We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
21 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
Riu.com
WIOL.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,885)
Filter reviews
5,885 results
Traveller rating
3,194
1,666
603
229
193
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,194
1,666
603
229
193
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster fusion restaurant costa rica monkey bar specialty restaurants jacuzzi bath pool bar zip lining michael jackson garden view pura vida nightly shows papagayo restaurant water taxi reservation system lunch buffet sister hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
688 - 693 of 5,885 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2019

Beautiful resort, hotel is fab in an idealic location. Very quiet and unspoilt beach just next to the hotel. Hotel is spotless, everywhere and the staff very friendly, helpful and polite. Lots of choice of restaurants and food was fabulous.
Just loved everything about it and will definitely return

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank caronabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019

Beautiful country, beautiful people and beautiful property.........This resort was very special to us as they learned our name and called us by name, very kind, loving people, the food at the resort was excellent and always fresh, the hotel was spotless and the property itself was breathtakingly beautiful. We did the zip lining tour that included the volcanic mud bath and it was so relaxing a must do if you plan to do a tour, I highly recommend this one. We loved every bit of Costa Rica...Pura Vida

Date of stay: April 2018
3  Thank MrsVee440442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019

This has been a return trip for me to the Hotel Riu Palace i Costa Rica. Without exception this is the best Riu for service. From the front desk to the pool/bar attendants to the servers and helpers at all of the excellent restaurants, the service and attention was beyond expectation. The room attendants were also excellent and went well beyond what could possibly be expected. I would like to mention Max Cubillo and Daniel from the front desk as well as Edwin, Marlon, Jose, Jean Carlos, Luigi, Nicole, Hernandez and others from the bars. These individuals went out of their way to make our holiday a memory. Monica and the men and women from the buffet restaurant were remarkable as well as all of the individuals in the specialty restaurants. I would like to make a special mention of the food. It was just excellent and we were served every meal by a happy, courteous and smiling individual. I have already booked another return visit for 2020.

Room tip: Suites on the fifth floor are just excellent
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019

The hotel is in a great location. Just a short walk down the beach you will find the tame monkeys. They are great to watch. There is a monkey bar along the way which we had one drink in. If you carry on along the road there next to the trees you can go on a nice walk which eventually loops back to the beach. We went early morning and saw lots of different birds and howler monkeys. You can also see and hear the howler monkeys from the hotel. Having a walk at night you might see other interesting creatures too, we saw a scorpion.

The hotel is generally nice with some good drinks and nice rooms. The entertainment wasn't really for us. My main issue was with the pools. They could be very noisy and overcrowded at times, especially at weekends. Sometimes there would be people playing their own music quite loudly. People would also just stay and drink in the pool with the bar all day and these would be very crowded. I didn't however see any trouble, I would just say it wasn't the most relaxing pool area.

Overall the stay was great and the food not bad, one tip would be add better labels to food

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

Dear Jo,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave a great review.

I am happy to read you enjoyed your overall visit and very much appreciate your positive feedback.

At the same time, I seriously appreciate your feedback and we will keep it in mind as we work to improve our services for the future.

We will hope to welcome you back in a near future.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019

This might just be one of my new favorite places to visit. The people were real proficient. They even decorated our room for our 25th anniversary. Food was spectacular and of course the drinks were abundant! We will return!!!!!!!!!

Room tip: Get the room with the beach view and the jacuzzi!
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SpencerOleSwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews