We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent informal Japanese”
Review of Kobe Cuisine

Kobe Cuisine
Ranked #16 of 42 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Kobe offers inspired Japanese flavours that have a contemporary twist. We use fresh local and Japanese ingredients which enhance the natural flavours of each dish. Sake is the drink of choice at Kobe, so "kampai" and unwind as you watch our chefs cook up a storm on the Teppanyaki grill.
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Two of us had an excellent dinner on a warm summer evening. The menu is a mix of traditional Japanese and some fusion-style dishes. We were hungry, and asked our waiter what he recommended. We took nearly all his recommendations, and he was spot on as to his choices and advice on how many dishes to order. Our favourites were the sushi and sashimi platter, and the tonkatsu pork. We also enjoyed a salmon and eel dish. The presentation of the dishes is clever, and it is fun watching the chefs. This is a casual restaurant, so no need to dress up. The views down the valley are great.

Thank Pennydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Manager at Kobe Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Pennydancer,

Thank you for your wonderful review, the team do know the dishes very well and all have their own favorites, were pleased you enjoyed them too!

hopefully you will return soon to soak in some more of that amazing view

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018

Six of us staying at the resort hasd dinnner here and were disappointed. While the food was mediocre at best the service was poor.
The waitress was certainly nice enough , however the food took an exceptional long time to arrive. The pork tankatsu was dried out and not good and did not come with the traditional sauce. The sushi was ok but fairly small portions. Two of the guests never received the rice they asked for. The pickles were not fresh
We were very disappointed

Thank traveloftenpals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Manager at Kobe Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Traveloftenpals,

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your Kobe dining experience, this is certainly not the kind of service we are looking to provide. We hope to welcome you back to enjoy a proper Kobe experience.

Please be in touch to make your next reservation.

Kind regards,

Matt McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

For a great Japanese dining experience and service. Being able to sit and watch your food being prepared/cooked and then delivered seems to be a great part of the enjoyable experience of dining there. The restaurant is set in the lovely ambience of Millbrook resort and yes it is busy so bookings are recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Manager at Kobe Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi Joe B,

Thank you for your review. Kobe is set in a magic location and it's great sitting at the Teppan table.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Matt McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Went here a couple of years ago and loved it, looked forward to the opportunity to return. I was sadly disappointed. We were guests of extended family and they were upset we couldn't sit at the teppanyaki even though they had booked that table 3 weeks before we arrived. It was vacant when we walked in but for some reason we couldn't sit there. The service was so slow, but the food was ok. But some of our group had been sever 3 dishes before others got their first. The whole evening was a let down unfortunately.

    • Food
Thank RickNellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Manager at Kobe Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Rick Nellie,

We are sorry you felt your visit this time was not up to last. We do try our best to accommodate guests at their preferred tables. Due to the service style of the restaurant we always recommend a shared style dining, if individuals decide to order dishes just for themselves sometimes this can cause a delay for others on their table we try to manage this as best we can and apologies that this time there were people that had to wait.

Hopefully you return and we can get you sat at the Teppan Table

Kind regards,

Matt McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Very impressed both by the variety, quality, and affordability of food at this very convenient Japanese restaurant.

Thank mojoFCH2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillbrookResort, Manager at Kobe Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Mojo,

Thank you for your great review. The team works hard to create a fantastic experience.

Kind regards,

Matt McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kobe Cuisine also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Kobe Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing