We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Derek
Dunedin, New Zealand

Comfortable, quiet, relaxing- great for families

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Feb 2017via mobile
Really enjoyed our stay here. it's such a great relaxing place to stay as a family in such a picturesque town. We loved the peaceful atmosphere and the comfortable units. beds are very comfortable too. we will definitely be back.
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review
Responded 6 Feb 2017
Thanks very much for your positive words about Arrowtown Viking Lodge, very happy you were comfortable, and found the peace and quiet to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$232
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $211
  • Expedia.com
    $215
0.3 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$260
  • Priceline
    $282
  • Vio.com
    $282
  • eDreams
    $260
0.5 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$177
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $177
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free parking
Aerial
$450
  • Priceline
    $489
  • Expedia.com
    $466
  • Hotels.com
    $455
0.7 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$525
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $525
  • Agoda.com
    $492
  • Expedia.com
    $525
1.4 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $153
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Expedia.com
    $153
0.7 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Arrowfield - Twin share bedroom
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$737
  • Hotels.com
    $737
  • Priceline
    $737
  • Vio.com
    $737
5.3 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$525
  • Priceline
    $525
  • ZenHotels.com
    $499
  • Hotels.com
    $553
7.1 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Arrowtown
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
17
24
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
24
9
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2017

While the decor was a little dated and the pressure in the shower not quite as we'd like, it was a comfortable, clean and well appointed motel unit. The staff were welcoming and friendly. It was great to have a full size fridge with freezer as opposed to the usual "caravan" type fridge, and having a washing machine in the unit was really convenient. This motel is pet friendly and allowed us to have our dog inside with us which is a must for our family. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend to others. Thank you Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dacarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for your positive review we try hard to be welcoming and helpful in order to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Thanks also for letting us know about the shower pressure we will endeavour to rectify this asap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We spent 3 nights here and found it spacious, comfortable and quiet. Great traditional motel with everything you need in the kitchen, clean bathroom and comfy bed. Handy to Four Square and short walk to Arrowtown centre. Would certainly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kakanui1371
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for your positive words about our Motel, and very pleased you had everything you needed to make your stay enjoyable.
Would love to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We were so pleased to find this cosy motel after trying to get reasonable accommodation in Queenstown which is overpriced & unavailable.
Arrowtown has such a relaxed, vibrant atmosphere without the hassles of Queenstown which is very close for a day visit to see its highlights.
Sheelagh was very efficient, knowledgable & helpful.
I gave it a 4 because the wi-fi kept dropping out & there was noise from the building
next door where they are renovating. (However, that is really good news for the future because it means the owners are improving their wonderful asset here).
We had a 2 bedroom chalet which would be great for a family. I can confidently recommend this place to anyone who needs clean, well appointed accommodation in beautiful Arrowtown.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenwaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Hi, and thanks for your positive review of our motel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, and Arrowtown in general. We hope you will return one day and in the meantime enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We booked this one nighter as we were travelling down to Queenstown. It was immaculately clean and very easy to find and check in. Sheelagh was very professional and friendly. Really recommend the place.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Whittakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thank you so much for your positive feed back, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We were two couples who stayed here in November 2016 for three nights - we had an A frame cottage (No. 2) - this was a two storey unit - upstairs consisted of three beds - one double and two singles. Downstairs had a separate bedroom with a queen sized bedroom. We also had a complete kitchen - fridge, microwave, stove etc. you get the idea - see the photos

We had a separate laundry/bathroom with a washing machine and a separate walk in shower and toilet.

The shower was OK for us but I could see for larger people it could be a bit of a squeeze.

We also had a lounge room with two sofas. We also had a large screen TV with Sky available (free to air TV in NZ is woeful).

We had Wifi also - and for us this worked OK we found no problems with it - it worked OK on our tablet

Firstly yes the décor is a little dated - 1980"s NZ style but it was OK - all clean, neat and tidy.

The owners/managers were more than friendly (typical NZ - the people are very friendly)

Yes the driveway to our unit was a little tight - but for someone with a drivers licence this should not be a problem

The park had various facilities - and was very quiet at night - no noise at all

If you are dismayed at the prices for accommodation in Queenstown then the Viking Lodge at Arrowtown is more than a suitable alternative at a reasonable price - the price for our unit on a nightly basis was far cheaper than the a nights accommodation in Queenstown ( 2 people - 2 rooms) - so give it a go and forgive the 1980's NZ décor (must have been popular then). All in all we had a great time here - the driving time to Queenstown was about 20 minutes or so depending on how you drive

Room tip: All the units are reasonably quiet
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thanks George, your positive comments are really appreciated, and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews