We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome historical museum, much bigger than it look.”

Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.54*
and up
Historical Arrowtown Tour from Queenstown
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lakes District Museum is situated in the heart of picturesque Arrowtown. The museum houses a fantastic collection of artifacts and information about the history of this gorgeous district. Suitable for all ages, the museum is fun for all ages as we take a 'hands-on' approach to our displays. Take a wander around and don't forget to peek into all of the nooks and crannies so that you don't miss anything! The museum is also the Information Centre for Arrowtown and we can help you with any advice that you need about the best way to enjoy Arrowtown and its surrounds.
Reviewed 23 November 2017

I walk past couple times before visit this museum with friends. It look small form out side but much bigger inside. So many variety history about Arrowtown, nice ambience feel like back in 19's, nice staffs they know lot of history. One of a place that I would recommended to visit in Arrowtown/Queenstown.

Thank Tama N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesDistrictMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. Our staff are always happy to help answer questions.
J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great displays"
in 10 reviews
"per adult"
in 6 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 5 reviews
"gold mining"
in 22 reviews
"local history"
in 13 reviews
"entry fee"
in 7 reviews
"district museum"
in 10 reviews
"gold rush"
in 19 reviews
"gold coin donation"
in 6 reviews
"early settlers"
in 8 reviews
"on display"
in 7 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 7 reviews
"early days"
in 4 reviews
"rainy day"
in 5 reviews
"new zealand"
in 14 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 7 reviews
"little gem"
in 5 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017

Have visited this museum may times over the years when we bring friends to Arrowtown. We like to visit the Chinese settlement and then move down to the Museum as it all ties in nicely. The displays especially the lower floor with the shops, school etc set up is great for children to visualize what life was like. Could easily spend a couple of hours there it ties in the local history. Great gift shop and very clean toilets all well worth the entry fee. Often an art exhibition also running, recently we saw the tribal costumes very interesting, entry to this is voluntary gold coin donation.

Thank DJandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesDistrictMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for this great review. The Chinese Settlement is definitely a must-do in Arrowtown as well isn't it. We are pleased that you enjoy our museum.
J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We spent a couple of ours wandering through the exhibits at this museum. They tell about the history of Arrowtown and its surrounding region as well as what life was like there in the 1800s. I found the exhibits fascinating and had a hard time leaving, even though lunch was beckoning. This is an excellent regional museum - well organized and well run. I recommend it to any visitor who wants to learn more about the place he or she is visiting. There is lots to learn and lots more to think about.

Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesDistrictMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you. We love hearing when visitors have enjoyed taking their time and having a good look around - although we appreciate that many of our visitors are on a tight travelling schedule!
J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Initially wondered about the entry fee but believe it well worth the price. An excellent collection of historical memorabilia specific to the era and area.

Thank ozziemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesDistrictMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your visit. We are a Charitable Trust and your admission fee enables us to operate! We keep the archives for our region as well and so your $10 goes towards all sorts of 'behind the scenes' work that we do to preserve the history of our area.
J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

This is a great place to visit; showing so much of the history of the region. It is set in an old bank. It was 10$ admission, but definitely worth it. Really good place; which I would recommend.

Thank nickss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesDistrictMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your great review.
J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery also viewed

 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing