We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
36
38
41
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
38
41
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fantastic pub arrow town open fire centre of town fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

We went to the New Orleans and had a platter the platter for two and it was huge absolutely awesome highly recommend it to a group of maybe at least 4 because you get so much food on it. The staff were great very attentive and when we couldn't eat it all day put it into separately containers for us to take home great experience

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AnnetteP1246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

This sham of a restaurant should be permanently closed. We booked in for breakfast a week before our arrival, and ended up waiting nearly 2 hours from our time of order until our food arrived, even though the restaurant was only about half full, for the worst food imaginable. The waitress was French and did not speak adequate English to serve English-speaking customers, and was rude and abrupt. Neither the waitress nor the manager could grasp why we were so upset about having to wait so long for our food, and didn't seem to understand that having our eggs and toast floating in bacon grease on a plate was disgusting. The bacon itself was half-cooked and rubbery. The table was not clean, and had a decidedly sticky feel to it and the carpet emitted an odiferious combination of stale beer and vomit. If I never come back to this place to eat, it will be too soon.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Voltmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren R, General Manager at New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We don't have any French staff and all our waitress staff have adequate English. We're sorry that you had a bad experience with us, but thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

An enjoyable experience at the New Orleans Hotel Arrowtown. Our room was clean and well equipped even if not large. Though the accommodation is in the centre of town, we had a quiet and comfortable night.

Room tip: Room 5 has window looking out towards the river.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dhemming2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren R, General Manager at New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

The portion is huge - lots of lambs, nice gravy. I enjoyed having this meal next to the wood burner. The service is very friendly too. A great place to rest after a days travel and walking. It is not so fancy but very comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingliuwellingotn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren R, General Manager at New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hi! Thank you for your review! We are so happy you had a good time with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for morning tea and to warm up by the open fire with small kids. Staff were amazing with kids! Service was quick and food was hearty. Heaps of food and beer options. A must do if in Arrowtown!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MikeC2237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren R, General Manager at New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hi Mike, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are glad you had a good experience with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews