We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find”

Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lakes District Museum is situated in the heart of picturesque Arrowtown. The museum houses a fantastic collection of artifacts and information about the history of this gorgeous district. Suitable for all ages, the museum is fun for all ages as we take a 'hands-on' approach to our displays. Take a wander around and don't forget to peek into all of the nooks and crannies so that you don't miss anything! The museum is also the Information Centre for Arrowtown and we can help you with any advice that you need about the best way to enjoy Arrowtown and its surrounds.
Reviewed 27 November 2017

I make a point of going to the I Site when new in town - the staff here were as usual very friendly and helpful and sold us on visiting the museum which is in the major part of this deceptively large building - the exhibits are on two floors and show in very good displays and exhibits the history of this once gold mining town - our time was short but we could not help spending longer than we intended as it was so interesting - for the $10 entry fee excellent value for money - as a bonus there was a historic costume display in the foyer which could be viewed for a token donation.

Thank GDay1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesDistrictMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thanks for your lovely review. The most common comment we receive is that the museum is much larger than it looks!
J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great displays"
in 10 reviews
"per adult"
in 6 reviews
"entry fee"
in 9 reviews
"local history"
in 15 reviews
"gold mining"
in 23 reviews
"lakes district"
in 11 reviews
"gold rush"
in 19 reviews
"early settlers"
in 9 reviews
"a real gem"
in 4 reviews
"gold coin donation"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 7 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 16 reviews
"rainy day"
in 6 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 7 reviews
"visiting arrowtown"
in 4 reviews
"the main street"
in 8 reviews
"chinese settlement"
in 7 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017

The Lakes District Museum is not fancy, but it’s fun. Gives a great perspective on the region from Maori through now. Shows the ups and downs of development through narrative, film and recreations of life in 3D dioramas of scenes from the lives of the early settlers. Worth a visit.

Thank tellurideinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesDistrictMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

I walk past couple times before visit this museum with friends. It look small form out side but much bigger inside. So many variety history about Arrowtown, nice ambience feel like back in 19's, nice staffs they know lot of history. One of a place that I would recommended to visit in Arrowtown/Queenstown.

Thank Tama N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesDistrictMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. Our staff are always happy to help answer questions.
J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Have visited this museum may times over the years when we bring friends to Arrowtown. We like to visit the Chinese settlement and then move down to the Museum as it all ties in nicely. The displays especially the lower floor with the shops, school etc set up is great for children to visualize what life was like. Could easily spend a couple of hours there it ties in the local history. Great gift shop and very clean toilets all well worth the entry fee. Often an art exhibition also running, recently we saw the tribal costumes very interesting, entry to this is voluntary gold coin donation.

Thank DJandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesDistrictMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for this great review. The Chinese Settlement is definitely a must-do in Arrowtown as well isn't it. We are pleased that you enjoy our museum.
J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We spent a couple of ours wandering through the exhibits at this museum. They tell about the history of Arrowtown and its surrounding region as well as what life was like there in the 1800s. I found the exhibits fascinating and had a hard time leaving, even though lunch was beckoning. This is an excellent regional museum - well organized and well run. I recommend it to any visitor who wants to learn more about the place he or she is visiting. There is lots to learn and lots more to think about.

Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesDistrictMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you. We love hearing when visitors have enjoyed taking their time and having a good look around - although we appreciate that many of our visitors are on a tight travelling schedule!
J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery also viewed

 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing