We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
17
24
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
24
9
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We arrived into Arrowtown last minute and were recommended this motel. It was quick walk into the main town centre and the units were very large, clean, spacious, well equipped with more than enough room for four of us. It was great value for a last minute booking!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 7shana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for your positive comments, we strive to ensure our guests are comfortable and their stay is enjoyable, very happy you were.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We were recommended to the Viking Lodge by our previous motel owners in Wanaka and it was an excellent choice. We had a very well appointed 3-room apartment with separate lounge-dining room and bathroom and laundry, and one could live here comfortably for as long as you wished. The owner was super-helpful and all her recommendations were good. We loved Arrowtown and would like to return for a golfing trip as there are some nice-looking and challenging courses nearby.

Room tip: Given the quiet setting all rooms would be fine.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thank you for your positive comments about our motel, we are very happy you were comfortable and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

This was a great place to relax and unwind. it was close to the town and was easy to find very well sign posted, was able to park my car right outside the door. Decor was good, amenities were good, All in all I could not fault the place, also there was a dairy just down the road if you did not want to walk into town. Apparently it was supposed to have free wi fi but i did not know this until i left and was not told about it when i checked in.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongiovigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thank you for your very favourable review on our Motel, we are sorry that we neglected to inform you about the free WiFi, sometimes it just gets forgotten, although the information is in the room compendium for that very reason.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The units are large and spacious however they are very basic and hard to find. Arrowtown is not a great place for street signs so can be quite confusing for visitors. The shower was cold, it took about 5 minutes for the hot water to start flowing. And the sliding door kept coming off it tracks, a good place for a night or two but I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Street signage is the responsibility of the QLDC and yes Arrowtown can be confusing for visitors unfortunately we are unable to influence the location or quantity of the street signs.
Free maps are, however, available in the office.

I'm not sure what was meant by "very basic" as all the units are provided with full kitchen including stove/range, fridge freezer, microwave, washing machine and 50+ Sky channels.

Apologies for the problem you experienced with the shower, although we have not previously been told of this issue, we appreciate being informed of any problems which then allows us to rectify them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Quiet warm units with plenty space and within easy walking distance to the shops in Arrowtown. Our unit came with its own carport so plenty of off street parking. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 724nicolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you for your positive review of our motel, we are very happy you were warm and comfortable and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews