We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$192
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Expedia.com
US$201
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/10/21
Agoda.com
US$160
View deal
Hotels.comUS$201
eDreamsUS$192
FindHotelUS$201
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,740)
Filter reviews
2,740 results
Traveller rating
894
824
573
286
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
894
824
573
286
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice room thermal suite salt room outdoor jacuzzi lovely hotel steam room cooked breakfast a lovely stay bar and restaurant ascot races legoland facial windsor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 2,740 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2021

We were booked into another spa on a Sunday, and the Thursday before were told that we couldn't use the spa facilities (just have our treatments and lunch). As this was day two of a hen do, this wasn't an option. After a frantic morning of calling spas on the Friday, the Macdonald Berystede squeezed us in!

We were all booked in for treatments which we had in turn whilst the rest of us relaxed in the spa. We were lucky with the weather, and loved the hydro pool which meant we could chill outside. The thermal suite with its ice room and aromatherapy steam room adds something a bit different to the usual steam room and sauna.

We also had lunch included in our spa package which we had outside on the terrace (we felt like we could have been abroad!). The food was delicious - in particular the sharing charcuterie board was very generous and came with a delicious home-made scotch egg. The only downside was the staff got our order wrong, and two of our party had to wait 20 minutes for their food to come out whilst the others ate theirs.

Overall, we had a lovely day (it was nice to have access to the spa all day, and not be restricted to the usual 3 hours). We were just so grateful that as a group of 7, we managed to get into a spa at such short notice.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alice0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyran Bradley, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021

Hello alice0518,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day, to leave such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. The team and I have viewed your feed back and we are thrilled to read you had an enjoyable stay at the Berystede.

Needless to say we look forward to welcoming you back to the Berystede Hotel very soon.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021

This hotel did a fantastic job at short notice sorting an excellent birthday for my partner. Our original venue cancelled on us at less than 3 weeks notice. They pulled out all the stops and made the evening for us and our 47 guests very special. We had the conference area, which once decorated and combined with its own bar, toilets and outside area made for a fantastic location. Rachel (operations manager) made everything run seamlessly. Kyran (general manager) made a point of introducing himself before the even and was on hand all evening making sure our guests were looked after. Ionuts (waiter) did an excellent job attending to everyone. Mukesh ran the bar, and did an amazing job keeping it going as we did our best to drink the bar dry. Andrew was our chef. WOW. We had canopies as well as a three course dinner (with choices) and the food was excellent. If the food was a meal I ordered on my own I would have been impressed, so to have done it to such a high standard on a mass catering scale is nothing but miraculous. Then to finish the evening off Marco kept the after hours bar going for us. His cocktails were excellent and he kept those still up well lubricated until we couldn't stay awake any longer.
In the morning those who stayed (which was a lot of us) had a brilliant breakfast. Chef & his team yet again doing a brilliant job.
What was an added bonus was access to the spa. Which those who were staying managed to take full advantage of. Really made it feel like a mini-break and not just an evening party.

Highly recommend and the staff were awesome.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aw3555
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyran Bradley, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021

Hello Alistair W ,

Thank you for taking time out to leave such a swell review on Tripadvisor, terribly kind of you . The team and I are delighted to read your partner had a awesome Birthday party and you yourself had a great time . Lets hope we can welcome you back to the Berystede Hotel very soon, in the meantime keep healthy and safe.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

Nice but outdated room - period style, clean bathroom and bedding

Breakfast - limited buffet choices, no a la carte, unhealthy food. Not worth it!!!!!!!

Overall customer service - self service mentality, No smiles or positive energy from the Males but females were fine.

Acanthus Bar - very limited menu, small portions, understaffed, low impact and low energy staff, slow, however Hijabi waitress saved the day and was lovely!

Spa treatments - painfully below average - experiencing the pain in my body from lack of expertise. Severely overpriced!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChelseaLondonsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyran Bradley, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021

Hello ChelseaLondonsw

Thank you so much for leaving your candid review on Tripadvisor , regarding your recent stay at the Berystede Hotel.

I am genuinely sadden to read you were disappointed with our customer service/interaction which you encountered while residing at the Berystede and I take your points on board .

Once again I thank you for your feedback and I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome to back the Berystede soon. In the meantime you and your family keep safe and healthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2021

We had a super stay at Berystede in mid August. While staffing levels were not as hotel would have liked the quality of service was exceptional. Quietly professional, unobtrusive, and very helpful , always with a smile. Two dinners on separate occasions were excellent, very well presented and the clean plates told you all.
On one evening as we were walking home from a nearby restaurant a car stopped to offer us a lift back to the hotel. Yes, the general manager was on his way home after a long day and still had the time to save us the 15 minute walk. Courtesy above and beyond ...
It was a long way for us to travel from Fife but if in that area again then we would have no hesitation in making a return trip to the Berystede.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Service
Thank LLFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyran Bradley, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021

Hello LLFI,

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review TripAdvisor , regarding your recent stay at Berystede Hotel .

The team and I are genuinely thrilled to read that you had a great stay with us.

We all look forward to welcoming your wife and you back again very soon, in the meantime keep safe and healthy in Fife. (lovely part of the world)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

I stayed here with my daughter for a two day spa break. I had a fractured ankle and the staff were really helpful, getting me ice for my ankle and ensuring that I was OK.

The room was clean and comfortable and housekeeping was provided daily. There was complimentary bottled water each day and tea/coffee making facilities.

Breakfast was good although a vegetarian sausage option would be nice.

The outside bar is lovely with plenty of seating.

Treatments in the spa were excellent / we both had a deep tissue massage and a facial.

Overall, a lovely, relaxing g break!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Julianne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyran Bradley, General Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Hello Julianne62,

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review on TripAdvisor and pleased to read, overall you had a relaxing break .The team and I are absolutely delighted with the review.

We do look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back to the Berystede Hotel very soon . In the meantime you and your family keep safe and healthy .

Warn Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews