We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TravellingBrook
Blenheim, New Zealand

Economic and spacious for families

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Mar 2020
Great spot providing all you need ,at high quality,for a travelling family.Private bedroom for parents and beds upstairs for children.Kitchen that can actually cook in and save money eating out all the time! washing machine etc,Really practical spot.lovely walks around this quaint town and better option to be comfortable here and visit queenstown than try and stay in overpriced Queentown.
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Thank you for your very positive comments, we are pleased you are happy staying at our place and enjoying what Arrowtown has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Deluxe Studio
$265
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $265
0.3 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Settlers Cottage Motels
$322
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free parking
$440
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $440
0.7 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$525
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $525
1.4 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$169
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen bed in Unit 5
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.1 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Arrowfield - Twin share bedroom
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.5 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Arrowtown
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
17
24
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
24
9
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We arrived into Arrowtown last minute and were recommended this motel. It was quick walk into the main town centre and the units were very large, clean, spacious, well equipped with more than enough room for four of us. It was great value for a last minute booking!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 7shana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for your positive comments, we strive to ensure our guests are comfortable and their stay is enjoyable, very happy you were.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We were recommended to the Viking Lodge by our previous motel owners in Wanaka and it was an excellent choice. We had a very well appointed 3-room apartment with separate lounge-dining room and bathroom and laundry, and one could live here comfortably for as long as you wished. The owner was super-helpful and all her recommendations were good. We loved Arrowtown and would like to return for a golfing trip as there are some nice-looking and challenging courses nearby.

Room tip: Given the quiet setting all rooms would be fine.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thank you for your positive comments about our motel, we are very happy you were comfortable and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

This was a great place to relax and unwind. it was close to the town and was easy to find very well sign posted, was able to park my car right outside the door. Decor was good, amenities were good, All in all I could not fault the place, also there was a dairy just down the road if you did not want to walk into town. Apparently it was supposed to have free wi fi but i did not know this until i left and was not told about it when i checked in.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongiovigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thank you for your very favourable review on our Motel, we are sorry that we neglected to inform you about the free WiFi, sometimes it just gets forgotten, although the information is in the room compendium for that very reason.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The units are large and spacious however they are very basic and hard to find. Arrowtown is not a great place for street signs so can be quite confusing for visitors. The shower was cold, it took about 5 minutes for the hot water to start flowing. And the sliding door kept coming off it tracks, a good place for a night or two but I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Street signage is the responsibility of the QLDC and yes Arrowtown can be confusing for visitors unfortunately we are unable to influence the location or quantity of the street signs.
Free maps are, however, available in the office.

I'm not sure what was meant by "very basic" as all the units are provided with full kitchen including stove/range, fridge freezer, microwave, washing machine and 50+ Sky channels.

Apologies for the problem you experienced with the shower, although we have not previously been told of this issue, we appreciate being informed of any problems which then allows us to rectify them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Quiet warm units with plenty space and within easy walking distance to the shops in Arrowtown. Our unit came with its own carport so plenty of off street parking. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 724nicolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you for your positive review of our motel, we are very happy you were warm and comfortable and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews