We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Christine_Render
Auckland

Surprised by events

Review of Amici Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Nov 2016
We stayed here last year for the Art deco festival in Feb and was pleased with everything so we booked again when we got back home for next years visit only to receive an email from Amici motel in May/June to advise our booking had been cancelled, only when I called booking.com was I given an explanation(after they called the motel) that they had sold the property and just cancelled all bookings even booking .com had not been advised of the sale and cancellation of other booking made through them but I now see from various booking websites that the motel is still operating and taking bookings, was this just a ploy to cancel existing bookings and increasing the rates, surely if the property had been sold any existing bookings would be a bonus to any new purchaser and those bookings have the rates pre booked honoured
Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BecPearce, Manager at Amici Motel, responded to this review
Responded 8 Nov 2016
Morning Christine,
Yes we are very sorry for this but we would like to explain,Yes it has been sold and we were told by the new owner that we were to stop bookings end of Jan,
So this took place,The new owner has now put back his plans an extra month to try and help Hawkes Bay with accommodation in busy Feb ,So as of 20th of Feb 2017 ,no one can book as the complex is not operating as a motel,
We are very sorry for this and we are hoping you have accommodation,If not
Please feel free to phone me to discuss,
Just sometimes these sorts of things are out of our control and we needed to give guests enough time to get sorted,
Regards
Marlene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$236
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $236
  • Hotels.com
    $232
  • Expedia.com
    $236
1.8 km from Amici Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
  • Priceline
    $130
  • Expedia.com
    $124
  • Hotels.com
    $130
3.2 km from Amici Motel
Free parking
Pool
outside the units
$230
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $228
  • Hotels.com
    $220
  • Priceline
    $230
0.7 km from Amici Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Conference Centre
$194
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $196
  • Hotels.com
    $194
2.3 km from Amici Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$235
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $213
  • Agoda.com
    $198
  • Expedia.com
    $231
0.6 km from Amici Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$210
  • Priceline
    $210
  • Hotels.com
    $192
  • Expedia.com
    $207
2.0 km from Amici Motel
Chill-out time?
$80
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
    1.7 km from Amici Motel
    Free Wifi
    $176
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $176
    • eDreams
      $176
    • Expedia.com
    51.6 km from Amici Motel
    Free parking
    Looking over pool at Motel
    $130
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $118
    • Expedia.com
      $116
    • ZenHotels.com
      $130
    1.9 km from Amici Motel
    Free parking
    Pool
    $1,550
    • Priceline
      $1,550
    • Vio.com
      $1,550
    • eDreams
      $1,550
    18.6 km from Amici Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Hastings
    Reviews (174)
    Filter reviews
    174 results
    Traveller rating
    76
    54
    20
    13
    11
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    76
    54
    20
    13
    11
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    9 - 14 of 174 reviews
    Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

    Room/unit was clean, tidy and serviceable. Thought there would be more road noise but that was not a problem. Unfortunately the sound proofing in the room/unit was not so good so got to be woken by adjacent room noise at odd hours of the night and early morning.

    Marlene is very pleasant and helpful.

    Would we stay again? Yes, despite the adjacent room noise we thought it was value for money.

    Date of stay: October 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank KiwiWanderers02
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    BecPearce, Manager at Amici Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

    Thank you for taking time to do the review,We are pleased you enjoyed it,Yes I agree one thing that is not in out control is other guests that may be a bit noisy,on return from their night out,Please do stay with us again if back in the Sunny Hawkes Bay .
    Regards
    Marlene and the staff,

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 October 2016

    we found the rooms ideal for the purpose of our family visit....
    the service by the motel operators was very good.
    the water pressure in the shower is week...but nothing a handyman cannot attend to.
    the price was reasonable for a motel.

    Room tip: rooms closer to the conferance room are newer.
    Date of stay: September 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank shaztony2015
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 September 2016

    Being a Top Trip Adviser 10 motel in hasting's I didn't Hesitate in bookinga standard room in this motel. Man what a mistake, this place is run down and dated. Old Raggidy retro fittings. The very old shower had so little pressure we considered showering at a friends house. The Tatty sofa in the lounge was awful, yet there was a very large T.V in the room, but with no sky the choice of viewing options was very limited so why not have a smaller T.V and spend those dollars on room fittings that don't make the room feel like a low security prison cell. The bed was nice and comfortable. But there was no bedroom door, and as the room has a glass front door, all the light from outside shines into the bedroom, meaning my wife got very little sleep. I don't like writing bad reviews but i feel this room was unfit for sale. Maybe the better rooms were alot better than this but, I Can't recommend a standard room at this motel to anyone. The staff were friendly and didn't mind us checking out half an late which was nice.

    Room tip: Don't get the standard room.
    Date of stay: September 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank carlosta83
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    BecPearce, Manager at Amici Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

    Thank you for putting up your review,Sorry you didnt enjoy your stay,re the Sky we did just have the Sky man in whom did an up date on all the sky boxes but sorry without anyone informing me they weren't working because of a technical hitch I wasnt to know,as soon as a guest saw me the problem was sorted in an hour,By the sky man being phoned,
    I am the new Manager here and will look at a door being put in,Yes that would be annoying from the light, Sorry,Next time you come you may like to try an Executive Suite ,Which are priced higher but very nice,we are always hear to help and if never happy please come to discuss as we could have changed rooms for you with hesitation,
    Thank you for staying with us and would love to see you again
    Regards Marlene
    Marlene

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

    Clean room but very dated. The bedroom didn't have a door to seperate it from the lounge and the door to the unit was glass with a bright light outside that kept me awake all night. The shower had terrible pressure, couch was uncomfortable and the whole unit felt like it needed a refresh. The only thing that was okay was the bed was newish and comfortable, though hardly got any sleep in it as the outside light was so bright

    Date of stay: September 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank emilyparker87
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 September 2016

    Central location of Amici suited us because we were here for a family event. Room was quiet and clean. Only criticism is the bathroom in our room - a little bit small and ants on bathroom counter in the morning. However, have stayed in Executive suites on previous visits and these rooms were excellent.

    Room tip: Choose Executive suites.
    Date of stay: September 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank TKAA1234
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    BecPearce, Manager at Amici Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

    Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to do a review,
    Hope to see you again soon,
    Regards
    Marlene

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews