We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow! A fantastic detached villa with a pool and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Los Romanes, Vinuela, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

beckb67
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow! A fantastic detached villa with a pool and amazing view of lake and mountains”
Reviewed 9 August 2019 for a stay in July 2019

The villa itself is just perfect. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax with amazing views then this is the place for you. The house takes advantage of the hillside location by being of upside down construction. Located in a row of several villas, the neighbours are close but clever planting of shrubs means it feels very private. The living area leads out onto a spacious terrace that has sunny and shaded areas, overlooks the lake and we ate all our meals there. The kitchen is very well equipped with every pan or item you could ever need. Washing, washing up and dishwasher supplies, toilet roll are all included so no need to buy large amounts for a week’s stay. The fridge was stocked with essentials before our arrival by the cleaning lady who also arrived the following day to sell homegrown produce.

From the first contact with Sue, the owner, nothing was too much trouble. We were looking for a pool with a reasonable deep end for our grown up tall sons and Casa 23 was just right. Surprisingly difficult to find a pool like this as so many are all the same depth, understandable for young families but not our requirement. Nearing the holiday date Sue sent a detailed email with everything we needed to know, from accessing the villa to directions from the airport.

There is no set arrival time for the villa so our 3 hour flight delay did not affect gaining access. Sue thoughtfully kept in touch, at 11pm UK time to make sure we had landed and would be in time to collect our hire car. Her detailed directions were very useful as we arrived, tired and a bit stressed at the villa at 2am Spanish time. A folder with even more helpful details is in the villa and cards to activate the air con.

Sue is always just an SMS message away at any time and was able to resolve an issue with the WIFI promptly.

The pool is a highlight of the villa and as mentioned previously it has a generous deep end so ideally suited to our tall sons. The roman steps made it so easy to get in and out. It gets the morning/lunchtime sun so if you are concerned about sun exposure you can time your swim to late afternoon in the shade.

Apart from the pool there are books, games, first aid kit, sun cream, hats, plenty of towels, shopping bags, just everything you could possibly need and it very much felt like a home.

The beds were comfortable with two of the three rooms enjoying the lake view. Access from the main bedroom to a lower terrace was very handy.

We dined at Vento el Charco just a short walk up the road which was delicious, recommend the barbeque meats. They have live music some nights which can be heard from the villa terrace but it is not obtrusive. We also enjoyed kayaking and pedalos at Aqua Vinuela on the lake, just a ten minute drive round to the other side. Two of us then booked canyoning on the Rio Verde through them, meeting at Torrox. A great day out. Nerja is just 40 mins away by car if you want to experience the shops, restaurants or beach there. There is a selection of supermarkets within easy reach by car.

Our return flight was at 9pm and we were able to stay at the villa until 5pm which was unusual and made for a more relaxed exit. No panic to be out by 10am which is usually the case.

We would wholeheartedly recommend Casa 23, it is our third villa holiday in Spain and by far the best property (and owner!). You can tell Sue has given a lot of thought to what will enhance your stay with attention to detail not found elsewhere. Chill out and relax at the villa or find many activities within a short drive, you will not be disappointed.
Thank you Sue :)

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Aug 2019
Well that is certainly a most comprehensive review! We are glad you had a great time. Funnily enough we have been thinking of making the pool shallower ...but you have made us think again! As you say most pools are too shallow to do anything in!!! Come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweetfami...
1 review
“Amazing villa”
Reviewed 29 July 2019 for a stay in July 2019

We have just come back from casa 23 & it was everything we expected & more. When we arrived Sue had provided us a very generous welcome pack, which was just lovely after travelling.The villa has everything you could possibly need. The views are stunning & you never get tired of looking at them. Rob & Ronda next door were so lovely & felt like friends.
The shack just up the hill serves great drinks, which we loved & we had lovely meals at el charco & el horno.
The pool was a great size & my boys loved swimming in there.
Everyone in the village is so friendly that my son even went to play golf one day.
We can't wait to come back x x

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Aug 2019
So glad you enjoyed your time at Casa23. Yes the views are truly amazing.
We would love you to return. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
249ivana
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Villa.”
Reviewed 14 July 2019 for a stay in June 2019

First of all Sue is excellent to deal with regarding the initial booking, and then the passage of emails to deal with the payment and information regarding the villa. As the time got closer to the visit we connected with her by mobile\whatsapp. Great to know she was on hand if we were stuck. Road access to the villa is safe and easy, you need have no concerns about finding the property, look for the gap in the wall with the bright purple Bougainville to the right. Sues directions are comprehensive.

Park your car right at the front door, so no steps to carry the shopping, and access straight into the kitchen, another villa big plus. Although we did the Eroski big shop before driving up to the villa, the welcome pack was the best we’d experienced at any villa we’ve used, milk, bread,eggs,beer,wine,Cava, fruit and so on. Good selection of herbs & spices, salt & pepper & olive oil. The house comes fully equipped for you to turn up with a cabin bag, soaps & toiletries in all the showers, it has all been thought about.

Living room is comfortable, good tv, comfy sofas, books, games, Bluetooth speaker for outside use. Powerful air con unit if you want it. Compressive first aid box.

Kitchen fully equipped, cool bags for the supermarket shop, cool box, big fridge and separate freezer. We were never stuck for anything at Casa 23, it was just remembering where WE HAD seen it.

Patios off the main living room are the hub of the house, good shade which kicks in from 10am , walk out onto the open patio and you will have sun all day. Permanent charcoal bbq on the patio. Lots of cushions for the many chairs and sun bed options, to keep everything comfy.

Downstairs from the main living room to the bedroom, all with air con, we only used the en suite room, and for once I found the bed and pillows comfortable. I always struggle with pillows away from home (age thing ?) . Nice quiet air con unit.

En suite bathroom had a nice big walk in shower, wet room style, with powerful and plentiful hot water. Shampoo and body wash all provided......

Back outside, downstairs to the bedroom level patio, which we never used, and then down to the pool. Immaculately clean (thank you Rob). And then that view.....wow.

Overall this is a superb villa, in a great spot for relaxation and taking in the spectacular scenery of Axarquia. If you’re a meat eater, then you have one of the best steakhouses a short walk from the villa.

Sue mentioned to us very early on in our communications, running the villa was her hobby, well she certainly makes a great job of that ! Great service.

We will certainly be back in touch Sue.

Ivan & Helen

Morpeth
Northumberland.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 Jul 2019
Wow what a comprehensive review. Thank you so much. I know I would appreciate those comments if I were booking. I am pleased that you feel I provide a comprehensive service. That is my aim to provide a hassle free trip. As a renter of villas myself in the past I know how they fell short. You are more than welcome back my cleaner said it was spotless. Thank you for that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go2766675...
1 review
“Beautiful,relaxing villa with fantastic views”
Reviewed 4 July 2019 for a stay in June 2019

Our family of 4 stayed at Casa 23 in June. The villa was very well equipped, comfortable and we wanted for nothing during our stay. We arrived late at night in the dark and it can be a little difficult to find but if you struggle find El Charcos restaurant and descend the hill where you will find the villa further down behind a wall on the left. Speaking of El Charcos...this is a friendly and reasonably priced restaurant only a 5 minute walk away. Either book a table or go early though as the restaurant can get very busy. There is a lovely bakery for fresh bread in the morning if you order a loaf the day before in the centre of the village along with a well stocked co-op which also has a butchers counter. Despite doing a large shop in one of the supermarkets on the way from the airport we actually found the co-op stocked almost everything you needed and at a similar price.
Now back to the villa. As mentioned before this very well equipped. In fact I would go as far as to say probably the best equipped villa I have stayed in. The views from the balconies are spectacular and it is lovely and quiet. Rob the ex pat neighbour who cleans the pool is very friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of the area. The pool itself was a good size and very clean but be aware if you have small children that the pool is two flights of stairs lower down and is quite deep so small children need to be supervised an elderly people may find the steep stairs difficult.
We had fantastic weather, around 32 degrees but with a cool breeze filtering around the balcony it was manageable.
Overall we had a wonderful week and would have liked to stay longer! Sue the owner was in touch via text regularly to make sure we didn't need anything and very helpful. If you want a peaceful, spectacular location for a quiet week away or somewhere as a base to visit the area do consider Casa 23. We have already recommended it to friends.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Jul 2019
Thanks for your review. I am so glad you had a good time and enjoyed El Charco....we are so lucky that one of the best restaurants around is on our doorstep. Sometimes though the view will do! Come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markpug
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Villa”
Reviewed 18 June 2019 for a stay in June 2019

We stayed for 8 nights at Casa 23. This is the second time we have stayed. The villa is ideally situated in the village of Los Romanes. Over looking the lake Vinuela, the view are beautiful. With the surrounding mountains as a beautiful backdrop.
On arrival there were a few complimentary basics and fruits. The villa is fully equipped with everything you need in the kitchen. It has one ensuite shower room. A family bathroom, and an upstairs cloakroom. All very clean. The patio are gets the sun nearly all day. On the lower area there is a swimming pool, which is regularly cleaned.
A couple of hundred meters away is a restaurant/bar, which is very good.
This is a lovely villa.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Jun 2019
Thanks for your review. It’s always a pleasure to welcome returning clients. Come again soon. Glad you had a great holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.