver to pick us up and drive us the 2.5 hours to the house - this couldn't have gone more smoothly. During our stay, we didn't need a car. The house recommends inexpensive taxi services for us to town and the airports. From the house, you can walk for 10 minutes and be on the beach. The town is farther, but it's a beautiful walk on the beach, so you don't notice the distance, especially for New Yorkers like us. Visit the French bakery in town, it's worth the time off of the beach.
The internet worked well. There was air conditioning in each bedroom, but the ceiling fan was enough to stay cool. They provided filtered water and ice. If you're up for it, let Andrea, the cook, make local dishes - they are absolutely delicious! There was a night guard at the house and a security stop for vehicles - we always felt safe at Casa Phil and the nearby beaches. Knowing a little basic Spanish makes things easier, but Phil speaks fluent English and can help with communication where needed.
We LOVED the time we spent at Casa Phil and would happily return as soon as possible!

Date of stay: December 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.