We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Robert C
Mt Eliza, Australia

Very comfortable and well-appointed

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2017
We were recommended to the Viking Lodge by our previous motel owners in Wanaka and it was an excellent choice. We had a very well appointed 3-room apartment with separate lounge-dining room and bathroom and laundry, and one could live here comfortably for as long as you wished. The owner was super-helpful and all her recommendations were good. We loved Arrowtown and would like to return for a golfing trip as there are some nice-looking and challenging courses nearby.
Date of stay: September 2017
Room Tip: Given the quiet setting all rooms would be fine.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review
Responded 27 Oct 2017
Thank you for your positive comments about our motel, we are very happy you were comfortable and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Deluxe Studio
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Settlers Cottage Motels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
1.1 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen bed in Unit 5
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free parking
Aerial
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Arrowfield - Twin share bedroom
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our bedroom
Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Arrowtown
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
17
24
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
24
9
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2017

This was a great place to relax and unwind. it was close to the town and was easy to find very well sign posted, was able to park my car right outside the door. Decor was good, amenities were good, All in all I could not fault the place, also there was a dairy just down the road if you did not want to walk into town. Apparently it was supposed to have free wi fi but i did not know this until i left and was not told about it when i checked in.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongiovigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thank you for your very favourable review on our Motel, we are sorry that we neglected to inform you about the free WiFi, sometimes it just gets forgotten, although the information is in the room compendium for that very reason.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The units are large and spacious however they are very basic and hard to find. Arrowtown is not a great place for street signs so can be quite confusing for visitors. The shower was cold, it took about 5 minutes for the hot water to start flowing. And the sliding door kept coming off it tracks, a good place for a night or two but I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Street signage is the responsibility of the QLDC and yes Arrowtown can be confusing for visitors unfortunately we are unable to influence the location or quantity of the street signs.
Free maps are, however, available in the office.

I'm not sure what was meant by "very basic" as all the units are provided with full kitchen including stove/range, fridge freezer, microwave, washing machine and 50+ Sky channels.

Apologies for the problem you experienced with the shower, although we have not previously been told of this issue, we appreciate being informed of any problems which then allows us to rectify them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Quiet warm units with plenty space and within easy walking distance to the shops in Arrowtown. Our unit came with its own carport so plenty of off street parking. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 724nicolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you for your positive review of our motel, we are very happy you were warm and comfortable and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. it's such a great relaxing place to stay as a family in such a picturesque town. We loved the peaceful atmosphere and the comfortable units. beds are very comfortable too. we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank apparition1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Thanks very much for your positive words about Arrowtown Viking Lodge, very happy you were comfortable, and found the peace and quiet to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

While the decor was a little dated and the pressure in the shower not quite as we'd like, it was a comfortable, clean and well appointed motel unit. The staff were welcoming and friendly. It was great to have a full size fridge with freezer as opposed to the usual "caravan" type fridge, and having a washing machine in the unit was really convenient. This motel is pet friendly and allowed us to have our dog inside with us which is a must for our family. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend to others. Thank you Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dacarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for your positive review we try hard to be welcoming and helpful in order to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Thanks also for letting us know about the shower pressure we will endeavour to rectify this asap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews