We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dacarson
Balclutha, New Zealand

Comfortable, clean, pet friendly accommodation in beautiful Arrowtown

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jan 2017
While the decor was a little dated and the pressure in the shower not quite as we'd like, it was a comfortable, clean and well appointed motel unit. The staff were welcoming and friendly. It was great to have a full size fridge with freezer as opposed to the usual "caravan" type fridge, and having a washing machine in the unit was really convenient. This motel is pet friendly and allowed us to have our dog inside with us which is a must for our family. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend to others. Thank you Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel.
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review
Responded 29 Jan 2017
Thank you for your positive review we try hard to be welcoming and helpful in order to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Thanks also for letting us know about the shower pressure we will endeavour to rectify this asap.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Settlers Cottage Motels
$183
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $171
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free parking
$260
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $260
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$177
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free parking
Aerial
$396
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $346
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Studio
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $235
  • Agoda.com
    $209
  • Hotels.com
    $212
0.3 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen bed in Unit 5
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $408
  • Hotels.com
    $444
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Arrowfield - Twin share bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
1.5 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our bedroom
    0.4 km from Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Arrowtown
    Reviews (52)
    Filter reviews
    52 results
    Traveller rating
    17
    24
    9
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    17
    24
    9
    1
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 52 reviews
    Reviewed 14 January 2017

    We spent 3 nights here and found it spacious, comfortable and quiet. Great traditional motel with everything you need in the kitchen, clean bathroom and comfy bed. Handy to Four Square and short walk to Arrowtown centre. Would certainly recommend.

    Date of stay: January 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank kakanui1371
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

    Thank you for your positive words about our Motel, and very pleased you had everything you needed to make your stay enjoyable.
    Would love to see you here again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 November 2016

    We were so pleased to find this cosy motel after trying to get reasonable accommodation in Queenstown which is overpriced & unavailable.
    Arrowtown has such a relaxed, vibrant atmosphere without the hassles of Queenstown which is very close for a day visit to see its highlights.
    Sheelagh was very efficient, knowledgable & helpful.
    I gave it a 4 because the wi-fi kept dropping out & there was noise from the building
    next door where they are renovating. (However, that is really good news for the future because it means the owners are improving their wonderful asset here).
    We had a 2 bedroom chalet which would be great for a family. I can confidently recommend this place to anyone who needs clean, well appointed accommodation in beautiful Arrowtown.

    Date of stay: November 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Jenwaldo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

    Hi, and thanks for your positive review of our motel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, and Arrowtown in general. We hope you will return one day and in the meantime enjoy the rest of your holiday.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

    We booked this one nighter as we were travelling down to Queenstown. It was immaculately clean and very easy to find and check in. Sheelagh was very professional and friendly. Really recommend the place.

    Date of stay: November 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Whittakb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

    Thank you so much for your positive feed back, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 November 2016

    We were two couples who stayed here in November 2016 for three nights - we had an A frame cottage (No. 2) - this was a two storey unit - upstairs consisted of three beds - one double and two singles. Downstairs had a separate bedroom with a queen sized bedroom. We also had a complete kitchen - fridge, microwave, stove etc. you get the idea - see the photos

    We had a separate laundry/bathroom with a washing machine and a separate walk in shower and toilet.

    The shower was OK for us but I could see for larger people it could be a bit of a squeeze.

    We also had a lounge room with two sofas. We also had a large screen TV with Sky available (free to air TV in NZ is woeful).

    We had Wifi also - and for us this worked OK we found no problems with it - it worked OK on our tablet

    Firstly yes the décor is a little dated - 1980"s NZ style but it was OK - all clean, neat and tidy.

    The owners/managers were more than friendly (typical NZ - the people are very friendly)

    Yes the driveway to our unit was a little tight - but for someone with a drivers licence this should not be a problem

    The park had various facilities - and was very quiet at night - no noise at all

    If you are dismayed at the prices for accommodation in Queenstown then the Viking Lodge at Arrowtown is more than a suitable alternative at a reasonable price - the price for our unit on a nightly basis was far cheaper than the a nights accommodation in Queenstown ( 2 people - 2 rooms) - so give it a go and forgive the 1980's NZ décor (must have been popular then). All in all we had a great time here - the driving time to Queenstown was about 20 minutes or so depending on how you drive

    Room tip: All the units are reasonably quiet
    Date of stay: November 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank George B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

    Thanks George, your positive comments are really appreciated, and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
    Hope to see you again some time.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 May 2016

    I have seen in an article that this motel has four and a half stars.
    It either needs a complete refurbishment or demolish and start again.
    I have been told the units are privately owned and a Manager is on site. She appears to work hard but owners do not want to spend money.
    A lingering smell, holes on the stairs carpet and lighting so bad it was impossible to read.

    Date of stay: March 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank PMR1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

    Thank you for your thoughts on Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, the fact you were undoubtedly disappointed is to say the least, upsetting for us.
    We have never pretended to be a 4.5 star motel and are qualmark rated "3.5 stars", yes the carpet on the stairs is worn but hardly in holes and is due for replacement during the off season this year.
    Lighting.... we were using low energy bulbs as part of our sustainable energy vision, but have now replaced them with LED bulbs which have made difference.
    Unfortunately, sometimes there are lingering cooking smells left by previous guests we do our best to eliminate them, but obviously in this instance we didn't succeed, possibly, if we had been informed we could have offered an alternative unit.
    My apologies for your disappointment.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews