We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kathryn M
Adelaide, Australia

Large Motel

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 May 2017
The units are large and spacious however they are very basic and hard to find. Arrowtown is not a great place for street signs so can be quite confusing for visitors. The shower was cold, it took about 5 minutes for the hot water to start flowing. And the sliding door kept coming off it tracks, a good place for a night or two but I wouldn't choose to stay here again.
Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review
Responded 6 May 2017
Street signage is the responsibility of the QLDC and yes Arrowtown can be confusing for visitors unfortunately we are unable to influence the location or quantity of the street signs.
Free maps are, however, available in the office.

I'm not sure what was meant by "very basic" as all the units are provided with full kitchen including stove/range, fridge freezer, microwave, washing machine and 50+ Sky channels.

Apologies for the problem you experienced with the shower, although we have not previously been told of this issue, we appreciate being informed of any problems which then allows us to rectify them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$232
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $211
  • Expedia.com
    $215
0.3 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$260
  • Priceline
    $282
  • Vio.com
    $282
  • eDreams
    $260
0.5 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$177
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $177
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free parking
Aerial
$450
  • Priceline
    $489
  • Expedia.com
    $466
  • Hotels.com
    $455
0.7 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$525
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $525
  • Agoda.com
    $492
  • Expedia.com
    $525
1.4 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $153
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Expedia.com
    $153
0.7 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$737
  • Hotels.com
    $737
  • Priceline
    $737
  • Vio.com
    $737
5.3 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$525
  • Priceline
    $525
  • ZenHotels.com
    $499
  • Hotels.com
    $553
7.1 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One Bedroom Apartment
$743
  • Priceline
    $743
  • Hotels.com
    $742
  • Expedia.com
    $743
8.2 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Arrowtown
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
17
24
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
24
9
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Quiet warm units with plenty space and within easy walking distance to the shops in Arrowtown. Our unit came with its own carport so plenty of off street parking. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 724nicolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you for your positive review of our motel, we are very happy you were warm and comfortable and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. it's such a great relaxing place to stay as a family in such a picturesque town. We loved the peaceful atmosphere and the comfortable units. beds are very comfortable too. we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank apparition1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Thanks very much for your positive words about Arrowtown Viking Lodge, very happy you were comfortable, and found the peace and quiet to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

While the decor was a little dated and the pressure in the shower not quite as we'd like, it was a comfortable, clean and well appointed motel unit. The staff were welcoming and friendly. It was great to have a full size fridge with freezer as opposed to the usual "caravan" type fridge, and having a washing machine in the unit was really convenient. This motel is pet friendly and allowed us to have our dog inside with us which is a must for our family. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend to others. Thank you Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dacarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for your positive review we try hard to be welcoming and helpful in order to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Thanks also for letting us know about the shower pressure we will endeavour to rectify this asap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We spent 3 nights here and found it spacious, comfortable and quiet. Great traditional motel with everything you need in the kitchen, clean bathroom and comfy bed. Handy to Four Square and short walk to Arrowtown centre. Would certainly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kakanui1371
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for your positive words about our Motel, and very pleased you had everything you needed to make your stay enjoyable.
Would love to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We were so pleased to find this cosy motel after trying to get reasonable accommodation in Queenstown which is overpriced & unavailable.
Arrowtown has such a relaxed, vibrant atmosphere without the hassles of Queenstown which is very close for a day visit to see its highlights.
Sheelagh was very efficient, knowledgable & helpful.
I gave it a 4 because the wi-fi kept dropping out & there was noise from the building
next door where they are renovating. (However, that is really good news for the future because it means the owners are improving their wonderful asset here).
We had a 2 bedroom chalet which would be great for a family. I can confidently recommend this place to anyone who needs clean, well appointed accommodation in beautiful Arrowtown.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenwaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Hi, and thanks for your positive review of our motel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, and Arrowtown in general. We hope you will return one day and in the meantime enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews