We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out from the cold”

Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe
Ranked #2 of 4 Quick Bites in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Housed in a historic cottage in pictuesque Arrowtown, the Cafe serves as a bakery and coffee shop serving savoury and sweet pies, sandwiches and hot dishes. It is licensed serving local Central Otago wines.
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

0 degrees in Arrowtown, exploring the beautiful town. Found provisions purely by walking around we weren't actually looking for it.

Stunning building that has all the character and charm that makes Arrowtown so appealing. The charm doesn't end when you enter the building.

Started off just grabbing a coffee but then got interested in the food as we waited so decided to grab a bite to eat. Wifey had steak and Guinness pie which was awesome! I had the egg and bacon pie, which was ok but nothing to write home about.

Was good to get out of the cold and the staff their were friendly. Cosy seating adds to the charm.

Food: 70%
Ambience: 75%
Service: 76%
Coffee: 65%

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank WarrenJ224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal S, Owner at Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Hi Warren
Great that you found our wee cafe and enjoyed the ambience of our historic building. Thanks for your feedback and we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Wonderful sticky buns and is a must try.
We had our brunch around 11 plus and was lucky that we get to try e famous buns.. can slowly see the crowd coming in after that. As it was winter, we were seated inside else will be lovely to be seated outside.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Wanggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal S, Owner at Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

So glad you enjoyed your brunch and sticky buns.. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

We had breakfast here and the cakes and coffee are fantastic. We were lucky to find a table in the garden. We wish we could have stayed longer in the area to try other dishes.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Rockets_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal S, Owner at Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thanks so much & we’re so happy you shared your enjoyment of our wee cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Not sure what more can be said about Provisions. The sticky buns are diabolically good. Coffee is amaizing. Just go.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank BravoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal S, Owner at Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you - so great to know we hit the spot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

This cafe comes with extremely high recommendations. They must be locals - the staff are only interested in their friends - stand at the counter while they chat to their friends, reluctantly stop to serve you! And seem very put out by this, so why they are processing the eftpos, continue to talk over you. On top of that coffee was barely drinkable. Definitely won’t be back!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Sonya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal S, Owner at Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

I am really sorry about your disappointing experience. We pride ourselves on our great coffee and friendly service and so if you can give us a second chance we would love to have you back and look after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe also viewed

 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing