We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome Working Museum.

Fantastic opportunity to get up close to some of the icons of New Zealand’s aviation history - with... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2020
MarkR986
,
Dunedin, New Zealand
via mobile
Little Gem

At Ardmore Aerodrome - south of Auckland. Interesting guided visit around the War Birds Facility... read more

Reviewed 22 February 2020
Sandra S
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 30 reviews
  
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
26
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
26
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scale model working museum static displays new zealand ardmore spitfire skyhawk mustang collection visitors enthusiasts knowledge auckland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2020

On the Ardmore Airport (the busiest airport in the southern hemisphere) are two hangers of war planes. I have lived nearby for years and the planes often fly over my house but I have never before visited the exhibition.
They have a Spitfire, a P45 Mustang, a Skyhawk and many many more aircraft. Almost all of them still fly. I was fascinated by the pre-WWII planes. The beauty of the engineering is fascinating and there are not many places you can get so close to the planes. You can also pay to have a flight in many of he planes. That is something I am planning for later in the year.
The staff were all very helpful and knowledgeable. I will be taking all my visitors there in future.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZBenS, Volunteer at NZ Warbirds Association, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2021

Thank you Howard for taking the time to review our attraction. Our staff and volunteers pride ourselves on making visitors experiences memorable and enjoy sharing our knowledge about our special aircraft. Please visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2019 via mobile

After having a nice lunch at the local cafe watching the small planes take off we went to visit the nearby Warbirds Museum. On arrival we were greeted by a very enthusiast guide and entered the museum. Inside are a variety of firstly World War Two planes all in great condition with most in flying order-some maybe missing from display as they are out flying. Upstairs is a large model collection and interesting information boards. A short walk away are the World War One planes many of which also fly. A number of the planes are available for the public to go flying in as a passenger. A smallish but beautifully presented collection of aircraft well worth visiting.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank MikeW5601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZBenS, Volunteer at NZ Warbirds Association, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our attraction. We agree that our volunteer guides are an enthusiastic group of people who appreciate hearing that their time has been put to good use to make your visit enjoyable and worthwhile. We are very lucky to have such a diverse range of airworthy WW1 and WW2 types and endeavour to continue to improve our attraction for visitors such as yourself.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2019

What a birthday gift from my family. A stunning flight and my wife said my smile after climb (clambering) out of the cockpit was to be seen. Gary my pilot was totally professional and made it all so enjoyable. The wing overs and barrel rolls left me whooping, and the low level run through the Hunuas the icing on the cake. If you have ever thought of doing something like this then you have to visit Warbirds Adventure Ride at Ardmore.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZBenS, Volunteer at NZ Warbirds Association, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our organisation. We are glad that you enjoyed your flight with one of our dedicated pilots and your time with us out at Ardmore. Please coma and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019

Good display of aircraft from different countries. Guide very knowledgeable and helpful. Large display of model aircraft. Background displays and history of some conflicts and training situations.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZBenS, Volunteer at NZ Warbirds Association, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

Thank you for your review of our organisation. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

I bought a flight in a Spitfire to celebrate my husband achieving 11000 hours of helicopter time. We headed up to Ardmore with friends and watched in awe as he headed off with Captain Liz into the wide blue yonder.
Perfectly presented and introduced to us by an incredibly knowledgable team. It's hard to believe that Ben and the boys are volunteers, but I suppose everyone wants to be around this beautiful machine.
The team gave a great briefing and the flight was awesome including barrel rolls around fluffy clouds and a short time at the controls. One very happy pilot returned to base grinning from ear to ear and set to record some Spitfire time in his logbook.
While the pilots were away we looked around the nearby Warbirds museum and the time literally flew by.
Thanks to everyone at NZ Warbirds who were faultless in their dealings from booking through to organising around the weather and then the actual day.
If you have an enthusiast in your family dont hesitate to treat them to this once in a lifetime trip, it's amazing.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Lizkensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZBenS, Volunteer at NZ Warbirds Association, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2019

Hi There

Thank you very much for your awesome review. The team at NZ Warbirds are thrilled with your feedback and we can't thank you enough. Our volunteers are dedicated and an awesome group of people so thank you very much for recognizing them and all that they do. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

The NZ Warbirds Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews