We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 Jun
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$177
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 Jun
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Krish1947
Hamilton, New Zealand

Great place to stay - central city

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2021
Good clean place to stay. Off street parking available. Free wi-fi. Friendly staff and good service. Quiet rooms. Off street. Mark the host was very friendly and helpful. Standard facilities in the room were available.
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$130
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $124
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Valdez Motor Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$236
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $220
  • Hotels.com
    $225
1.9 km from Valdez Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$220
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $216
  • Expedia.com
    $218
1.6 km from Valdez Motor Lodge
outside the units
Booking.com
$230
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $226
  • Agoda.com
    $207
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Valdez Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$235
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
    $215
2.9 km from Valdez Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large room spare bed and spotless
Booking.com
$225
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $225
2.5 km from Valdez Motor Lodge
Free parking
Spa
Queen Studio
Booking.com
$198
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $198
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $198
2.8 km from Valdez Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Looking over pool at Motel
Booking.com
$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $111
  • Expedia.com
    $124
2.0 km from Valdez Motor Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$1,550
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $1,550
20.7 km from Valdez Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $176
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $176
53.1 km from Valdez Motor Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Hastings
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
71
36
4
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
71
36
4
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2020

The host are so welcoming & friendly. Easy & fast check-in process.

We booked studio spa room. In the beginning we only want to stay for a night and have a quick visit in Hasting & Napier. We love the stay so much that we decided to extend another night. The room are immaculate & spacious that u can move around comfortably. Beds are cosy. Well equipped kitchen. You can chill outside at the patio. A/c works well.

They hv small swimming pool that was very nice to dip in on a hot Hawke’s Bay summer day. The surrounding pretty quiet eventho the location is on the main road but u get less noise.

Worth the money. Highly recommend to stay here. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GoneWithTheWellyWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2020

As per the title. Owners are suffering from the lack of customers due to cofid19. The units are quite some distance of Karamu Road which equates to little or no road noise. Vechicle access is very easy and it would be a flat walk into the city centre.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Drallom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 February 2020 via mobile

Rooms need a bit of an update, however clean and comfy. Price was good so can't complain really, but surprised at the 4 star rating.
Staff were very friendly hence very good review.
Some fly spray in rooms would be good, 3 huge cockroaches in one night! Normal for the climate tho I guess.
Would stay again but probably would shop around first, but for our needs this place was pretty good.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank reluctanttravellernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Footprints48987, Owner at Valdez Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2020

Hi reluctanttraveller (anonymous) thank you for your review, we are part way through our room renovations and as you are anonymous can't comment any further as I don't no what room you where in but do appreciate your feed back, face to face instead of keyboard would have been preferable. We do spray regularly but as cleaning is carried out this is obviously been wiped off some surfaces so it seems is required to be done again, but once again would have been nice to have been told while you where here, the other thing that contributes is that the cockroaches are vegetation ones and every room has its own private courtyard which has vegetation, and yes is also climate related.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

If you enjoy nauseous colours lukewarm showers and little sleep this us the place for you .Check with Management if any large groups are staying before you book.
We endured people running around and yelling out to their mates across the yard for hours. They were outside talking on their phones loudly even in our doorway , when asked to move and talk quietly they wouldnt , disgusting behaviour. This went ontill 1-30a, at no time did we see Management attempt to tell them to get in their units and be quiet.Would never recommend this place or stay there again.

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank WendyC4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ValdezMotorLodge, Manager at Valdez Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2019

Hi Wendy you never showed up for your booking, our minder tried contacting you to see if you where still coming, you rang back late the next night and advised you had forgotten your booking and agreed to pay for 2 nights and hence were sent an invoice which still hasn't been paid. So all that garble you have just written makes makes you look silly and vindictive. All the best with accommodation in Hawkes Bay Mrs Collins and please pay your bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

Decided to stay at last minute. This motel was highly recommended by locals. Lovely spacious room with excellent facilities including a spa bath. Lovely friendly lady at reception who showed us to our room.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Babs729
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ValdezMotorLodge, Manager at Valdez Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to review, it means a lot to us. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews